We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
728 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Good but...”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

A mixed review for this nice but not perfect place. First the ugly: We arrived there a Sunday evening without reservation and the front staff told us that only superior rooms were available. It turned out that only a few rooms were occupied and all standard ones were free. Whether or not this is the hotel policy or a front desk employee in initiative doesn't matter: This is degree zero of customer management and you've been warned. Then the bad: Our room was huge and pretty nice but minimalism should not be synonym with lack of essentials, one table and a few more amenities both in the room and the bathroom would have been welcome.. and we could have done without the chlorine smell.The price, clearly exaggerated, is another issue. Service was good in the restaurant/pub, and non-existent elsewhere. Then the good: Breakfast was good, the buildings, although modern are a good imitation of old Tuscanian ones, the gardens are superb and the(small) hot pool is very nice. This hotel is a short drive or about half an hour walk from "town" and is really quiet. In summary we had an overall pleasant stay at Los Mandarinos but the lack of sense of service at many levels coupled with it price policy makes it difficult to really recommend it. There should be a better choice in Le Valle.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    146
    66
    23
    11
See reviews for
126
189
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Almere
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

We were here one night and had a perfect stay. It is without question the best hotel in El Valle. Just enough to see the frogs and the falls. Temperatures are much better here compared with most of the rest of Panama because of the hight. Ans there is a really nice restaurant, Casa de Lourdes, next to the hotel you should have diner (and/or lunch).

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterAlmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andalucia
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

I was so disappointed by this hotel! The images on the web are so deceptive. It has no charm, and is tacky, with an Irish-style pub called O'Pedros (really?!) with loud 80s music videos playing on a large screen, and a 'kitchen' serving pre- prepared burgers and chips.

The property sprawling. There is NOTHING boutique about this property.

Rooms are dull, damp and featureless.

The food option in the Irish-style pub is shocking. This property is in the heart on an amazing natural environment and the opportunity is to serve local food to clients that come here for the natural authentic experience. I didn't travel thousands of kilometres to eat a burger and chips.

The journey to the beautiful Valle Anton from Panama City is an eventful few hours, so we arrived ready to relax in this supposedly 'boutique spa' hotel. But it just went downhill rapido...

When we checked in we had to pay for the room - I'm not familiar with paying at check in - normally check-out. But we're were tired so just went with it. Then we had to sign a paper saying we had been given a plastic key card for the room - in case we lost it and would therefore be billed!!!

At this point we should have known it was a lousy property but we let it go. We just wanted to get to our room.

Then we got to the room - an upgrade to one of the best rooms - supposedly. It was soulless,characterless and smelt of damp. Taking a shower I found there was no hot water.

They changed our room. Same cavernous, soulless space. Same damp but hot water this time. The reason for the damp smell is that the bathrooms have no extractors. All the steam stays in the bathroom and room making them damp.

The soap and shampoo is from white tacky plastic dispensers screwed to the wall (boutique spa???? no not at all!!)

The bathrobes are old and shabby, the ties worn so they appear dirty.

The bathroom floor was dirty.

The mini bar was empty - just two bottles of purified tap water.

The rooms are not soundproofed so expect to be woken each time the guest above or beside gets up, or uses the loo.

To guarantee a poor night's sleep the bellman when dragging guest cases across the tile floor outside at 5.20am decided to call across the hotel courtyard to a colleague and then have a conversation in full voice! This is at 5.20am!!!

The only thing boutique spa about this soulless convention hotel (appeared popular with groups of delegates) was the inflated price that would've been expensive in an advanced economy let alone a developing economy like Panama.

It's a shame. It's location is great and the countryside beautiful.

I recommend looking away from the hotel listings and try the B&Bs. The way TA works is that some of the best independent accommodation has to be listed as a B&B but in fact is far superior to this badly run hotel.

Of course they ask guests to prepay. Once you see the room and the tacky fixtures and the awful Irish-style pub you just want to run into those rainforest clad hills.

Also there was no guest room wifi. I appreciate that this is the countryside but these days internet is possible everywhere and to charge inflated prices and only provide a very weak signal in the tacky Irish-style pub is poor.

The only thing I liked was the amazing view from the property and the abundance of bird life and butterflies around the property.

Don't stay here. That's my advice.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Hotel Los Mandarinos is a beautiful hotel, the rooms are great size, clean - the hot tub not so hot - The food is ok, I wish they has more of the traditional Panamanian food -
Overall this a great hotel for relaxing

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElviraF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Very clean hotel with spacious rooms. Wonderful surroundings. Courteous staff. I felt it was a bit overpriced. Preferred meals at La Casa de Lourdes nearby, not O'Pedro's Irish Pub. They were able to accommodate an early check-in, which I appreciated.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MYu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Nice garden, great buldings. Good pool and awesome service comparing to other places in Panama. Super close to the restaurant La Casa de Lourdes, which is a must go. Very, very bad pillows and bed for the price though. Someone was listing loud music during the night, and the reception is opened only until 11pm, so there's nothing to be done.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgb_sp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Los Mandarinos is tucked inside of a dormant volcano..... horseback riding, a small zoo with indigenous wildlife, local crafts a the beach are all just a few minutes away. As for the hotel itself, very nice rooms. Clean property, courteous staff and decent food go a long way....

Room Tip: Suites by the pool are very nice. I recommend bringing a cooler and bug repellant to enjoy the prop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AntoineFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Valle de Anton
0.6 mi away
Hotel Campestre
Hotel Campestre
#3 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
#5 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
54 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anton Valley Hotel
Anton Valley Hotel
#4 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
The Golden Frog Inn
The Golden Frog Inn
#1 of 14 in El Valle de Anton
345 reviews
18.2 mi away
Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant

Property: Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Address: Corregimiento de El Valle | Distrito de Antón, Coclé, El Valle de Anton 1001, Panama
Location: Panama > Cocle Province > El Valle de Anton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in El Valle de Anton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa And Hotel Restaurant
Los Mandarinos Boutique Hotel
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant Panama/El Valle De Anton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing