We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Golden Frog Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Becky and Larry went out of their way to make us feel really welcome and at home in this wonderful retreat. We stayed in a suite which was lovely and had everything we needed. We are vegan and our hosts made sure we had vegan appertizers at their happy hour and gave us a big basket of fruit for the room. They also gave us a bottle of champagne as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary while we were there. We couldn't have wished for more. This place is truly great.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 364 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

With amazing views and well appointed rooms with comfortable beds and fresh flowers everywhere Becky, Larry and Adrian do a fantastic job of making you feel at home. The welcoming fruit and goodies tray and fun happy our just add to your enjoyment While staying here. I had the pleasure of having a massage booked for me and highly recommend that you make this part of your stay. The massage was amazing, one of the best I have ever had. Becky, Larry and Adrian are so helpful with their knowledge of the area and any questions that you may have and go out of their way to make sure that your stay is enjoyable. The grounds are beautiful, the views amazing And El Valle is a must see spot on your trip to Panama. I highly recommend this Inn and we will be going back as soon as possible.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice but the larger ones offer a kitchen and more space to relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cepage1ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

First of all; El Valle is a great place to visit for a couple of days. Its only 2-3 hours (depends on traffic and no of stops - small busses leave regularly from Albrook terminal) from smoggy Panama City. Its a small town with enough things to do (hike, cycle, canopy etc), eat and sleep. We had the pleasure to stay at Golden Frog. Its a small scale accommodation with comfortable, clean and spacious rooms, some with a well equipped kitchen. Its the perfect place to relax after a hike. Owners Larry and Becky are very welcoming and helpful, so was the Argentinian 'padrone' Adrian, a great guy who knew everything about El Valle and the rest of Panama. His tips helped us a lot during our trip.

Don't miss out on El Valle and/or Golden Frog.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulvdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights - Becky, Larry, and Adrian are wonderful hosts. The rooms are well appointed, clean, and comfortable. The pool area is very nice and welcome in the December sunny days. There is an evening happy hour, which is a great opportunity to meet fellow guests. El Valle is in a beautiful area - lush and mountainous with a dry and breezy climate (in late December). Having a rental car makes the visit much easier (consider picking the car up at the Albrook airport about 15 minutes from downtown Panama City to avoid driving in the city) then head west for about 1.5 hours to El Valle. There are several good restaurants, hiking, birding etc. the Golden Frog is a magical place!

Room Tip: A room with a kitchen is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank takoma66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Our hosts, Becky, Larry, and Andrian, made our stay so pleasant. They are attentive and thoughtful, making certain we felt pampered. The sunset happy hour was the highlight of the visit. I can't imagine a more relaxing atmosphere with the view the inn's tropical gardens against the backdrop of the mountains that form the rim of the crater, the largest inhabited volcanic crater in the world. The communal kitchen was a real plus, as it allowed us to get an early cup of coffee and enjoy the early birds at the same time. This is a nature lovers paradise.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birdophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Larry and Becky are super pleasant and helpful innkeepers. We spent 2 lovely days with them in El Valle as we were looking around highland areas of Panama to buy a home. They gave us great information and help with their observations living in Panama. We had a wonderful experience with them as well as visiting with the other adventure traveler guests. We highly recommend their lovely Inn.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia-Homayoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

After multiple communications with owners, and confirming our reservation - traveled a long distance to this location in the mountains - to be advised that they did not have our booking & were full. This kind of shrugging off does not warrant referral as a dependable destination.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
3  Thank HalBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happyand, Owner at The Golden Frog Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

When we receive inquiries about availability on specific dates, we reply describing what is available, and answer any other questions travelers have. Many emails are simply inquiries as travelers plan their vacations. Many times, several emails will go back and forth discussing details, offering assistance on travel, etc. We assist when we can, whether guests find lodging here or elsewhere.

We do not consider an inquiry of availability on a specific date a "reservation" until deposit information has been shared and dates confirmed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Valle de Anton hotels
0.6 mi away
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Ho...
#1 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
431 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Campestre
Hotel Campestre
#2 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
123 reviews
1.7 mi away
Anton Valley Hotel
Anton Valley Hotel
#4 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
#5 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
57 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Residencial El Valle
Hotel Residencial El Valle
#3 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
125 reviews
9.2 mi away
Cabanas los Colibris
Cabanas los Colibris
#2 of 15 in El Valle de Anton
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Frog Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Frog Inn

Address: Calle Las Veraneras, El Valle de Anton 1001, Panama
Location: Panama > Cocle Province > El Valle de Anton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in El Valle de Anton
Price Range: $96 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Golden Frog Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Frog Inn is a little piece of paradise here in El Valle de Anton. Newly remodeled in early 2011, the villa's larger guest units are now equipped with fully stocked kitchens and cable TVs to better accommodate guests for longer stays. The villa is located in a very quiet, peaceful area of El Valle. The 42 foot pool, the sunsets, and spectacular bird watching make for a wonderful tropical get-away. We know you will enjoy your stay at the Golden Frog Inn. Come and share the beauty of this beautiful villa and community with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Golden Frog Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golden Frog Hotel El Valle De Anton
The Golden Frog Inn Panama/El Valle De Anton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing