We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Linz, Austria
Level Contributor
556 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2009

After having read all the positive reviews on the tripadvisor site we chose this hotel for a three day stay in El Valle. Unfortunately it was a rather disappointing experience: The room we stayed in was wet and damp, electricity was cut off every morning, on our way to any of the hotel buildings we got wet when it rained, the water in the jacuzzi was so hot we couldn't use it, there was no cold water pool for the sauna, the rest area in the "spa" was completely wet after rain, the "O'Pedro - Irish pub" (it's called O'Pedro because the hotel owner's name is Pedro and his grandmother was from Ireland) hs got nothing to do with an Irish pub (except for canned Guinness and some Irish whiskey), the menu in the pub was erroneous, the staff, although helpful and friendly, did not have the slightest idea of what a pub is like, breakfasts were inconsistent etc etc.
The swimming pool doesn't seem to have been finished - it was all concrete, but we were told that this is best against the high humidity - I doubt this strongly !
The "La Casa de Lourdes" - restaurant was a terrible disappointment as well. Being described as one of the best restaurants in Panama, the food was nice but nothing special, and when we asked for an aperitif we were offered beer !!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank honguito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    133
    65
    23
    11
See reviews for
117
181
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level Contributor
165 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2009

We recently spent three days at this wonderful boutique hotel and spa in the Panamanian highlands. We tend to go to top end hotels and this certainly did not disappoint. They recently (January 2009) completed a major addition to the hotel. They added a number of guestrooms, a large infinity pool and whirpool, an Irish bar (where they serve breakfast on the patio), a meeting room, a children's center and a pool cabana. They also rearranged some of the older sections to create more public spaces. It was all done in a Tuscan style with great attention to detail. Our older room (actually a two-room suite) was immaculate and only about $40 a nigh more than a superior room. Each room is air-conditioned and they have satellite TV. There was a huge walk in shower, and small balcony and a living room with kitchenette. The staff could not have been more helpful. While the room rate may seem high, you are getting a great deal of value. In addition, the spa treatments are an absolute bargain. Best of all, the fantastic "La Casa de Lourdes” restaurant, run by the owner's sister, is next door. Go to El Valle for the hotel and restaurant and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 124C41NewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2009

This is a lovely property and by far the best place to stay in El Valle. Although the least expensive room is $157, including tax and a full breakfast, it is well worth it. Everything about the place is luxurious. The restaurant De Lourdes across the lawn area is outstanding and half the price of compariable places in the US. The spa is excellent and a one hour massage with steam and sauna is $55. You will need a car to explore the area and to get to town. There is a fabulous small restaurant in town called "Bruchetta" that is very busy for lunch and dinner and quite cheap.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2009

This is a beautiful hotel. It's about two hours from Panama City. We spent two days there which was plenty of time. The restaurant that's part of the property is delicious. There is a great zoo with amazing animals and birds in the town- definitely not to be missed. The town is fun to look around. The mountains and views are really gorgeous. The staff is really nice. Definitely recommended!

  • Liked — rooms, food, view
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank goldenfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2008

The drive to El Valle is absolutely beautiful. The view and vegetation is incredible and the roads are in good condition. We were very pleased with our first-hand impression when we arrived to the hotel. The welcome feeling was very friendly and the ambience was relaxing. The hotel is designed in 'Tuscany Style', so it fits well in the mountains. We stayed for one night as a family of four. It is a place to go for relaxation, ambience, tranquility and mild climate. The rooms are comfortable and basic, good enough for a short stay. The restaurant is very nice and they have made an effort to decorate it right. The menu was the same for lunch and dinner, but with enough choices, if you are not staying for several days. The owner/hostess of the restaurant is very charming and she made everybody feel at ease and looked after. Other customers from around the area is also dining/lunching at the restaurant, so it gets busy. I recommend to book in advance. The only thing which is not quite done right is the position of the pool. It is based in front of the restaurant, so it feels awkward to be sun-bathing or using the pool and we felt our children couldn't quite splash around having fun. The gardens and surroundings are kept immaculately, and everything is so beautiful. They offer horseback riding which was a big hit for our children. All in all, I will recommend the hotel to others.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank hlvikinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Haven, New Jersey
Level Contributor
73 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2008

We stayed at Los Mandarinos in December 2007 for two nights. It is billed as the best restaurant and accomodation in El Valle.

I would say that from an accommodation perspective I hope there is better in El Valle. Our room was like something you would find in a basic Greek resort - no-frills, not very clean and uninspiring. Fortunately it is not too expensive, but after one night I wanted to check out and go elsewhere. Be warned - do not expect luxury or anything close to it.

The restaurant (Casa Lourdes) was slightly better, but still not fantastic. Again, the prices aren't too expensive, but I expected better from a restaurant billed by one of the guide books as potentially one of the best in Panama. No way. The first time I ate dinner there the food was served cold. Service is hit and miss. Breakfast was a bit of a disaster. The second time (yes, I went back) was actually much better, but still not worthy of the billing it receives. I ate better everywhere else in Panama.

Bottom line - on my next trip to El Valle I will not be staying at Los Mandarinos.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — The room - cleanliness and quality
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, KY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2007

The best hotel we stayed at during our trip to Panama. El Valle is an amazing place I would like to keep as a secret. But I feel everyone visiting Panama who's into hiking and beauty should go there. The amount of GREEN shades is just amazing. The drive to El Valle is great, along with driving around looking for trails to hike on. The market is the least of what is great about this place, but the market is still fabulous.

At the hotel we had two huge rooms one for sitting the other for sleeping, plus a balcony. Clean, clean, clean. The bathroom shower is amazing. Opening all the windows to the breeze was great.

Carlos who runs the hotel was very helpful with information. The resturant connected to the hotel was wonderful. Breakfast is there and either lunch or dinner is enough to get your fill....

Stay during the week if you can at least one day. The weekend was a full house, which made it kinda noisy. But nothing to stop you from sleeping. The Thursday we were there, we were the only guests!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iggypug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Valle de Anton
1.2 mi away
Hotel Campestre
Hotel Campestre
#2 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anton Valley Hotel
Anton Valley Hotel
#4 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
#5 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort
16.8 mi away
Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino
17.7 mi away
Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant

Property: Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Address: Corregimiento de El Valle | Distrito de Antón, Coclé, El Valle de Anton 1001, Panama
Location: Panama > Cocle Province > El Valle de Anton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in El Valle de Anton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa And Hotel Restaurant
Los Mandarinos Boutique Hotel
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant Panama/El Valle De Anton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing