We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
El Valle de Anton
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveler rating
42
23
12
8
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
42
23
12
8
7
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 92 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2014

El Valle is filled with weekend homes for Panama City's old money elite. This home (which supposedly used to be in pretty tough shape) has recently been remodeled as a luxury boutique hotel with about ten rooms. Rooms are somewhat small but have high quality beds and linens. The bathroom however is quite spacious with a walk-in shower with two shower heads. Very quiet - have both fans or AC depending upon your mood.

However the reason to stay are the grounds...beautiful pool, small brook and fish ponds, enormous old trees (quite shady) and many plantings. We saw many birds including a large rail, many hummers and the resident tropical screech-owl.

They have a special promotion during the week which makes it a steal if you stay for two or three days.

Room tip: All rooms are similar and quite nice.
Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NatureEnthusiast7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Best:
- The "Pilón" room is modern, design and clean with a big bed.
- Huge bathroom and shower.
- They put lovely flowers in the room when we came back from a walk.
- The flatscreen TV with cable channels has a USB plug so we could see our own TV series brought from our home country on a USB drive.
- The staff was very nice and helpful.
- Freshly cooked little breads for breakfast are delicious.
- You can have dinner there if you let them know early afternoon. We were served a delicious entrance salad made of vegetables from the hotel's vegetable garden.
- My girlfriend has a food allergy and the staff was very attentive to this.
- Remote location, in the middle of the nature, quiet, lovely to use the hot garden jaccuzzi then the cold swimming pool, the hammac, the outdoor beds.
- Garden with exotic plants: Cannella, encens, pineapple, etc...
- There is a beautiful enormous tree and a Japanese garden with lotus flowers.
- Lovely fish ponds.
- Nice relaxing hotel to spend 1-3 days stopover on a roadtrip from Panama City.

Could be improved:
- We ordered 2 meat main courses for dinner and we were served a meat and a fish. The fish was delicious and it was not a big deal.
- the room window on the outside was without translucid curtain so we had to close the window shutter at all time to keep our privacy.
- There is no minibar in the room, it could be useful to dry cool water or soda during the night.
- indicate better how to reach the hotel from the main road (the signs are not easy to spot and the color is a bit gone with the sun). Maybe give GPS coordinates on the webpage.
- update the photos of their website http://www.crater-valley.com/, it misguidingly shows the old ugly design of the rooms instead of the beautifuly refurbushed rooms.

To visit in the village:
- The Nispero Zoo (although animals look sad in very small cages).
- The painted rocks (2 sculpted rocks, 3 small waterfalls and a walk in the forest).
- The Macho waterfall (less impressive in summer with a few water).
- The square three and a walk in the forest (the crickets are making amazing noises).

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank El_Fred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

When we lived in Panama, Crater Valley was our favorite escape away from a bustling everyday llife in Panama City. The children loved the swimmingpool and the garden and as parents we could fully relax and enjoy tranquility and nature while simoultansely keep an eye on the children. We especially appreciated management who was always service oriented, friendly, attentative and lovely. I went back on a short visit last Saturday and to my happiness I found that management was still there, as engaged as always, but the remodeling has made this already lovely place even more beautiful! If you have the chance, take the opportunity to spend a few days in heaven at Crater Valley.

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotta409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This was my second visit to Crater Valley and the weekend was better then the first time. The entire property felt as though it was ours. I enjoyed walking through the exquisitely manicured gardens which have many hidden nooks to read, watch the birds, discover the many varieties of orchards nestled in the trees or just sit and meditate.
The pool with it's beautiful nautical blue hanging hammocks are the perfect place to take an afternoon siesta.
The oversize rooms were recently re-modeled, beautifully decorated and divine. Loved the lush bedding.
In the morning we hiked to see the square trees in the nearby forest. Did not need to use a car.
It was a treat having a massage in the garden palapa.
I look forward to my next trip back to Panama and will definitely go back.
Thank you to the great staff.

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mskimnovak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

What a unique and beautiful gem of a resort!
We could tour the amazing grounds and hear nature all around us, then retreat to our room with a warm shower, luxurious sheets and snuggle up and listen to the thunderstorm!
We had great massages in the open palapa over- looking the pond ...listening to the frogs, birds and gently running water... No lame new age music here.. It was the real thing!
We found the service very gracious and not overbearing.
crater valley is the epitomy of boutique ....authentic to the area while providing enough luxury to make it really special.
Ps...make sure to visit the local market for crafts and take an ATV ride!

Date of stay: August 2013
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 721anika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews