We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel”
Review of Hirschen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hirschen
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Dornbirn
Certificate of Excellence
Muscat, Oman
2 reviews
“lovely hotel”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Lovely hotel, helpful staff, great breakfast, cosy room. We flew into Zurich and drove to the hotel in our rental car, got lost along the way, and the receptionist called us to check in on us just when we needed it! She helped us with directions and we found the hotel soon afterwards. Overall a lovely stay. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    44
    10
    1
    4
See reviews for
29
42
8
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed in a 'fireplace' room (I think that what it was called). The room was beautiful, with an amazing view. The bathroom was clean and luxury. All of the finishes on the room were great; the rugs, the sofa, the lighting, the blackout curtains...

The sauna was hot and empty.
And the breakfast, wow, a spread so big there was no chance of trying even half of it. Topped off by a glass of prosecco. Perfect. Will definitely return!

The hotel is not in the town centre, but there are plenty of buses that take you into town, no probs. Plus the train station is only 10 mins walk away.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessicahallaways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
como
Level 6 Contributor
431 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Dornbirn is an Austrian town (hotel is not too close to center ) bordering with Swiss and Germany , and Hotel Hirschen is mixing the perfectionsm of Swiss, with the German efficiency and all wrappped in unmistakable Austrian hospitality , you will feel it in each single detail of the property , rooms (stayed in a Kamin lounge ) have anything you may need in terms of equipments (a special mark for their electrical control system )and amenities , yes the soundproof could be better still normally it is not noisy around there .Conveniently located close to the highway exit , stil in a quiet area , is useful if you are considering a good option to overnight in that region . Priced also at a human level , the rate normally offers a breakfast that can leave speachless for its accurate and not obvious selection, staff are all promptly attentive and smiling . Just note that on sunday night restaurant is closed and in that quartier there is hardly any restaurant . A good option , good service and friendly welcome , Recommended

Room Tip: ask Kamin lounge rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enricoallievi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

I've stayed here twice now as a semi-regular visitor to Dornbirn. On both occasions the welcome and rooms have been excellent. I haven't taken dinner in the restaurant yet but must do so soon as the menu looks quite interesting. I even received a gift of a bottle of wine on my last visit

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rostrevor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2009

It was supposed to be a “newly designed room in a quiet location, with a living area with fireplace, elegant wooden floors, a wellness bathroom in different colours, and a balcony or terrace.” Instead we got a STORAGE ROOM, I don’t find another name for it. Even if they wanted to put a fireplace there, they wouldn’t have a slightest chance due to lack of space. 1970s décor style, hideous bed cover, flat, well used sleeping pillows, bare, pictureless walls – all that made us feel like in a cell. Because of lack of AC, a small window (no balcony!) had to be open overnight. We didn’t sleep a wink - noisy street outside and laud people in the restaurant just below.
BUT THE WORST WAS A BATHROOM, or I would rather call it a camping cubicle. It was maybe 2 sq.m., I have never seen such a thing. Basically the bathroom was a shower cabin at the same time. You were actually supposed to have your shower standing two feet from your toilet and a sink. All you had to do was just close the door and you found yourself in a tiny plastered cube, you pulled a curtain (to protect toilet paper from soaking) and standing on a plastic board covering all bathroom floor, you were ready to shower. Even youth hostels, that I used to visit, were more decent!!!

I don’t know, maybe we got the worst room in the hotel, but I know I will never go there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gosia79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornbirn
2.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Panoramahaus Dornbirn
1.4 mi away
Vienna House Martinspark Dornbirn
1.2 mi away
Harry's Home Hotel Dornbirn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Fairmotel Betriebs
Fairmotel Betriebs
#7 of 12 in Dornbirn
47 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Germania
Hotel Germania
#1 of 16 in Bregenz
247 reviews
6.7 mi away
SENTIDO Seehotel am Kaiserstrand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hirschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hirschen

Property: Hirschen
Address: Haselstauderstrasse 31, Dornbirn 6850, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Dornbirn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Dornbirn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hirschen 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel with restaurant, bar/lounge and Terrasse is an ideale place for a stay in combination with business, culture and leissure activities.It is wellknown for its owner's cooking ambitions, fine feeling for decoration and service.This personal running cityhotel is located near the boarder of Switzerland, Germany and Liechtenstein. There is a great choice of excursions along the lakeside or up to the mountains in summer and winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Hirschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing