We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frogs in the Pool!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Golden Frog Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2013

No, fortunately not!! But plenty of clean water, lot's of space to swim within a very well kept garden - just inviting!

Accommodation very good, spacious room (s) individual and comfortable beds, flat screen tv if
you are inclined, nice little kitchens to do your own catering if wished; otherwise no restaurant or dining room,BUT a Happy Hour each day at 6 ! Cafe, tea provided, oil & vinegar too - no food!!

Away from the madding crowd, this little family run hotel is set in a peaceful and pretty part of an equally quiet volcanic crater, plenty of flowers, but as mentioned, no frogs!! Especially the exclusive little golden one which EL VALLE is famous for! If you would like a memorable stay, then book here!

Room Tip: There is a choice depending on how many in your party, additional rooms for children or the odd frie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank morgieporgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 353 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

The hotel does have a great mountain view but that's it. Just spent the worst 4 days of my life. Will never return. Staff is nice only upon arrival. Was not told a car is absolute for the area. After expressing to staff the difficulty finding a bus taxi or tour guide was told by the front desk person Adrian that we should have known better and that it would be unlikely that a tour guide or taxi would even show up if requested. Staff had little to no knowledge of the area. Was unable to find any transportation to hiking areas. When things went wrong such as the bed being covered with ants and taking the wrong bus we were blamed. Linens smell of mildew. Furniture in and out of room is extremely uncomfortable. Rooms are dark and dingy with poor lighting and horrendous cutlery. I would advise avoiding Panama as it is unfriendly and could care less about tourism. Being fluent in Spanish is also a requirement.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SASTPETE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happyand, Owner at The Golden Frog Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

I’m sorry this family found Panama so difficult. They called to request arrival a day earlier because they were unhappy with the hotel they were in (with has an excellent reputation). We accommodated them.

We arranged pick up transportation from the other hotel. This included a stop for lunch and shopping.

They requested a night jungle hike with a local guide which we arranged for them. I loaned one lady my clothes for this as she had nothing appropriate to wear. When I was asked it was OK to go on the hike intoxicated, I advised against it.

They requested dinner reservations at a local 5 star restaurant. There was confusion with transportation (they had no money). We drove them there and picked them up after dinner. We also drove them to a cash machine.

They requested massages in their room, we arranged this. They requested another the following day. We arranged this. They left without notice or canceling this appointment.

They told us that they had read in a tour book NOT to rent a car in Panama because it was impossible to get out of the city. Panama is full of travelers with rental cars.

The travelers above statement; “ Being fluent in Spanish is also a requirement.” simply is not true.

They shared with us that they cancelled and changed their reservations with 2 highly respected hotels in Panama because they were not happy there. They complained that they were charged. They also changed plans with us at the last minute We did not charge them.

This family also wrote a review on The Panama Canal, which they were not at all happy with. The Panama Canal, has 1,265 excellent reviews. They gave it a “terrible” review.

Again, I'm sorry they were not happy here. We soon realized upon their arrival here that they were not enjoying their journey and we all tried as best we could to change that. We, as so many others love Panama, the people and the country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in room 5, which is the more budget friendly room with 2 single beds, an attached bathroom and shared kitchen. As backpackers we had a wonderful time. The hotel is very quiet and peaceful with great views, the surrounding area can easily keep you busy for a couple of days. The 6 o'clock happy hour is big fun
We really liked the place and I think this is one of the better options in town.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arnaudvdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

The entire experience in El Valle de Anton was the top of our trip to Panama. Gorgeous gardens helpful gracious hosts, a beautiful pool, fully equipped kitchen, TV, adequate parking. Room three is THE room for non-couples of more than one person with 2 beds in 2 separate rooms, sitting room, kitchen and patio. The happy hour was a wonderful touch followed by the (optional) therapeutic massage in my room. I recommend you stay at least 3 says in the Valle - make it the Golden Frog.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TiaMiaTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Ever have those relatives that live in a great area, have a great home with room for you, treat you great, and never want you to leave.....me neither. But Larry and Becky are those lost relatives. Adrian was super personal and made sure everything was to our liking. They are a two minute drive to town. View is amazing, plenty of room and patios/hammock to relax in. The happy hour was a great treat and a super way to meet people from all over the globe. They also made special appetizers for our kids. Fixed us up with a night time guide to go jungleing, besides many small creatures we saw a three toed sloth and her baby. How lucky and amazing for the whole family.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdventureAmigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I really loved Becky, Adrian, and this lovely place.
Adrian was on top of every detail as we planned our stay. When we arrived, good and accurate directions to the Golden Frog (thank you) Beautiful, clean large room, with a lovely deck. A barred ant shrike couple just outside our door. Lovely, well appointed kitchenette. And, in in the evening a happy hour with excellent wine, beer, soft drinks, plus great appetizers. And,most importantly, great company. Adrian and Becky could not have been more patient, knowledgeable, and gracious. Adrian set up dinner reservations, kept on top of the tour leader to make such he came on time, etc. Becky is knowledgeable about local crafts, and can guide you to a good place to purchase molas, the local embroideries.
The grounds are lovely, If you wish to venture forth, birding and night hike guides are available.
I hope to be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan_katherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed for four nights and wished we could have stayed longer. We had one of the smaller rooms and it was very comfortable. The owners, Larry and Becky, were very gracious and helpful. The property is beautifully landscaped and there are numerous places to sit back and relax and enjoy the solitude. We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Get a suite if you plan on doing much cooking. The communal kitchen works for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gayle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Valle de Anton
0.6 mi away
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Ho...
#1 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
423 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
#5 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Campestre
Hotel Campestre
#3 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Anton Valley Hotel
Anton Valley Hotel
#4 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
273 reviews
15.0 mi away
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort - An All Inclusive Resort
9.2 mi away
Cabanas los Colibris
Cabanas los Colibris
#2 of 15 in El Valle de Anton
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Frog Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Frog Inn

Address: Calle Las Veraneras, El Valle de Anton 1001, Panama
Location: Panama > Cocle Province > El Valle de Anton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in El Valle de Anton
Price Range: $86 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Golden Frog Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Frog Inn is a little piece of paradise here in El Valle de Anton. Newly remodeled in early 2011, the villa's larger guest units are now equipped with fully stocked kitchens and cable TVs to better accommodate guests for longer stays. The villa is located in a very quiet, peaceful area of El Valle. The 42 foot pool, the sunsets, and spectacular bird watching make for a wonderful tropical get-away. We know you will enjoy your stay at the Golden Frog Inn. Come and share the beauty of this beautiful villa and community with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Golden Frog Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golden Frog Hotel El Valle De Anton
The Golden Frog Inn Panama/El Valle De Anton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing