We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, great price, friendly staff, perfect location, ADORABLE pet monkey!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in El Valle de Anton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Residencial El Valle
Reviewed April 14, 2009

I spent one night in El Valle and stayed at this hotel. My friends and I wished we had planned for more days/nights in El Valle. It was one of the highlights of our short but incredible trip to Panama.

The hotel is conveniently located right in the middle of town on Avenida Central just steps away from the Sunday Market.

The hotel is really cozy and the decorations are beautiful. The rooms aren't anything special, but it was comfortable and extremely affordable. While we didn't make use of the communal kitchen on the 3rd floor, it was nice to know we could.

The definite highlight of this hotel is the 3rd floor terrace, covered by a roof but open on almost all sides, featuring several single person and double hammocks. After a long day of exploring Panama City (the Canal, some markets, a bit of Casco Viejo) and the 2.5 hour bus ride to El Valle, lounging in a hammock, looking at the stars, and listening to the frogs in the pond out back was an incredible way to finish off our first full day in Panama.

While most of the very friendly staff did not speak English, Enrique, the owner of the Hotel spoke fluent English and was extremely helpful in answer any questions we had about travel details, restaurants, and sites. Although check out time was posted for 11 or noon, Enrique had no problem letting us hang on to our room until about 4pm so that we could leave our belongings in the room while we explored the town, Canopy Adventure and the zoo.

A great bonus to this hotel is Monica, the pet Titi monkey that hangs out in the back. She looks kind of mean, but was an adorable little sweetheart! We fed her little pieces of fruit and even saw her riding around town on the shoulder of one of the hotel employees.

Also, the store on the first floor of the hotel is aptly known for high quality souvenirs and crafts. We were so enamored by the hammocks that we had to buy one.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElBonobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 123 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2008

we were staying on the pacific coast beaches (san carlos, santa clara, farallon)- about 40 minutes away - talked to some americans who had stayed here. we bussed ($1.50) up the volcano (incredible scenery!) the next day and found thier recommendation well deserved.

the room was spotless. the bathroom/shower - the best we had in our 2 weeks around Panama... very nice! the huge 3rd floor balcony/common area (with refrigerator, hammocks, swings, tables, etc) where all guests gathered for cocktails in the eves was fantastic. the views- wow!! enchanting.

when we stayed the price was $35 for 1 person - $44 for 2. great deal! it's located right in the center of town - so the front rooms may be noisey in the AM due to maniac bus drivers. we were in back - 3rd floor. sweet! enter/check in at the gigantic giftshop - or around the back at night.

a decent restaurant is right downstairs, others close by - a huge grocery(cold beer/snacks) right across the street. the famous sunday market about 500 feet away. free coffee in the morn. mountain bikes can be rented right next door. with a bike you could see all the town attractions in 1 day - attractions close at 5pm. cabs are very few. busses many - but only on the main road.

only thing missing is internet access. the owner told us he's working on getting a terminal for guests.

one more thing - at night, huge frogs appear - hopping all over the parking lot. not the yellow ones - big green ones! bizarre!

Anton el Valle - the mud bath/hot springs, huge waterfall (el macho), spooky mist, colorful birds, square trees, spectacular views, crazy animals - this whole place is not to be missed. LOVED IT!!! and only 2 hours ($4) by comfy public bus from panama city / albrook mall bus terminal.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tedlyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2008

I was really pleased with my staying in this hotel, reasonable rates, the best issue for me was the clean and neatness of the room, all smell very fresh, comfortable beds, the mountain view,nice decorations, I got a room in the top floor by the hammocks hall , was very relaxing, very familiar, and quiet. I have a very bad habit, I can't sleep very well, so I came out in the middle of the night and stay in the balcony/hammock hall for long time ,smelling the freshness from the mountain and it gave me a nice relax.... also I recommend the food, very tasted. thanks it was a pleasure staying in the hotel....

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parakleto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2008

Pleasantly surprised is what comes to mind. The room we got was spacious and clean. We felt right at home from the minute we got there. The children enjoyed the hammocks as did my wife and I. The hospitality was wonderful. Do not expect the Ritz Carlton when it comes to luxury, Well situated in the center of town making it a walking distance to many of the out door attractions El Valle has to offer.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank aborn76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2008

My husband and I with our 2 children stayed at this hotel and had no complaints. We loved the great central location. The room was not luxurious, but it was clean. The beds were comfortable, the room, and bathroom was small. The benefits of this hotel was the location. It was right next to the Saturday market, and across the street was a store with groceries. We ate a Don Pepe's ....the food was great, the service was slow. The very best thing about this hotel was the terrace area with all the hammocks and the host Enrique. Thanks Enrique for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceeul8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2007

We walked in w/o a reservation and looked at many vacant rooms. What impressed me most was the fresh and clean smell of the linens when we were looking at the rooms. A place has to be sparkling clean for me and this one was. I was soooo impressed!
We picked a room on the back of the place on the top floor with a great view from two windows (that we could open) of the wonderful green hills surrounding this town. It was very quiet in the room. If you get a room on the front it may be hard to go to sleep very early as it is on the main road and they love to blow their horns here and there is much rumbing of trucks on this road till late. So pick a room in back. There is a huge common area with hammocks and tables and chairs and a common refrigerator outside on this third flood also and we hung out there and read. Others played board games out here. We loved the comfortable bed also. I would highly recommend this place and will stay here again. It is right next door to the market (wonderful things for sale here). They gave us quite a discount (I asked) for staying four nights also - it was an amazing price!!! Breakfast is downstairs in the little restaurant directly underneath the hotel (NOT Don Pepe's - the other one at the opposite end.) We also looked at Don Pepe's, but it was not the same level of cleanliness or upkeep. Hotel Residencial is well kept up - freshly painted and not moldy looking. This was a wonderful treat to find such a nice clean place here right in the thick of things, yet quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Ferran P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Valle de Anton
0.9 mi away
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Ho...
#1 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anton Valley Hotel
Anton Valley Hotel
#4 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
273 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
#5 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Campestre
Hotel Campestre
#3 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
120 reviews
15.3 mi away
Manglar Lodge
Manglar Lodge
#1 of 2 in San Carlos
159 reviews
9.7 mi away
Cabanas los Colibris
Cabanas los Colibris
#2 of 15 in El Valle de Anton
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residencial El Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residencial El Valle

Address: Ave. Central, Frente a Super Centro Yin | 100 Metros Antes Del Mercado De Artesanias, El Valle de Anton 1001, Panama
Location: Panama > Cocle Province > El Valle de Anton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in El Valle de Anton
Price Range: $27 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Residencial El Valle Hotel
Hotel Residencial El Valle Panama/El Valle De Anton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing