We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haus Karl's Ruh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Haus Karl's Ruh
Ranked #1 of 29 Ehrwald B&B and Inns
Honiton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“All excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

For seven nights Evelyn & Gary provided us with very clean, comfortable and modern accommodation, very good breakfasts all at a competitive price.

They were always helpful and their local knowledge enabled us to enjoy many of the facilities in this truly lovely part of the Tyrol.

We are already planning to go back as there is so much still to explore.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stevejjnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hauskarlsruh, Owner at Haus Karl's Ruh, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
We are looking forward to seeing you in Ehrwald again next summer.........hopefully when the mid summer mountain fires are happening.

Thank you for your review and kind comments.

Best wishes

Evelyn and Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
43
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Navenby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

I spent 2 nights here while travelling on my motorbike. Haus Karl's Ruh is spotlessly clean and has everything you need to be comfortable. Evelyn is a great host and looks after her guests well, and Heidi certainly enjoys some petting while lying in the sun. Breakfast is simple but filling, and cooked eggs are offered if wanted. The view from the breakfast room is stunning, but unfortunately it rained the day I had to explore which spoilt things a little. But everywhere is close at hand and so a short walk provided me with all I needed to help pass the time. I shall have to return, but perhaps take the car next time !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hauskarlsruh, Owner at Haus Karl's Ruh, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in Haus Karl's Ruh.

We pride ourselves on our service and the comfort and cleanliness of the rooms and are always pleased when our guests mention this as it means we are achieving.

I am so sorry that you were unlucky with the weather during your visit and hope that, should you pass this way again, you will stay with us and be able to enjoy uninterrupted views of our beautiful mountains!

Best wishes
Evelyn and Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

On a recent 5 week trip to Europe Haus Karl's Rue was on our agenda for a 2 day stay in October. Oh how we both wish it could have been longer.
Ehrwald itself is a beautiful Tirolian village set in the shadow of the Zugspitz. Prior to our trip we had corresponded with Gary Kitchen - He was most informative and promptly returned our e-mails.
Upon our arrival we were warmly greeted by Gary and his faithful companion Heidi and shown to our accomodations - we stayed primarily in B&Bs during our European adventure and without a doubt Haus Karl's Rue was the cleanest and most comfortable one that we encountered.
The view from the balcony was absolutely stunning, the location was ideal
(Within an easy drive to The King's Castles and Salzberg), Gary was the perfect host, the breakfasts were excellent, and the morning coffee was the best we had in Europe. We can only imagine how beautiful Ehrwald is during the winter months - In short Haus Karl's Rue is the perfect B&B in the most beautiful setting

Bill & Karen Proctor
Kelowna, BC
Canada

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hauskarlsruh, Owner at Haus Karl's Ruh, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Bill and Karen,

Thank you for taking the time to Review your stay in Haus Karl's Ruh and for giving us such a glowing review.

Comfort and cleanliness are very important to us and we work hard to ensure our high standards are always maintained. Our Location in Ehrwald, and Ehrwald's Location within the Alps, is a huge bonus affording great views from all our rooms and easy driving to Locations in Austria, as well as Northern Italy and Germany of course!

Ehrwald is now a winter wonderland again and we hope that maybe you will visit us again.......possibly in the winter?

Best wishes
Gary and Evelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I and my family spent several days at Haus Karl's Ruh when we had to make a break from our walking holiday due to injury. We were delighted with the lovely rooms, with balcony and lovely views. The house is very clean and bright, there was an excellent breakfast every morning in the spacious living room and there was a great selections of English books and DVDs to keep our sons quiet in the evenings, including handy guide books to Austria. There is even a gym in the basement and a table football game, both of which our sons enjoyed using! Our hosts, Gary and Evelyn, were most welcoming and knowledgeable about the local area. It was a great place to stay and plenty to do - from rides up the Zugspitze, to the local pools (for which you get a discount with a guest card), walking and renting bikes for cycle trips. We could not have found a nicer place for our unplanned stay. We thoroughly recommend their lovely house.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hauskarlsruh, Owner at Haus Karl's Ruh, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your 'unplanned stay' with us in Ehrwald and thank you for your lovely review and recommendation to future guests.

It's good to know that the boys enjoyed using the new gym and also the table football which we hope more of our guests will make use of!

Ehrwald has a lot to offer people of all ages during the summer months and you certainly made the most of your short stay, by hiring bikes and undertaking some lovely walks.

We hope you will come back and visit us again in the future.

Best wishes
Evelyn and Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We loved staying at Haus Karl's Ruh. Gary and Evelyn were the most inviting hostesses. The bed and breakfast is adorable! Breakfast was great as well. We loved that they would make you a pot of tea or french press coffee just for you when you got to breakfast. They really cater to each individual. The grounds outside have the best views of the mountains. You can lay on a lounge chair or sit under the terrace and look at the mountains with a bottle of wine.They had great suggestions for things to do. The hiking was especially great. We were able to take our 6 month old son in his stroller and enjoy the mountains. Ehrwald was so gorgeous in the summer. The hiking and streams were so amazing. There was also a waterfall but the path there was not suitable for a stroller. The town is small and adorable. Very relaxing for a vacation. The bed and breakfast was also great base for Neuschwanstein Castle and Munich. You really can get everything you need in a vacation here. Great sights, Great hiking, Large cities nearby,and a small town to relax in with out the hustle and bustle of tons of traffic. We would stay here during the summer in a heartbeat. We can't wait to go back and stay longer!

Room Tip: We stayed in the downstairs room with the en-suite bathroom and it was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank abbyw2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hauskarlsruh, Owner at Haus Karl's Ruh, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in Haus Karl's Ruh and for including Ehrwald in your feedback.

We always try to extol the virtues of staying in Ehrwald and being able to travel to places like Munich, Schloss Neuschwanstein and Innsbruck, which really are within easy driving distance.

We are glad the good weather enabled you to sit on the terrace and in the garden, it's the nicest way to enjoy the mountains.

We very much hope you will visit Ehrwald again and stay a little longer next time around.

Very best wishes
Evelyn and Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jouy en Josas, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We recently planned 5 days in Austria, Ehrwahld looked nice and all web comments helped us to make our choice. Great, it was also mentioned that if we stayed at least 4 nights during our holiday period, we would receive a bottle of wine. We contacted them to book and we received an answer, also mentioning this wine, red or white. But when we left, they asked us to leave a message on Tripadvisor to give a note, but we did not see the color of the wine and they did not propose us something else instead. Even if we did not chose this place for the particular offer, It´s a pity.
Otherwise, everything was ok. Just the breakfast could be a bit richer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loulette_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hauskarlsruh, Owner at Haus Karl's Ruh, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in Haus Karl's Ruh and we apologise for the disappointment of not receiving the promised bottle of wine! This was a complete oversight on our part and we have posted a small gift to you to try and make up for this.

We also note your comment regarding a "rich breakfast" and as we really appreciate feedback and know this can be difficult to give face to face, it would be very helpful if you could drop us an email to say where you think the breakfast could be improved upon.

We hope you enjoyed the use of our new gym on your last morning prior to leaving and that if you visit Ehrwald in the future you will stay again in Haus Karl's Ruh.

Best wishes
Evelyn and Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

After a good communication with the owners we were welcommed friendly. The location is perfect in the village on 5 minutes walk from the main square and church. You can reach the Elmoos within reach and the parking for skiing is 3 minutes away.

The Haus is clean and rooms are big. Good bed and perfect shower (especially after a day on the slopes). Breakfast is made fresh every morning.. We will come back again for sure

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joost D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hauskarlsruh, Owner at Haus Karl's Ruh, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay in Haus Karl's Ruh and we are very pleased that you will be visiting us again.

It is important that our guests find us welcoming and that our rooms are clean and comfortable and we are constantly looking to improve abd update our facilities.

We look forward to your next visit,

Best wishes
Gary and Evelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ehrwald
0.2 mi away
Family Wellnesshotel Tirolerhof
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Spielmann
Romantik Hotel Spielmann
#3 of 11 in Ehrwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tiroler Zugspitze Aktiv & Familienresort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpen Residence
Hotel Alpen Residence
#2 of 11 in Ehrwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sonnenspitze Hotel
Sonnenspitze Hotel
#4 of 11 in Ehrwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Post
Hotel Post
#1 of 12 in Lermoos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus Karl's Ruh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Karl's Ruh

Property: Haus Karl's Ruh
Address: Laehngraben Umgebung 8 | Tirol, Ehrwald 6632, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Ehrwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Ehrwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haus Karl's Ruh is a small family run guest house in Ehrwald in the Austrian Tirol.We are located in the heart of the village, 5 minutes walk from the village centre & ski lifts, with the panoramic Wetterstein Range as our backdrop. The house was handed down to us by my Uncle & so we have an in depth knowledge of the village & the surrounding areas. Due to our location within the Zugspitz Arena we are an excellent base for walkers & climbers during in the summer months & ski/snowboard enthusiasts in the winter. The Bavarian castles of King Ludwig, Schloss Neuschwanstein & Schloss Linderhof, are 40 minutes drive away. Munich is within easy reach either by train or car & we are ideally placed for beer enthusiasts wanting to visit the 'Oktober Fest'. Innsbruck is a 50 minute drive away & Italy & Switzerland are also within driving distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Haus Karl's Ruh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haus Karl's Ruh Ehrwald, Austria - Tirol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing