We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful setting, great hosts, perfect stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Golden Frog Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Golden Frog Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, great hosts, perfect stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

I stayed 7 nights at the Golden frog Inn in January 2014. It was beautiful, Larry and Beck are so helpful and welcoming, everything to make a wonderful stay! Larry offered me a car ride to discover El Vallee on my first day, and I rent a bicycle to go around all week, which was totally perfect! There is lots to do in El Vallee, and relaxing by the pool or in a hammock is one of the best...

I totally recommend the night hike with Mario, we saw wonderful animals and the feeling was great!

I was in room 5, which is the smallest, but it totally answered my needs. It was clean and nicely arranged. The kitchen by the pool was just perfect. Nice breeze, beautiful mountains, noisy parrot :-), nice dogs, what more can you hope for?

Thank you so much Larry and Becky, it was the perfect stay, and I fully recommend it to anyone going to El Vallee.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolinedautomne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    54
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
75
172
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
283 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

The Golden Frog Inn is situated on beautiful grounds with stunning views of the mountains in the distance. It offers modern, comfortable accommodations. It has a beautiful swimming pool which we took full advantage of.
The owners, Larry and Becky are extremely friendly and willing to share their knowledge of the area. Each evening at 6:00 they host a happy hour for their guests which proved to be a very convivial and enjoyable time. Their three friendly dogs and their macaw add to the festivities.
Adrian, their Argentine manager, is extremely enthusiastic and helpful.
Through the Golden Frog we hired Mario Bernal as a birding guide for two days. His great enthusiasm, love for his environment, and deep knowledge of the local birds made our experience with him a high point of our trip.
We stayed in room #3 which is described as a two bedroom apartment. The way it is laid out, however, make it more suitable for a family than two couples who want a bit of privacy.
We should also note that the Golden Frog does not serve meals (we did have a full kitchen). It is a long walk to town,especially after dark, and is best suited for those who have their own transportation. There are several good dining options in El Valle with Casa de Lourdes being one of the best restaurants in Panama.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sptravelers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Becky and Larry went out of their way to make us feel really welcome and at home in this wonderful retreat. We stayed in a suite which was lovely and had everything we needed. We are vegan and our hosts made sure we had vegan appertizers at their happy hour and gave us a big basket of fruit for the room. They also gave us a bottle of champagne as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary while we were there. We couldn't have wished for more. This place is truly great.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete, Panama
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

With amazing views and well appointed rooms with comfortable beds and fresh flowers everywhere Becky, Larry and Adrian do a fantastic job of making you feel at home. The welcoming fruit and goodies tray and fun happy our just add to your enjoyment While staying here. I had the pleasure of having a massage booked for me and highly recommend that you make this part of your stay. The massage was amazing, one of the best I have ever had. Becky, Larry and Adrian are so helpful with their knowledge of the area and any questions that you may have and go out of their way to make sure that your stay is enjoyable. The grounds are beautiful, the views amazing And El Valle is a must see spot on your trip to Panama. I highly recommend this Inn and we will be going back as soon as possible.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice but the larger ones offer a kitchen and more space to relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cepage1ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

First of all; El Valle is a great place to visit for a couple of days. Its only 2-3 hours (depends on traffic and no of stops - small busses leave regularly from Albrook terminal) from smoggy Panama City. Its a small town with enough things to do (hike, cycle, canopy etc), eat and sleep. We had the pleasure to stay at Golden Frog. Its a small scale accommodation with comfortable, clean and spacious rooms, some with a well equipped kitchen. Its the perfect place to relax after a hike. Owners Larry and Becky are very welcoming and helpful, so was the Argentinian 'padrone' Adrian, a great guy who knew everything about El Valle and the rest of Panama. His tips helped us a lot during our trip.

Don't miss out on El Valle and/or Golden Frog.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulvdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights - Becky, Larry, and Adrian are wonderful hosts. The rooms are well appointed, clean, and comfortable. The pool area is very nice and welcome in the December sunny days. There is an evening happy hour, which is a great opportunity to meet fellow guests. El Valle is in a beautiful area - lush and mountainous with a dry and breezy climate (in late December). Having a rental car makes the visit much easier (consider picking the car up at the Albrook airport about 15 minutes from downtown Panama City to avoid driving in the city) then head west for about 1.5 hours to El Valle. There are several good restaurants, hiking, birding etc. the Golden Frog is a magical place!

Room Tip: A room with a kitchen is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank takoma66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, Panama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Our hosts, Becky, Larry, and Andrian, made our stay so pleasant. They are attentive and thoughtful, making certain we felt pampered. The sunset happy hour was the highlight of the visit. I can't imagine a more relaxing atmosphere with the view the inn's tropical gardens against the backdrop of the mountains that form the rim of the crater, the largest inhabited volcanic crater in the world. The communal kitchen was a real plus, as it allowed us to get an early cup of coffee and enjoy the early birds at the same time. This is a nature lovers paradise.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank birdophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Valle de Anton
1.2 mi away
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Ho...
#1 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Campestre
Hotel Campestre
#2 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
1.7 mi away
Anton Valley Hotel
Anton Valley Hotel
#4 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
#5 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
15.0 mi away
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort
9.2 mi away
Cabanas los Colibris
Cabanas los Colibris
#2 of 11 in El Valle de Anton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Frog Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Frog Inn

Property: The Golden Frog Inn
Address: Calle Las Veraneras # 22, El Valle de Anton 1001, Panama
Location: Panama > Cocle Province > El Valle de Anton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in El Valle de Anton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Golden Frog Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Frog Inn is a little piece of paradise here in El Valle de Anton. Newly remodeled in early 2011, the villa's larger guest units are now equipped with fully stocked kitchens and cable TVs to better accommodate guests for longer stays. The villa is located in a very quiet, peaceful area of El Valle. The 42 foot pool, the sunsets, and spectacular bird watching make for a wonderful tropical get-away. We know you will enjoy your stay at the Golden Frog Inn. Come and share the beauty of this beautiful villa and community with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Golden Frog Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golden Frog Hotel El Valle De Anton
The Golden Frog Inn Panama/El Valle De Anton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing