We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Rincon Vallero
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I would not recommend the hotel, and I would not stay at it again. The lovely garden and the striking landscape are misleading to what is to come; dirty room, old beads that smell of the generations that used them, the rooms stink from over use of detergents, yet the dirt and neglect is everywhere. Electricity was out on a regular base, no hot water, which was maybe OK, yet there were also periods with no water at all. The promised game room – was broken old tables that could not be used. We still had some hope for the food, yet, we had to leave it on the plate, untouched; great disappointment. What a waste of the local products.

Room Tip: Take another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aharon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 54 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is not your typical American hotel. For a hotel in the Panamanian country side it is very nice. Family friendly with caged birds, rabbits, chickens and even a goat. We stayed in number 1 which was a suite. Very cool bathroom which was all made out of stone. The shower felt like you we're bathing outside. Had a separate living room area with a mini bar. Didn't really use it since we spent most of our time outside in the garden and pool area. Staff is very accommodating and friendly and food was also very good. Out of all the hotels in El Valle, this was the nicest one.

Room Tip: If you want quiet ask for a room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is without a doubt one of the worst hotels I have stayed in! It looks like a gaily painted single story prison block. The staff are useless. There is no bar. Service stops at 2100. You cannot check out before 0900. Oh and the place is over run by a menagerie of animals and birds. The latter, cr+p al over the grounds so you walk it into your room!
It gets better. The roofs of the individual 'cells' are in true Tenko fashion, made of corrugated tin. This is waterproof, which is handy for a roof, but acts like a drum for every falling object and flora rubbing against it.
So with the rain (yes it rains here in the summer) and the force 6 gale (yup, apparently its always windy) the tin roof was kept busy throughout the night,
Now we come to the bluddi cockerel that kicked off at 0430 and was still going at 0730 when we checked out having not slept a wink!
Oh and to top it all it cost $90 a night!!!!
treat yourself. Stay somewhere else!

Room Tip: pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

my wife and i spent two nights in this nice family type hotel in el valle.
No, this is not a Marriot or Hilton, but there you will not find yourselves in the middle of nature, and yes there might be a spider and a cockroach in nature now and again. The diners were brilliant, breakfast more than sufficient and a room for 70 $ a night Breakfast included, with a small pool and a sauna ( OK it will not go up to 90 degrees). This is a place where you should and deffinately can enjoy life. Go exploring the region from here and get aquainted to the staff, they are extremely nice and helpfull.

Room Tip: we had room no 2 have not seen others but this was more than OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josenjannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We visited El Valle de Anton in december 2012 and stayed for two nights at Hotel Rincon Vallero. During our vacation in Panama we stayed at eight different accomodations and this was the worst one.

Our room (no. 7) was large and dark. We didn't think the bathroom was very clean. Just outside our bathroom window there was a nest of cockroaches (!). Although there was a partition sometimes the cockroaches fell into the bathroom shower area through a hole in the partition. It totally freaked us out. It was really scary catching them to throw them outside (although they tried to come back through the large gap underneath the outside door). Further we had a centipede in the room, it came from under the bed. We understand that sometimes it's hard to keep the 'wildlife' out but at least provide a mosquito net...

There is a large garden but this is not suitable for people who feel sorry for captured animals (like us). There's a small swimming pool and there are some chairs and tables where you can relax.

The restaurant looks nice. The food is allright, service is slow and after you have been seated it can take some time before they've noticed you're there. Breakfast is good and the lady serving it is very nice. There is wifi available in the restaurant area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pepper1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We are Panamanians, and we love to travel around our country with our two toddlers. We take a one-day trip to El Valle at least once every year, go to the zoo, to the Sunday Market, etc.. but wanted to do more things with our girls, such as spend time in the pool, explore, etc... Their website pics are very convincing and we liked the idea of a comfy little hotel, with a kiddy pool, petting zoo, and outdoor playsets for kids.

Honestly, this was our WORST family trip so far. Our room was moldy, dirty, dusty. The website advertise things you will not find in your room, as it says. NO DVD player (thank God my husband thought in advance and brought a DVD player with movies), NO WI-FI, NO PHONE, NO FIRE ALARM (maybe it was hidden behind one of the spider webs in our room), NO MINI BAR. The window screens were so dusty and dirty that we couldn't open the windows to enjoy the night breeze. One of my girls sat on the floor to play, but thank God again I put a towel and sat her on it, because in the morning we found a huge ROACH right next to her toys!! EW!). Cracked walls. Don't expect too much of the fresh flowers and the basket with amenities. I couldn't sleep because of the moldy smell and my girls and husband coughed all night!
It was rainy so the girls couldn't use the kiddy outdoor sets or pool (they are OK, nothing fancy, the pool seemed clean, the play sets were not). They enjoyed looking at the bunnies, ducks and goat. This is a cute hotel, with no maintenance.
We checked-out before breakfast, and surprisingly enough, our check out was not a surprise to the lady in charge, who was very nice. We gave no reason, but she was apologetic.

OF COURSE WE WILL GO BACK TO EL VALLE, BUT NOT TO THIS HOTEL.

Our Hotel – Restaurant is exclusive, with rooms Mini – Standard, Standard, Jr. Suite and Suite. All properly equipped:
Different decoration in each room. ***WE GOT THE UGLY DUSTY ROOM***
Amenities baskets and fresh flowers. ***SHAMPOO AND CONDITIONER IN MEDICINE PLASTIC JARS, WITH NO PROPER LABELS***
Air conditioning. ***SMELLY***
Hot water.
Phone. ***NOT***
T.V.
DVD ***NOT***
Mini Bar. ***NOT***
In room personal safe. ***NOT***
Fire alarm. ***NOT***
What distinguishes us as the Best Hotel in the Region. ***NOT***

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivillare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Very nice, off the beaten track. We keep going back to El Valle, its Panama's own Brigadoon. This is Central America however. If you want upper end amenities go to NYC or Vegas. We prefer independent travel, going local and leaving a small footprint. Better lodging can be found in the mega developments on the beaches though one can then expect impersonal service, multiples in price and loud throbbing music - all the very long day.
We took two rooms right in the veranda area of the dining area with its several water features. The rooms were spacious and A/C. Our room was a bit dark, not well lit in particular. One of the two beds didn't sleep well. The other did however. Water pressure wasn't fantastic but more than adequate. We preferred sitting out in the veranda with its lush green foliage, hummingbirds, toads (after dark), lizards, turttles and goldfish in the pools.....enjoyed a few thunderstorms etc. The rooms were clean and staff helpful and courteous.
The restaurant had decent food and complimentary breakfast was grand.
From what so many U.S. independent hostelry have become in recent years this place is a garden.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TxAkWyWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Valle de Anton hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Campestre
Hotel Campestre
#2 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
121 reviews
1.0 mi away
Anton Valley Hotel
Anton Valley Hotel
#4 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
274 reviews
1.1 mi away
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Ho...
#1 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
#5 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
55 reviews
9.1 mi away
Cabanas los Colibris
Cabanas los Colibris
#2 of 15 in El Valle de Anton
124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Puerta del Sol
Puerta del Sol
#4 of 15 in El Valle de Anton
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rincon Vallero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rincon Vallero

Address: Espave Street, El Valle de Anton 1001, Panama
Location: Panama > Cocle Province > El Valle de Anton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in El Valle de Anton
Price Range: $84 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rincon Vallero 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Rincon Vallero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rincon Vallero Panama/El Valle De Anton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing