We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Golden Frog Inn
Nearby Hotels
$159
$149
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Campestre(El Valle de Anton)
$91
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anton Valley Hotel(El Valle de Anton)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manglar Lodge(San Carlos)(Great Value!)
$79
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay View Hotel(San Carlos)
$80
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$184
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Residencial El Valle(El Valle de Anton)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wyndham Playa Corona(Playa Coronado)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (384)
Filter reviews
384 results
Traveler rating
290
66
16
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
290
66
16
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshappy hourother guestsb bpanama citybanana breadnice poolropa viejain townthe main housefirst morninggrounds are beautifulvolcanic craterfeel at homestayed nightsgreat hostslarge roomvery nice place
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
286 - 291 of 384 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2008

My wife and I learned of the Golden Frog Inn from Fodor's. We spent two enjoyable nights in mid-September at GFI. There, we found clean, and comfortable accommodations in a setting of unusual natural beauty. El Valle de Anton is a semi-remote, somewhat rustic area characterized by an unhurried pace. To our view, Golden Frog Inn dovetails perfectly into this environ. We received the most attentive and disarming hospitality from our hosts. Larry is a retired sea Captain who obviously enjoys gardening and cultivating bonsai plants. He gives exceptionally interesting mini-tours of his rich collection of maritime artifacts. Becky is a former dog trainer and animal lover who puts together hearty breakfasts over the which any foodie will want to linger. It is an added bonus that she is also fussy about her coffee, grinding her own carefully-selected beans every morning. Every evening they hold happy hour with wine and snacks, a pleasant way to launch an evening out at any of the varied and fine restaurants in El Valle. Suffice it to say, these innkeepers know how to cultivate an atmosphere of relaxation and escape from the rat-race.

If there are any caveats, they would be few. It would be ill-advised to choose this inn if a 5-star, Club Med experience is being sought. This is a slightly rustic, close-to-nature, unpretentious kind of place; while it was perfect for us, it is probably not for everyone. (We walked around the grounds with Larry and Becky and spotted a tree sloth, along with some exotic bird life). Accessibility could be slightly challenging to anyone for whom navigating a few steps would be difficult. Also, there are only a few rooms, so availability might be an issue during the high season. Otherwise, we will definitely stay here, if and when we return to El Valle.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ORI-Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2008

The reason we were in El Valle was to attend a wedding. Turned out we not only attended a wedding. We had a dream vacation too. That was because we stayed at The Golden Frog. Felt like we were entering paradise from the moment we arrived because the grounds are incredibly lush and beautiful. The welcome was so warm and personal. Owners, Larry and Becky ,and manager, Adrian, were not only personable and friendly, they were personal guides who gave us information about our surroundings.
Our accommodations were terriific. Our room was spacaious and lovely with our own patio area only steps away from a swimming pool. Steps away from that was a veranda of the main house where we enjoyed delicious breakfasts, lounging with a view beyond description, and interesting conversations.
Larry , Becky, and Adrian went above and beyond to make our stay a wonderful one. They gave us guidance as to activities and attended to our every need. Larry drove us to the market. Adrian met us on our descent from a hike with cold drinking water. They called to confirm transportation links for us to get to various wedding festivities.
The point is this. The Golden Frog is a full service piece of heaven on earth.
If you are contemplating a stay there, we say go for it, and we are jealous because we cannot wait to return .
Dana and John Ehrhart
Cedar Rapids, Iowa

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johndanacr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2008

This is a must if you are staying anywhere close to El Valle. The surrounding countryside is beautiful and very peaceful. The owners, Larry and Becky, will make sure your stay is perfect. I can't say enough good things about the Golden Frog Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank VeryCoolDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2008

I am on an extended job assignment in Panama and need to get away from the noise and concrete of the city whenever possible. The Golden Frog has become my home away from home. A couple of relaxing days there lying in a hammock, reading, listing to my favorite music and my spirit is restored. I awaken in the morning to the birds singing and not the "construction crane", the new national bird of Panama. Becky and Larry are excellent hosts and will do whatever they need to so you will have a pleasant stay. And Larry's collection of bonsai are indeed a treat.

Stayed: June 2008
Thank PanamaPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2008

This is a beautiful B&B run by a retired couple from the US. The property is flawlessly maintained and the service solicitous (they'll pick you up when you arrive in town and even drive you to dinner if a taxi takes too long). Sunset happy hours a (first glass of wine on the house) are not to be missed. The B&B is nestled in the foothills of a volcanic caldera and lushly planted with hibiscus, pecan trees and tropical flowers of all kinds. You wake up to the sound of hundreds of birds, then have a generous, home-cooked breakfast on the terrace and keep an eye out for the three-toed sloth that lives on the grounds. I was here on business but would not hesitate to return with my family for a long vacation, or better yet, for a romantic vacation with my husband.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank HMillar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews