We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful trail hiking, great photography opportunities. Bring sunscreen and extra water.”

Gaital National Park
Attraction details
Boquete, Panama
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful trail hiking, great photography opportunities. Bring sunscreen and extra water.”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Be prepared to be rained on regardless of how clear the sky is when you start. The weather can change very quickly.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    17
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pleasant walk.”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Took a taxi to the start of the trail for 5 dollars and walked the short forest trail. Not difficult, and a nice view from the mirador. Takes about an hour, then you can hike back to town in about an hour and a half with birdwatching en route. The pool near el macho is a nice place to stop for dip.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank RiceandCurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very lush rainforest hike”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Yes, it is a challenge walking down the right side of the trail, but I don't know if it would be so much easier to hike up the right and down the left; watch for the lookout at the top - the signage is a bit hard to spot and the trail to the lookout is overgrown. We walked up the road from El Chorro Macho through the little villages and that was quite charming (if not a bit of a long walk!).

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Take the trail by El Macho”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We didn't know about the entrance by El Macho unfortunately and started on the trail behind the Los Mandarinos. After about 10 minutes, it was so overgrown that we decided to turn back. It was really beautiful, and we were very disappointed, but we went to the "La Piedra Pintada trail and hiked up to the La India Dormida (Sleeping Indian Girl). It was well worth it and we really enjoyed the cliffs, waterfalls and views. If you do the hike I would recommend starting past El Macho which is very well marked with road signs as you pass through town.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Do it! (But do it backwards)”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

The hike should be done the opposite way of what the map on the ANAM hut suggests. It would be awful to descend the step step/rock combo that is all wet. Even though when we go to the top it was cloud covered and we could not see both coasts it was a great hike. Drive past El Macho falls and past the chicken farm, staying to the right. Once you reach the ANAM house, there may be someone there to pay a couple of bucks to or not. Park your car, then go in through the gate/fence. Walk until you see the arrow pointing "left" but really head right! (we had turned earlier when we saw the trail seems to split but this trail quickly ended so we turned back until we saw the arrow)

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaital National Park also viewed

El Valle de Anton, Cocle Province
El Valle de Anton, Cocle Province
 
El Valle de Anton, Cocle Province
El Valle de Anton, Cocle Province
 

Been to Gaital National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing