We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location”
Review of Cabanas Potosi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Valle de Anton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabanas Potosi
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Cabanas Potosi is a special location and in a beautiful setting. It is not in downtown El Valle which is a plus. The cabanas are basic but very nice and a terrific value. Plus the conversations with Dennis and Mireya are worth the trip. You can view their birds with a coffee in the morning and ask Mireya for help with your spanish.

Room Tip: Number 1 is closer to morning coffee but they appear to be pretty equal. They are all quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarryMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 78 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

Dennis and Mereya were wonderful hosts and interesting people. The cottages are about a mile out of town and they offered to drive us on several occasions. It was also a pleasant walk or a $2-3 cab ride so being a little off the beaten track was no problem. The unit was spotless and the grounds are beautiful with acres of flowers and birds. Lots of hammocks and outdoor seating. We bought fruit, juice and cereal to supplement the coffee for breakfast and ate our other meals in town.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnandaleTravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Cabanas Potosi is just a short distance outside of the town and as a result is peaceful and with beautiful gardens and birds. Very welcoming host and hostess, (Mireya's brother Mario is a super birder so if he's available and if you are interested in birds then I strongly recommend that you spend a morning with him). The cabin itself is spacious with fridge, private bath, lovely places outside to sit and enjoy the garden. Lots of restaurants are a 15 minute walk away and some great hiking trails are nearby (La India Dormida is a strenuous 3-4 hour hike that you can do from Potosi).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinVictoriaBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We chose to stay here as it was a little out of town and hopefully quiet. It is 15 minutes walk from Bruschettas and a pizza restaurant, so no problem in the evenings. They offer coffee in the morning, but not breakfast, which was a bit inconvenient, but you have a fridge and bowls etc so you can buy cereal or yogurt. You can walk to both falls and the India Dormida from here. The garden is very nice, with motmots visiting. Fairly quiet although neighbours dogs bark all night. Denis and Mayella are very friendly. I didn't give 5 stars as our bathroom wasn't cleaned the 4 days we were there, and the fan was too noisy to sleep with, plus the lack of breakfast. We stayed in an en-suite room in the house as the cabins were full.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RiceandCurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We enjoyed staying at Cabanas Potosi. We had a warm welcome and the cabin was spacious, clean and looked nice. The garden was fantastic, really beautiful. We also got a map and a good explanation of the sights we could go to. The hammock is very relaxing. Unfortunately we didn't have good weather, otherwise we definitely would have liked to stay longer!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Erica2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Mireya & Dennis were extremely helpful with answers to many questions. The outside perimeter landscaping is well done and maintained. There is plenty of fruit to pick off the trees and eat daily.. Location is short to walk to town for the enthusiast and far enough so you're not located on the main strip. They provide a map with local restaurants, points of interests and guide to the trails and main attractions. The inside of the cottages are well maintain and attractive. Large enough so you feel comfortable.

Gordon Schroeder

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We had a great time at Cabanas Potosi. Dennis and his wife are very friendly, helpful and fun to talk to. The grounds are beautiful and it shows they take real pride in their place. We would definitely recommend this place to stay. Enjoy the hammock! We were there during a lot of rain and still really enjoyed our experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cb2ocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Valle de Anton hotels
1.7 mi away
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Ho...
#1 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
424 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
Hotel & Restaurante Valle Verde
#5 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
55 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Campestre
Hotel Campestre
#2 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Cabanas los Colibris
Cabanas los Colibris
#2 of 15 in El Valle de Anton
124 reviews
1.2 mi away
Windmill Hostel
Windmill Hostel
#5 of 15 in El Valle de Anton
105 reviews
1.0 mi away
Puerta del Sol
Puerta del Sol
#4 of 15 in El Valle de Anton
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas Potosi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Potosi

Address: Calle Central | Casa #84, El Valle de Anton 1001, Panama
Location: Panama > Cocle Province > El Valle de Anton
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Specialty Lodging in El Valle de Anton
Price Range: $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabanas Potosi is located in the second largest shield volcanic crater in the world. The cabins are family owned and offers bird guided tours with one of Panama's best bird guides, Mario Bernal. The valley sits at 3,000 (1,000 Meters) above sea level and is the home of over 300 species of birds plus migratory birds during October and March. Many family owned restaurants are located with walking distance of the cabins. You can get to El Valle by traveling by bus on the Pan-American Highway from Panama City, Panama. The trip takes about two hours of which the last 18 miles (30 Kilometers) offers beautiful view of the mountains and the Pacific Ocean. Come and visit us soon and wake up to a symphony of birds every morning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabanas Potosi Hotel El Valle De Anton
Cabanas Potosi Panama/El Valle De Anton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing