We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveler rating
63
30
12
4
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
63
30
12
4
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game room the owner hot water nice pool stories mountains
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 118 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2018 via mobile

Don’t trust any of the older reviews, there have been lots of changes all around the hostel. I’ve never experienced such a hostel before, the property is huge and has 4 fully equipped kitchens, lots of bathrooms with hot water, a big game room and a pool and a whirlpool and a nice outside chilling area. The location in the middle of a volcano crater with mountains all around you is a one time experience

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2018 via mobile

The place is speechless, I had a friends recommendation to come here and it was the best thing I could have ever done.
I love travelling; and traveling is about budget, places and mostly PEOPLE.
The place is awesome, even if it rains (really important thing in rainny season in Panamá) play room, ches, pool (both for swimming and for playing ;)
Staff is competent, easy going appealing. They show you the place & conditions and are helpful throught your stay.
In addition we got to meet the owner Mark (don't now his last name) we were chatting with him for three hour (I would have stayed the whole night) stories, activities and plans.
The room is really confortable, fan A/C, lights, independent pluggs...
I will DEFINETELY recommend this place. If you come to El Valle you should stay here!!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2018 via mobile

If you don’t mind a loud private family party going on outside your room until late this place is otherwise ok. Despite pleading with the hotel staff, nothing was done to enforce the ‘quiet hour’. There are better budget options in the area-I recommend elsewhere

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 2018travel8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
802MARK, Owner at Windmill Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2018

wow, so sorry you had a loud party outside your room. you must have been here on a sat. quiet time on sat. night is 12 midnight. other nights 10, at 12 we shut down the pool areas, as well as the game room, and all common areas, we have never bent this rule and we try to balance the happiness of all guest. we are after all a hostel, which usually means young people, not a 5 star hotel with older guest that can afford a 150.00 per night room. I thank you for your reply, but I really don't feel that we deserved a one rating, which would mean everything here was bad, based on the noise of a few folks, which outside of asking them to be quiet there isn't much else we can do. As you said a loud FAMILY PARTY this place is otherwise ok, so again why the one rating? our Saturday nights are booked full every week with families that come up from the city why? because they love this place, pool, game room, rooms that sleep 2 to 12 people, many have bathrooms, a.c tv. kitchens, two pool side fully stocked bbq grill areas, free wi fi, hot water, off the Main Street so no traffic noise, two acres of open land to roam around on. I also don't agree with your statement there are better budget options,, lol but please compare them and you will see for yourself why I make that bold statement. ask how many fully stocked kitchens they have for their guest to use? one? we have 8. swimming pool? yes we do, hot tub, yes we do, garden yes we do, huge game room? yes we do, open land yes, river running through it? yes, private rooms for 2 people yes 4. yes. 6 yes 12 yes. no hostel here in this valle gives you all those options. none. remember the old saying if you are on the road and looking for a place to eat? you go where the truckers go,, same here. all locals in the city book here because we give them the most for the least amount and they have already tried the rest. anyway sorry you got rubbed the wrong way, wishing you a better night sleep else where next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2017 via mobile

This was an outstanding place to stay! We are NOT hostel people, we are hotel people through and through but stumbled upon the windmill and absolutely loved it! Paid for a private room and life was wonderful! Game room:so much fun. , pool area: so much fun , fixing our own eggs and toast to our liking: so much fun! Definitely staying here again!

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank wade376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2017 via mobile

Well located in downtown area. Restaurants, banks and super markets around the Hostel. Good service. Interesting social area with barbecue. Cloths are necessary in the bathroom (it needs to improve) ..

Date of stay: April 2017
1  Thank EduPretel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
802MARK, Owner at Windmill Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2018

wash cloths have been added to the bathroom area, along with new led lights, new mirror and tile work.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews