We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it here!”
Review of Casa Mariposa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Valle de Anton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Mariposa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Casa Mariposa is a GEM! Our family of 4 were very happy here. Ursula is a great host and is very kind. She had advice of what to do and where to go for restaurants. Sammie and Dahabie are sweet and lovely - they were the highlight of our stay! I recommend this B and B very highly!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 132 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2014

Casa Mariposa is a wonderful B&B in beautiful El Valle de Anton, Panama. The facilities are first-rate, and the hosts go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and welcome. I would definitely stay here again, and would recommend it to my friends and family.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtomlinson_mct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

A friend and I only stayed for one night, but we couldnt recommend it morehighly! As soon as we arrived, Harry showed us the sloths, which were definitely a highlight. Harry went above and beyond for us during our stay repeatedly. He had helpful advice about what to do. He made us a delicious breakfast including papaya with lime, both from his remarkably beautiful garden. As we were asking directions to a hike he recommended, he offered to walk us to the entrance of the hike, but then decided to come the whole way with us. We were very grateful as we would have undoubtedly had some issues (between catcalling and finding the path) and he was great company! When we returned, he loaned us bikes for a quick trip to the store. We couldn't have asked for a more gracious and helpful host! If we ever return to El Valle, this is definitely where we will stay.

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms for $55 each that are very similar, spacious, hot water, private bathrooms, etc. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kestabro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Beautiful gardens, fantastic hosts, divine sloths and sweet dog... what's not to like? We loved it here, we loved the room, the porch, the rocking chairs, the garden, the breakfast, the creatures, the considerate, helpful service. Hire a bike and explore beautiful El Valle from here. We loved everything!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TJSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Just stayed for one night. As many other reviewers have mentioned the sloths are a unique and wonderful addition. No air conditioning but it is really not needed. Easy access and close to town but away from any noise. Would give it a 5 except that we had no hot water that night. It probably would have been fixed but we did not notice it until after the hosts had gone to sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k2rbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This isn't really a hotel per se, but rather a home owned by an older expat couple with a duplex guest house in the garden and a flat in the main structure. What that entails is that the services provided are more in line with hostels than hotels.

The good:

- Fantastic location. Turn right and walk a kilometre, you're at the supermarket. 200m and you're at one chino, 200m the other way and you're at the other. You're five minutes outside of town by foot and maybe 45 minutes from either opposing ends of the valley.

- Very nice hosts. They're pretty reserved and not ones to chat often, but they were always very polite and friendly.

- Free coffee and tea in the mornings delivered to your room. Right now I'm doing coffee in the gazebo hammock with a small stream behind me and a view of the mountains in front surrounded by hummingbirds. For this alone I'd stay here again.

- It's a really high quality, if simple, room. The guest room as of April 2014 is $240/w ($220 starting in May, rainy season). You get two comfortable beds, one queen and one double, with warm blankets and soft pillows. The shower has pressure to it and runs all the way up to scorching, a much needed luxury in Panama considering that most showers here are weak and cold. It's clean, it lights well, it's got great surroundings, and unless you're looking for chocolates on your pillow it has everything you need including a minifridge with $1 national beers.

- They have animals. Chickens, a black lab who instantly loves everyone he meets, two sloths but they only really come out for a couple hours a day in the afternoon so I've not personally seen them after the first day. The garden is full of birds, frogs, and plants though those aren't animals.

- The power is steady. This was an issue in other small Panamanian towns. It didn't go out once here, though the bathroom light tends to waver sometimes.

The bad:

- The internet is wonky. It only extends to the guest rooms about 20% of the time and even then is really weak. In the gazebo and the watch tower you can generally get a steady connection and download at 100-500kb/s, but you probably won't be surfing in bed.

- The chickens are right across from the guest rooms and they like to announce this. I didn't wake up at 6AM by choice, but because roosters are sadists.

- There isn't on-site laundry. The laundromat is about 200m to your right as you exit and costs 75 cents to wash and $1 to dry. If you're staying for a weekend it's no big deal, but after a week you start to wish pillow cases/sheets/towels were washed. Again it's a house rather than a hotel.

- The kitchen is locked down in the main structure. Any request for utensils I had was filled immediately, but it's not a public kitchen as far as I know. El Valle is a retreat for wealthy Panamanians and you'll struggle to feed two for under $15-20. That's not much at first glance, but you're paying that at every meal.

- You're in a garden and there are bugs. Not a lot and it was never an issue for me, but my girlfriend doesn't like bugs so she had some stressful nights.

- The noise level gets trying sometimes. It's right on the main road and Panamanians like to awaken early. From about 6AM to midnight you'll have traffic, fruit vendors announcing their truckloads over megaphone, insect and bird noise, lawn mowing, etc etc. There aren't any other options in the same price range for places away from this noise as far as I know.

All in all, I'd highly recommend this place and fully intend to stay here again if I come back to Panama. It works out to the price of a cheap motel in the US or Europe, but not once did it feel cheap or artificial. It's a genuinely great option.

Room Tip: The garden guest room closest to the main structure might have more reliable wifi access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank binkohorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We had no expectation but were delightfully surprised at the warm welcome, lovely accommodations. Ursula and Harry are in constant service without being intrusive. A really memorable surprise was the delicious breakfast awaiting us in the little gazebo covered in flowering vines. Our hosts rescued baby Sloths and allowed us to hold one. I immediately sent that picture off to the kids! I know they will want to come with us next trip to El Valle and of course, we will come back again and again.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any "bad" rooms, event the one we had near the highway was lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheRevs02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Valle de Anton hotels
0.6 mi away
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Ho...
#1 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
431 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
#5 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
58 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Residencial El Valle
Hotel Residencial El Valle
#3 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Campestre
Hotel Campestre
#2 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
123 reviews
9.5 mi away
Cabanas los Colibris
Cabanas los Colibris
#2 of 15 in El Valle de Anton
125 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Golden Frog Inn
The Golden Frog Inn
#1 of 15 in El Valle de Anton
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mariposa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mariposa

Address: Calle Principal | 200 mts despues de mini super Hong Kong, a mano Izquierda, El Valle de Anton 1001, Panama
Location: Panama > Cocle Province > El Valle de Anton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in El Valle de Anton
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Mariposa is a guesthouse in the center of el Valle de Anton with an apartment and two guestrooms for rent. The huge terrace offers a wonderful view of the mountains, like the India Dormida,, Caraiguana and the Gaital. The unique tropical garden invites you to relax and enjoy bird watching. Parking and Wifi are included. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Mariposa Panama/El Valle De Anton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing