We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places to stay in all of Panama”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Had been here last October just to El Valle for the day and to look around and have lunch. Knew I wanted to stay here when I returned and I was not disappointed. My husband was not feeling well when we arrived (early - at noon) and our room was not ready (check in is at 3 pm), but they gave us another room so he would have a place to lay down while I went to go get him some Sancocho (chicken soup). Really appreciated that! Then, when our room was ready, they sent someone to help with the bags (we were on the second floor and there is no elevator). We also were in room 12D, like a previous reviewer. It is a corner room and nice and quiet. There was no construction, as the new wing of rooms was completed. The new heated pool was a nice temperature - almost bath water. Even the other pool at ambient temperature was not cold. Now if only the jacuzzi jets worked....Anyway, the room itself was nice and big, the TV had lots of channels. They bring you ice and you do have a fridge, which is stocked with two complimentary bottles of water. The bathroom was also nice and large, with a heated towel rack. I only have two suggestions: 1. There was no desk in the room and there sure was space for one. Needed to do some work and it was hard to do without a desk, and 2. Improvements needed for showering. First of all, the water pressure is barely a trickle. Secondly, there is no bar of soap and I really don't use or like the liquid soap. Third, I had emailed ahead of our stay to ask if there was shampoo and conditioner in the room and was told there was. There was no conditioner. Thankfully I brought a small amount with from another hotel we stayed at earlier. Otherwise, the grounds are lovely, the staff was helpful, and I would stay here again. Please see my reviews of the two restaurants which I wrote separately. In a nutshell, Casa Lourdes is a must, and O'Pedros is not.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beav16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (431)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 431 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

Here are some things we experienced at this hotel:
*Breakfast was awful.
*Service was terrible - we basically had to beg to be waited on by the wait staff and the front desk clerks were rude and indifferent.
*the restaurant ran out of most desired dishes by 7:30 pm
* the restaurant next door would not seat you without reservations even though the place was empty.
* the rooms were loud due to construction during the day and the loud a/c kept us up at night.
I hope this helps someone make an informed decision before booking.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANDARINOS, General Manager at Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Jason 415.
We regret inconveniences during your stay at our hotel you are writing about. We will take your comments into consideration as our interest is to remain the No.1 hotel in Valle de Antón, as ratified by institutions like Trip Advisor. It would have been a big help if you could have mentioned your complaints during your stay at the hotel. To better understand them in order to better ourselves, we would appreciate if you could contact us at info@losmandarinos.com with a phone number where we can reach you and a time that would be convenient. We assure you that the conversation will be beneficial for both parties.
We take this opportunity to confirm that the expansion work of the Hotel, including 25 additional deluxe rooms, and a new acclimatized pool ended a few weeks ago. A new restaurant will be opened shortly. We regret any inconvenience this expansion might have caused our customers.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Beautiful grounds with birds singing in the trees. Room 12D on the second floor has a fruiting tree just outside the balcony door, you can do some bird watching from your bed in the morning. The onsite restaurant O'Pedros was wonderful for a relaxing breakfast, lunch or dinner. We enjoyed everything on the menu over our three day stay. The staff at the hotel and restaurant were very nice and always helpful. Our room was not in the new building, but it was large and comfortable and very quiet. Our stay at Los Mandarinos hotel in El Valle was the highlight of our 10 day vacation in Panama. The temperature was perfect for a February get away from the winter cold in Washington State and not as hot as Panama City. This place was everything I had hoped it would be.

Room Tip: We liked 12D on the second floor away from the pool area for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I spent two nights here two weeks ago and it was a relaxing experience. Everything from the check in until the moment I sadly departed was very pleasant.

The restaurant staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were nice. I would have loved a wider choice of fruit, but it was OK. I didn't have dinner there, so I can't review on that.

Spa services were good, I had a nice massage and tried the sauna, the jacuzzi was out of service while we were there. The heated pool is a plus.

The hotel lets you experience great views to the mountains almost almost from anywhere. I would only say that it would be nice to finally see that the road is completely finished, since it gets bumpier the closer you get to the hotel. Other than that, great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrownEyesPanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I've been to this hotel twice and stayed at about 5 of El Valle's other boutique hotels. There's no doubt that when you say you're staying at "Los Mandarinos," that signifies that you're staying at "the best" lodging El Valle has to offer. The rooms are very well done and the landscape is not unlike Vermont or Maine in Spring. The included breakfast is "tipico Panamanian" which you should read as "ick" but next door Casa de Lourdes is probably the best restaurant in town. The customer service is above par by Panamanian standards though nothing to blow away international travelers. As for the other negative reviews on Trip Advisor, they sound to me like isolated incidents.

Room Tip: Ask before hand to make sure you're not near any construction (the hotel is expanding at the tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheCascoBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We checked in and the receptionist asked for our passports. I gave him me and my wife's passport. He wrote down the numbers and gave the passports back. We stayed at the hotel for an entire day and checked out the next day. We drove to our next destination (Pedasi) and realized that the receptionist had only returned one of the passports. We had to drive all the way back to the hotel to pickup the passport. The receptionist stated that he realized he had forgotten to give back the passport as soon as we left the office the previous day but made absolutely no effort to return it to us even though our room was less than 50 ft away from the office. Even worse they didn't even return it to us the next day when we checked out in person. To compensate us for the more than $100 of gas and an entire day of driving out of our vacation they said they can give us a voucher for one free night to be used within the next year. NO THANKS! We asked to talk to the manager but were told that the manager was not working that day even though she lives on the premises. After we returned from our vacation I tried for and entire week to try to speak to the manager but was given the run around. Finally after numerous calls I spoke to the manager. The manager was very rude and said that we were at fault for returning to pick up the passport. She had the brilliant idea that we should have called her from the airport prior to our flight and she would have brought the passport to us at the airport. What world do you live in? Your people could not even bring it 50ft to our room but we are suppose to trust that you are going to drop everything and drive and hour and half to the airport just before our flight. BEWARE!! the customer service at this hotel is absolutely terrible. They don't care about their customers at all. Stay at another hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JRuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gerencia g, Gerente at Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Dear guest;
We lament this incident, ocurred during your check in at 6:30pm.
-Yes, we went to look up to your room at 7pm to return your passport but unfortunately you had gone.
-Yes our front desk has failed to remind you this during the check out time.
-We did not have your phone number or email to contact you because you booked online, via an intermediary agency.
-Knowing you intention to drive back for 6 hours we would have offered our help. It is not uncommon to find objects our guests have left behind and are accustomed to finding an immediate solution as part of our internal policy. Panama counts with a very efficient transportation system for goods and all of our hotels gladly work together in order to assure our tourists have the best possible experience, we would have gladly taken the steps to send you your passport.
-Due to the fact that you returned to the hotel we offered a free night’s stay which you turned down.
-As for your last observation, the hotel’s general manager takes a very hand on approach in running the hotel which often leads to being around the premises instead of the office.
-We suggest a contact number be left were the manager can reach you as soon as your message is received.
We hope you can have a moment of serenity and understanding, but our greatest wish is that you took with you some pleasant and memorable moments of our country and its people.
Best Regards;
The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

this is a lovely hotel that reminded me of tuscany. i only stayed one night. large rooms and bathrooms. nice pool and pleasant grounds. the 'irish' pub cafe is just ok. a club sandwich took a long time to prepare. the breakfast buffet is mediocre but edible. it would be a nice venue for an event, wedding, family reunion, etc.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank likeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Valle de Anton
15.2 mi away
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort - An All Inclusive Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel Campestre
Hotel Campestre
#2 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
123 reviews
18.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Playa Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Anton Valley Hotel
Anton Valley Hotel
#4 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
276 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Residencial El Valle
Hotel Residencial El Valle
#3 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
#5 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant

Address: Corregimiento de El Valle | Distrito de Antón, Coclé, El Valle de Anton 1001, Panama
Location: Panama > Cocle Province > El Valle de Anton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in El Valle de Anton
Price Range: $202 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa And Hotel Restaurant
Los Mandarinos Boutique Hotel
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant Panama/El Valle De Anton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing