We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spoiled for life...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Golden Frog Inn
Certificate of Excellence
harrisburg
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Spoiled for life...”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

...is how I felt at the end of our stay at the Golden Frog Inn. The facility is very charming, the setting is gorgeous and quiet, and Larry and Becky are extremely helpful and knowledgeable. But what was absolutely dazzling for me was the views. I came for a 3 day visit with my daughter. When describing it to my wife, I said, "I don't want to say too much about the Golden Frog because I don't want you to be jealous-I'll just say the we are staying there the next time you are in El Valle!"

The only thing I would have changed is that is that I would have brought a bit more food for breakfast (the GF does supply coffee and some fruit). We did cook one supper (the kitchen in our room and the "house" kitchen were quite nice and fairly well equipped), largely to have more time to suck up the views!

I consider the Golden Frog a "must stay" location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    59
    14
    7
    4
See reviews for
79
182
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

My husband and in-laws enjoyed our 3 nights at the Golden Frog Inn in November, 2012. We had Suites #1 and #2 and it was perfect for the 4 of us. Each unit was clean and had a spacious room with bed & seating area, well-equipped kitchen, private bathroom, and large outdoor terrace with hammock & seating. (We really liked the hammocks!) The suites had a lovely view overlooking the pool and gardens, with the idyllic El Valle (hills & greenery) as a backdrop. Larry & Becky were exceptionally welcoming and accommodating, and we enjoyed chatting with them and other guests during Happy Hour. Becky even baked a surprise birthday cake in honor of my mother-in-law's birthday (yum!). Note for light sleepers: you may hear the rooster(s), wind blowing (during windy season) and/or other wildlife throughout the night. Overall, I would highly recommend the Golden Frog Inn.

Room Tip: Suites #1 and #2 are spacious and each have their own big porch area outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dayinmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed at the golden frog inn in November 2012. The owners were great and made us feel like we were family. They also gave us great advice on what to do and see in El Valle. The rooms are really nice, clean, and the kitchen is convenient. The inn is a bit away from town but it has the benefit of being peaceful and quiet. It was the most relaxing part of our trip and I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quino24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutchinson, Kansas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a great place to stay. The owners are great and super helpful. Wonderful happy hour. Beds are very comfortable. It is has great views and peace and quiet, yet it is close to the town and many hiking opportunities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJW91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at The Golden Frog Inn in March 2012 after our travel plans changed on short notice. We stayed in one of the larger units with a kitchen (very nice!) the first night, but it was booked on the second and third nights of our stay and we had to switch to two smaller, very basic guest rooms to accomadate our family of 4. We made the best of it and our experience was nevertheless very positive due to the very friendly owners/hosts, lovely grounds and pool at the Golden Frog, and the beautiful locale of El Valle. I posted a trip report in the Panama forum with a little more detail - all positive! I would definately return to the Golden Frog and recommend it to friends and family, and I would be sure to book in advance to reserve one of the nicer rooms with kitchens.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BURT004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego
Level Contributor
96 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband and I are repeat visitors to El Valle and the Golden Frog Inn, and I was excited to see the remodel I've heard they've done to their rooms during their recent 6-month closure. They're back open again and the newly remodeled rooms are wonderful.

I love the new kitchens in the rooms. They've got full-size new refrigerators, a comfortable eating area, high-end coffee makers and enough pots and pans and utensils to make elaborate meals!

They also serve a lovely happy hour on the deck where you can enjoy a knock-out view across El Valle from their strategic position on the hillside.

My favorite time of the day though is the early morning when I force myself out of bed, put on the coffee maker, and get in the terrace hammock so I can witness the riot of colorful birds and symphony of bird songs that rise up from the lush vegetation and trees on the Golden Frog's property. Right in the nearby tree next to the pool I saw a gorgeous toucan munching away on the tree's yellow flowers!

Another new addition since my last visit is the talented artist in residence who creates one-of-a-kind art pieces and displays them all around the property. He is a welcome addition to the Golden Frog, which I already rate as one of the most visually appealing hotels I've ever experienced.

Room Tip: I love the two rooms closest to the pool, room #1 or #2. They've got great terraces overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JGFrankPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My wife and I went on our honeymoon in September. We stayed at "The Golden Frog Inn" and it was the most amazing expierience. At the Inn we had outstanding service,very personable and makes you feel like you are at home without the hustle and bustle of everyday life. The layout is private with a pool to cool off and happyhour to vistit with other guests. A very secluded getaway. I strongly encourage people experience such beauty. Breath taking veiws,farmers market, exotic animals in there own habitats, and lot's of rain forrest to explore. All of this can be expierenced as soon as you step out of your room from sunrise to sunset. We plan on a return trip hopefully asap.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Valle de Anton hotels
0.6 mi away
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Ho...
#1 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
410 reviews
1.7 mi away
Anton Valley Hotel
Anton Valley Hotel
#4 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
268 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Campestre
Hotel Campestre
#2 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
#5 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
54 reviews
9.2 mi away
Cabanas los Colibris
Cabanas los Colibris
#2 of 14 in El Valle de Anton
118 reviews
1.2 mi away
Windmill Hostel
Windmill Hostel
#5 of 14 in El Valle de Anton
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Frog Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Frog Inn

Property: The Golden Frog Inn
Address: Calle Las Veraneras # 22, El Valle de Anton 1001, Panama
Location: Panama > Cocle Province > El Valle de Anton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in El Valle de Anton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Golden Frog Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Frog Inn is a little piece of paradise here in El Valle de Anton. Newly remodeled in early 2011, the villa's larger guest units are now equipped with fully stocked kitchens and cable TVs to better accommodate guests for longer stays. The villa is located in a very quiet, peaceful area of El Valle. The 42 foot pool, the sunsets, and spectacular bird watching make for a wonderful tropical get-away. We know you will enjoy your stay at the Golden Frog Inn. Come and share the beauty of this beautiful villa and community with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Golden Frog Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golden Frog Hotel El Valle De Anton
The Golden Frog Inn Panama/El Valle De Anton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing