We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reminded me of tuscany”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2013

this is a lovely hotel that reminded me of tuscany. i only stayed one night. large rooms and bathrooms. nice pool and pleasant grounds. the 'irish' pub cafe is just ok. a club sandwich took a long time to prepare. the breakfast buffet is mediocre but edible. it would be a nice venue for an event, wedding, family reunion, etc.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank likeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (417)
There are newer reviews for Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 418 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

Very charming location in El Valle west of Panama City. Feels like you are staying in a country estate. Since our room was on the second floor and there are no elevators some could have a problem. Breakfast was in the Pub and the porch seating is very pleasant with a nice view of the well manicured property. Pool was OK, but the area around it is under construction with a new addition of rooms. The restaurant adjoining the property (sister to Los Mandarinos, same owner) was outstanding.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Conmassey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The hotel is beautiful although our experience there could be better. We arrived wanting to have a bath and the hot water was not working. Once there was no other room available, they toke about 4 hour to replace completely the heater. Coudnt they review the room before to give it to the customer? There is no phone in the room. If you want to talk to the reception which is far away from the room, you need to use your cel phone. There is a big expansion and construction going in the hotel, so you stay in the swimming pool with construction workers in front of you. Be careful requesting aditional key for the room, if you loose it they will charge you and nobody advise you about this. The Casa de Lourdes restaurant just besides the hotel is wonderful: the food, the place, everything. The attention in the hotel pub is wondergul, although they can be missing some key itens like a diet coke. The type of construction of the hotel is beautiful and the view (excecpt for the construction) is great. Having a place with a teacher that can take care of your son meanwhile you are in the SPA for example without any aditional charge is wonderful and something I never seen in any other hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank izabellavelsoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

All properties need to upgrade, so I do not dispute Los Mandarino's need to expand. We were advised the property was expanding when we reserved in August, but were told it would be complete before December. The construction was still taking place over the Christmas/New Year's period and we were not notified prior to arrival the construction was not complete. We only knew because of a review on Tripadvisor. We could have selected an alternate room (ours with a jacuzzi tub on the balcony overlooked the construction site) or elected to cancel. We were only offer 2x30 minute massages, which equates to about 10% of the room cost. Better communication and upfront honesty would have been appreciated. In the end we went to the beach or for a hike during the day and pretty much avoided most construction noise.

Aside from the construction, the property is wonderful and the staff very friendly and helpful. The location is lovely on a slight hillside at the edge of town with the Cerro Gaital park directly behind it. The grounds were well tended with lots of cafe tables in various locations for quiet coffee, reading or relaxing - very tranquil. The pool is grey concrete and not the typical blue, so it is dark, but it was refreshing and the large hot tub is warm for those cooler days in the mountains. Note that the new building blocks the view to the valley from the pool. Our room was incredible with a walk-in shower with windows looking out to the surrounding hills. The room was always impeccably cleaned. The room and bath were very spacious and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast at O'Pedro's was always delicious and the serving staff very polite. We had NYE dinner at Casa de Lourdes which is a beautiful setting; the meal was good, but not amazing; service was very good. They had a wonderful fireworks and burning of the muneco's at midnight.

Overall I think once the construction is complete and the construction site landscaped to match the rest of the property, Los Mandarino's will be very wonderful and quiet again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Lovely hotel in quiet El Valle. Wonderful, spacious rooms, well kept surroundings. Excellent service from reception. And neighbouring restaurant la Casa de Lourdes was pretty and with good food and service. At the O'Pedros, the restaurant of the hotel, the service was very friendly but incredibly slow, while scattering dishes in random order on the table. The first day it took us 2 hours to get our one-dish lunch served... Something that was really not good was that there was big construction work going on, even during the weekend. It was very unpleasant to sit by the pool with 40 workmen next to us. Of course this is only temporary, but I would have liked to know in advance when making the reservation.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank adriana61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Los Mandarinos is a great place to scape from the city and relax on the nature. The area around the hotel is beautiful. The gardens all well kept same with the hotel all the decoration is done nicely following the same style. The room had a lot of space and is everything was working fine

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank vincent0924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

December 2012, Hotel in construction right along the pool, did not stop the noise on chritmas eve and christmas day! We couldn't beleive it... What they are building is blocking the view of the mountains making it looking like any other hotel. Beds are unconfortable, too hard. Everything is costly. We noticed in the Valle lots of hotels not found on the net, we certainl would of had the same confort without this exorbitant fee (700$ for one night /3 kids, one dinner at casa de Lourdes (not veery good) and few deinks and snacks)

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Valle de Anton
0.6 mi away
Hotel Campestre
Hotel Campestre
#3 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
#5 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
55 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anton Valley Hotel
Anton Valley Hotel
#4 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort - An All Inclusive Resort
18.2 mi away
Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort
17.0 mi away
Royal Decameron Golf, Beach Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant

Address: Corregimiento de El Valle | Distrito de Antón, Coclé, El Valle de Anton 1001, Panama
Location: Panama > Cocle Province > El Valle de Anton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in El Valle de Anton
Price Range: $182 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa And Hotel Restaurant
Los Mandarinos Boutique Hotel
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant Panama/El Valle De Anton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing