We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveler rating
45
65
18
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
45
65
18
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews top floor basic room panama city views of the mountains bus stop social area rooftop terrace small fridge enrique market town creaky
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 132 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2017

There are a number of nice places to stay in El Valle but many of them are far from downtown, and you need a vehicle to get there. That is not the case with the Residencial which is right in the middle of town. It is about 30 yards from the bus stop and about 75 yards from the local market. It's also within easy walking distance of a number of grocery stores and restaurants. I stayed here for 4 nights and would stay here again. Rooms have no a/c but overhead fan in the room did the job. I missed not having a refrigerator in the room. Apparently some of the larger rooms do. Community hammocks on the top floor veranda are real nice.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 505badgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2017

We stayed at this sweet little spot for only 1 night. It was cosy and we had a fabulous sleep. The room was clean and we were able to sleep with our windows open and the air was fresh and wonderful. There is a gift shop below the hotel in which we were able to pick up a couple of things. We also had breakfast below the hotel. The views were incredible and the lounging area with the couches and hammocks was a great place to relax and unwind. We had dinner at Bruschetta's Restaurant which makes incredible bruschetta bread.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Connie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2016

El Valle is a rustic rural town set in an amazing natural setting. Its definitely worth a visit as either passing through to explore the rest of the country or an overnight stay / drive trip from Panama ( only about 2 hours away). I have visited El Valle twice now and love it.
You have four choices for accommodation depending on your budget and preferred experience. With back packers, cabañas, top end hotels and centrally located hotels.
The cabañas and top end hotels are quite a way out of town and tend to isolate you out there ( they seem expensive and reviews are not great from what ive read). I prefer to be in the heart of the town mixing with the friendly locals for a more authentic experience of everything on offer here.
Both times I have stayed at Hotel Residential based originally from a friends recommendation.
It is a very well priced, comfortable place, right in the centre of the town. The rooms are a good size, very clean with good beds, great showers, good wifi and cable. (important for and extended stay).
The best part though apart from the friendly staff is the unique rooftop relaxation area which all guests can use... with amazing views of the entire valley. with hammocks and lounges and an area you can lounge in the sun. This is especially good if you are travelling solo and want to meet others for a chat.
There is even a fridge and microwave up there to enjoy some cold drinks and snacks whilst you lounge around.
There are a bunch of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel (even a couple downstairs)
overall if you want a nice local experience in El Valle then you cant go wrong with Hotel Residential.

Room tip: Mini buses frequent the length of the main street, you can jump on for 25c to get you from one end of the valley to the other.
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pabdab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2016

This a decent hotel, very well located, with a nice rooftop if you have time to spare in the hotel. However a bit expensive for the standard of the room. The hotel has Wifi but no in-room wifi for us at the time.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicoAkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2015

This hotel is central to all the attractions of El Valle. Upon check in, the very friendly front desk boy will give you a map and tell you about a few of the main attractions. The rooms are rustic, with modern amenities like a flat screen tv, and a ceiling fan that doesn't make noise or look like it's going to wobble off the ceiling. There is no air con, but we did not find that we missed it as nights are cooler in El Valle. The room and bathroom were spotless! The bed was very comfortable. The staff are very friendly and they provide laundry service for $6. There is a large deck on the top floor with hammocks, patio furniture and a fridge and microwave for guest use. The free wifi has good signal.
I highly recommend this place if looking for a reasonably priced hotel in El Valle.

Room tip: A room in the back away from the road might be quieter.
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chrissy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews