We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Golden Frog Inn
Nearby Hotels
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Anton Valley Hotel(El Valle de Anton)(Great Value!)
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Campestre(El Valle de Anton)
$91
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Residencial El Valle(El Valle de Anton)(Great Value!)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
$166
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manglar Lodge(San Carlos)(Great Value!)
$79
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay View Hotel(San Carlos)
$80
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$211
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Wyndham Playa Corona(Playa Coronado)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (384)
Filter reviews
384 results
Traveler rating
290
66
16
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
290
66
16
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshappy hourother guestsb bpanama citybanana breadnice poolropa viejain townthe main housefirst morninggrounds are beautifulvolcanic craterfeel at homestayed nightsgreat hostslarge roomvery nice place
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
203 - 208 of 384 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2012

The Golden Frog Inn formerly served breakfast to its guests, but no longer does so. In November 2011 we booked our stay on the basis of Trip Advisor reviews, many of which mentioned the excellent breakfasts provided here. On arrival in February 2012 we were informed that breakfast was not provided, and when we expressed our surprise, the owner made us feel stupid for thinking that breakfast was part of the deal: they had converted to a ‘boutique hotel’ with cooking facilities several months earlier. We felt less stupid when we spoke to two other couples staying at the Golden Frog who, like us, had paid months in advance in the expectation that this establishment was a bed & breakfast, and who were equally taken aback on being informed of the change. And like us, they too had had several e-mail exchanges with the owners many months prior to their arrival, and at no time had any mention been made of the new arrangements.
Despite the fact that many fairly recent Trip Advisor reviews still praise the breakfast service, despite the fact that the most recent editions of several major guide books to Panama refer to the Golden Frog as a B&B, and despite the fact that the numerous signs by the road in El Valle directing travelers to the hotel still indicate that the Golden Frog is a Bed & Breakfast, the inn’s web site makes no mention of the change. So misunderstandings can easily arise - and could easily have been averted with a single sentence on their home page drawing readers’ attention to the new status.
The Inn itself is in a delightful setting. There are flowers everywhere, and cocoa woodcreepers and barred antshrikes are just a few of the birds which visit the property. But if you want a superb breakfast at a lovely location and a warm and friendly host who values your company, do yourselves a favour and stay at the Casa di Pietra.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hafaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happyand, Owner at The Golden Frog Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2012

To better accommodate our clients needs, The Golden Frog Inn has changed from a bed and breakfast to The Golden Frog Inn Vacation Rentals!
Beginning in May of 2011, we closed for 2 months to remodel by expanding our larger rooms, adding full kitchens, and reducing our prices to fit the needs of travelers wanting longer, more economical stays.
We have gone to great lengths to inform our clients of these changes during reservation and email exchanges. Our website had been updated last year and explains the new changes on the reservation/information page as well as on the home page. All new reviews and advertising posted on the website clearly state Golden Frog Inn Vacation Rentals.
Unfortunately, the travel books reprint only every 2 or 3 years. Rest assured, all future parties have been contacted and will be making the appropriate changes to future additions.
We are sorry you feel you have been misled and we hope this clears up any misconceptions. Transitions are challenging but we hope our clients in the future will enjoy our little slice of paradise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We loved the large room and bathroom, and though room 2 seemed more updated in decor, room 1 had a lovely view from the bed and from the terrace. THe pool was really cold, not heated.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grandtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We got lucky, ended up here by default as indians protesting a copper mine closed the Pan American highway for days and changed our plans and those of others. A beautiful place with pool and garden grounds up in the hills. Large rooms with nice bath, kitchen, cable and patio w/hammock - a place for an extended stay. American owners Becky & Larry are great hosts. They know the area well and were very generous with it all.

Room Tip: Some rooms have kitchens. Those that don't have access to a shared kitchen at poolside.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siren66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We just returned from a fabulous seven nights at the Golden Frog. Can't say enough but I'll try. The owners, Larry and Becky, were the best hosts we've experienced in our four trips to Panama. They're goal is to make your visit more enjoyable and they succeed in that in flying colors. Our room with kitchen was used to the max- we cooked dinner on every night but the first one. And if your room doesn't have a kitchen there's a huge community kitchen poolside. The location is beautiful and convenient. My only hesitation in writing this is that by encouraging more people to come here I might have trouble getting my reservation for next year. Think I'll do it now!

Cliff Dexheimer

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cliffdex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We've stayed at the Golden Frog Inn twice now, and hope to return regularly for as long as we are living in Panama City. Valle de Anton is our favorite destination thus far in Panama, as it is a refreshing escape from the heat and humidity of the city and beaches nearby. The Golden Frog is the perfect place to stay in Valle. It is a small, personalized place to stay with friendly owners and staff that are there when you need them, but also know how to let you enjoy your stay in peace. The owners host a welcome cocktail hour for new guests, which gives everyone a chance to sit down and chat for an hour, sipping good wine and munching on a variety of hors d'oeuvres. We normally keep to ourselves on holidays, but this was just a nice way to meet interesting people and socialize for a while. We enjoyed it so much on our first visit, that it was something we really looked forward to when we went back.

If you have kids, choose room #3, which has a separate bedroom as well as a queen bed in the main room (partitioned from the living room/kitchen). The pool is lovely and for those who choose rooms with the "shared kitchen", know that the kitchen is nicer than the one I have at home, large and elegant.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephanievm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews