We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow! i did not eve know that i was in Panama!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wow! i did not eve know that i was in Panama!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2009

what an amazin hotel, what a warm and welcoming service, nice clean and comfortable rooms! if you are a cold shower fan like me, their cold water is extremely cold! and for after it they have a towel warmer! so you can cuddle into the nice warm towels!

food?? you should try their Potato Cream!

the nicest spa and a great outdoor jacuzzi!

i hope they consider having wifi soon in each room

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Giesemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    133
    65
    23
    11
See reviews for
117
181
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tampa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2009

I was very pleased when we arrived there. The staff spoke fluent english, spanish, and french and where very friendly and knowledgeable. One of the employees even went out of his way to pick me and my girlfriend up from the local hot springs and take us into the market during his break. A beautiful hotel up in the mountains of El Valle.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goalieclp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2009

My wife and I like to pursue eco-adventures, but when not on the trail, we like to enjoy the finest things in life. Los Mandarinos is like an oasis in the middle of a wilderness. They have all the modern amenities, including high speed internet, cable, movies, night entertainment (Irish Pub), golf nearby and probably the best restaurant in Panama (La Casa de Lourdes).

We enjoyed the Spa and took advantage of the opportunity it gave us to relax, meditate and give our bodies the delights of a professional massage.

We stayed at the "oldest" section of the hotel, which was finished circa 2004. However, the newer section is full of amenities available to all guests regardless of where their room is located. They have an excellent pool with jaccuzzis. The air is a bit chilly early in the morning, but once the sun is up, it warms up quickly.

The service is non-pretentious but efficient and courteous. The staff is always ready and willing to ensure customers are not only satisfied, but delighted.

This review will not be complete without a brief commentary of the restaurant next door: La Casa de Lourdes. This is probably the best and most original restaurant in Panama. Attesting to this is the fact that most of the weekend clientele is made up of residents from Panama City, who drive the 1-1/2 hours to Anton just to have lunch or dinner.

We are looking forward to the next opportunity we have to return to Los Mandarinos. We thought that for what one gets, there is great value in this cozy, boutique hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TRAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz, Austria
Level Contributor
556 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2009

After having read all the positive reviews on the tripadvisor site we chose this hotel for a three day stay in El Valle. Unfortunately it was a rather disappointing experience: The room we stayed in was wet and damp, electricity was cut off every morning, on our way to any of the hotel buildings we got wet when it rained, the water in the jacuzzi was so hot we couldn't use it, there was no cold water pool for the sauna, the rest area in the "spa" was completely wet after rain, the "O'Pedro - Irish pub" (it's called O'Pedro because the hotel owner's name is Pedro and his grandmother was from Ireland) hs got nothing to do with an Irish pub (except for canned Guinness and some Irish whiskey), the menu in the pub was erroneous, the staff, although helpful and friendly, did not have the slightest idea of what a pub is like, breakfasts were inconsistent etc etc.
The swimming pool doesn't seem to have been finished - it was all concrete, but we were told that this is best against the high humidity - I doubt this strongly !
The "La Casa de Lourdes" - restaurant was a terrible disappointment as well. Being described as one of the best restaurants in Panama, the food was nice but nothing special, and when we asked for an aperitif we were offered beer !!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank honguito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
165 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2009

We recently spent three days at this wonderful boutique hotel and spa in the Panamanian highlands. We tend to go to top end hotels and this certainly did not disappoint. They recently (January 2009) completed a major addition to the hotel. They added a number of guestrooms, a large infinity pool and whirpool, an Irish bar (where they serve breakfast on the patio), a meeting room, a children's center and a pool cabana. They also rearranged some of the older sections to create more public spaces. It was all done in a Tuscan style with great attention to detail. Our older room (actually a two-room suite) was immaculate and only about $40 a nigh more than a superior room. Each room is air-conditioned and they have satellite TV. There was a huge walk in shower, and small balcony and a living room with kitchenette. The staff could not have been more helpful. While the room rate may seem high, you are getting a great deal of value. In addition, the spa treatments are an absolute bargain. Best of all, the fantastic "La Casa de Lourdes” restaurant, run by the owner's sister, is next door. Go to El Valle for the hotel and restaurant and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 124C41NewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2009

This is a lovely property and by far the best place to stay in El Valle. Although the least expensive room is $157, including tax and a full breakfast, it is well worth it. Everything about the place is luxurious. The restaurant De Lourdes across the lawn area is outstanding and half the price of compariable places in the US. The spa is excellent and a one hour massage with steam and sauna is $55. You will need a car to explore the area and to get to town. There is a fabulous small restaurant in town called "Bruchetta" that is very busy for lunch and dinner and quite cheap.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2009

This is a beautiful hotel. It's about two hours from Panama City. We spent two days there which was plenty of time. The restaurant that's part of the property is delicious. There is a great zoo with amazing animals and birds in the town- definitely not to be missed. The town is fun to look around. The mountains and views are really gorgeous. The staff is really nice. Definitely recommended!

  • Liked — rooms, food, view
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank goldenfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Valle de Anton
1.2 mi away
Hotel Campestre
Hotel Campestre
#2 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anton Valley Hotel
Anton Valley Hotel
#4 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
#5 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort
16.8 mi away
Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino
17.7 mi away
Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant

Property: Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Address: Corregimiento de El Valle | Distrito de Antón, Coclé, El Valle de Anton 1001, Panama
Location: Panama > Cocle Province > El Valle de Anton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in El Valle de Anton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa And Hotel Restaurant
Los Mandarinos Boutique Hotel
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant Panama/El Valle De Anton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing