We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shhh.....keep it a secret !!!”
Review of Alpina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alpina Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Rauris
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Shhh.....keep it a secret !!!”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Really hope I'm not going to regret giving a 5* rating, because we want to go back again, and want to be sure we'll get in !!
We enjoyed our third stay at the Alpina in Feb 2014,
The hotel is spotless, including all its facilities, the pool area, bar, restaurant and rooms.
Where to begin with the food...... I'm not a "foodie" but even I was looking forward to meal times, think I put on about 3kg in one week, despite skiing for around 6 hours per day !
Every member of staff seem to enjoy their work, and always have a pleasant word.
Ski bus stop is outside the front door, or nearest chair lift is approx 100m awsy (we used the extremely punctual bus, because our daughter was in ski school)
The hosts, Carmen and Thomas, were even good enough to let us have a surprise parcel delivered to the hotel a week before our stay for our daughter.
We met guests who were returning for their 10th time, so think that gives some indication of the sort of place the Alpina is.
In short, this is the best hotel we've stayed in, and will continue to visit !

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Thatfamilyfromderby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    19
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
41
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Booked as a package with Crystalski we chose Alpina because of the swimming pool which was a great place to relax after a day on the piste. Also had a great sauna. Food delicious with a vegetarian option every day, chef always willing to discuss options. Very friendly and helpful staff; lovely torch lit walk through the village organised by Carmen.
Only flies in the ointment; just a plate of cold meat, cheese and bread (not much for a veggie!) on arrival at 9pm after a long day but a salad was rustled up on request. No tea and coffee facilities in the room - we'd have brought own kettle and tea/coffee if we'd known (we got used to it in the UK!) and no shampoo, but Carmen lent us her own. Pretty dire austro-pop in the bar we could have done without So after a shaky start things just got better and better!

Room Tip: balcony rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vikinghat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed at the Alpina in Jan 2014 on a skiing holiday in Rauris and found this hotel perfect for our needs.
Very friendly,spotlessly clean,efficiently run and tastefully appointed.
The spa facilities were immaculate,the ski and boot storage/drying facilities very good and the free ski bus stop was about 10yards away(though a three minute walk had you at a chair lift ).
The food was excellent too (we were half board) and the gala meal on New Year's Eve superb.
It was the feel of the place that really made it though-all of the staff were brilliant.
For a change,the accommodation made the holiday!

Room Tip: We booked through crystal ski. Next time would book direct with the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rossimid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

A really good hotel which provides high levels of service. Clean and well appointed, good views and food was great. Great hosts and they spoke good English. Will def stay again. We stayed for 2 nights with a small baby.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ben r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed in here in January 2013, although there was only myself and my partner staying, we were given a large family room (we did make a very late booking)to stay in, which had an attached lounge to the bedroom which was fantastic with view onto the bottom of the red run coming off the mountains. The standard of the rooms was very good, and encluded comfotable seating areas for when we were skied out. As for the food, I cannot speak highly enough of the effort that is put into the food, and the experience of dining in the restaurant. Breakfast is a buffet, with everything you would usually expect, and the most lovely soft boiled eggs I have tasted. Dinner however is where they excel, a salad bar is on offer followed by at least 3 courses, for which you can select from a menu the day before, served to your table by excellent waiting staff, and acompanied by the chef on some days to discuss his dishes (a very commited man, who we had some good chats with over how he had prepared the dishes, and hwat the names of the dishes signified). The facilities in the hotel are great, the hotel looks to have had recent renovation as the bar area and buffet area are high quality modern areas, where you can spend time in an evening with games, chatting and drinking. The indoor pool is a gem, with background music and lights in the pool, which made my early morning swim a great experience. The wellness facilities are spacious, with a sauna and some seating areas which allow you to unwind after a day on the slopes. The biggest plus to this hotel is the owners and the staff, nothing was too much for them, Carmen and Thomas met everyone who arrived on the first day and continued to be friendly and welcoming throughout our stay. All the staff from waiters to cleaners were likewise helpful, smiling and cheerful, always going out of their way to say hello, whilst around their daily buisness. You have to go on the guided tour of Rauris with Thomas, a good chance to look around the town, here some lovely music and get a nice drink as well (this was made even more magical whilst it was snowing)The big shock was that the hotel is 3 1/2 stars, everyone else we spoke to in the 4 star hotels around us was amazaed/jealous of our hotel. We have two children who were not with us on this trip, but if they were they would have loved it, there was a small play area downstairs with pool table, and some soft play toys, the chidren were allowed in a different restaurant to the couples, which allowed everyone to enjoy their meals. I have previously stated that i woul never go back to a hotel, as i like to experience new places, but this hotel was so good that i would consider coming back again (and may of the patrons had been coming back to this hotel for years - and now i see why). My only worry is that more people will find out about this gem, and we may not be able to get a late booking!!!

Room Tip: We did not select any special room, but were assigned a larger room on arrival (not sure why), but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mattias-Harrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I stayed here early February 2013, it was a very busy week as it was a half term holiday week.
The staff are great, very friendly and helpful and Carman is superb with her running of the place.
The room was a single & not huge but it had plenty of room for everything and was very well furnished. The en- suite was extremely well equipped with really good quality fittings . The shower was very roomy and refreshing after skiing. The hair dryer was worth a mention as hotel ones are often not up to much but this one was great.
The food was amazing, every meal was superb, the soups, salads, mains whether fish or meat and puddings everything was tasty and well presented.
I would go back just for the food.
I also made use of the indoor pool which was very good, with nice surroundings.
There were many other facilities that I did not make use of but I would imagine if you had children you would find they are well catered for .
Rauris is only a small village so the hotel is only a few minutes walk to anywhere.
Most people I spoke to returned to the resort year on year, and similar to the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank skiantibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely week at the Alpina, Carmen, Thomas and all the staff made our stay such a lovely and memorable one, it certainly was home from home, nothing was too much trouble, such a friendly welcoming place, the food was outstanding for us & our children. The other guests we spoke to had all been there before and I can see why, I wouldn't hesitate at going back, thank you for such a lovely week.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rauris hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rauriserhof
Hotel Rauriserhof
#1 of 10 in Rauris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sonnhof
Hotel Sonnhof
#5 of 10 in Rauris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hubertus
Hotel Hubertus
#3 of 10 in Rauris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Gasthof Alpenrose
Gasthof Alpenrose
#8 of 10 in Rauris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garni Wieshof
Hotel Garni Wieshof
#1 of 28 in Rauris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Birkenhof
Hotel Birkenhof
#4 of 28 in Rauris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpina Hotel

Property: Alpina Hotel
Address: Marktstrasse 4, Rauris 5661, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Rauris
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Rauris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alpina Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alpina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpina Hotel Rauris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing