We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome private bungalows at a reasonable rate.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Disfrutalo Ranchos y Villas
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome private bungalows at a reasonable rate.”
Reviewed May 21, 2009

We stayed here for week in April 2009. We had originally booked only 3 nights, but after staying there the first 2, decided to just stay here for the rest of our trip. The owners Marco and Paula are incredibly friendly (and chill) and were quick to accommodate all of our questions and requests. About a 3 min walk to the beach, great location in central Santa Teresa.

Having a kitchen was also a big plus, as we went to the grocery store just down the street and cooked a few meals, saving us a decent amount of money (food is not cheap in Santa Teresa).

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mellowsurferdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    14
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
4
39
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2008

We recently returned home from a 5 night stay to Disfrutalo Ranchos y Villas. We had an amazing holiday. I picked Disfrutalo based on their website and the reviews on tripadvisor...the one negative review this place received is quite odd to me, when we were there we stayed in two different villas that both had a/c and there were other ranchos available to stay in without. The ranchos looked more beautiful, but choose the villas for the a/c. Marco and his girlfriend were very helpful. They were awake we when arrived very very late from a long bus ride from San Jose and welcomed us kindly. They also helped us find places to eat and rent bikes and with the returning bus schedule. If you are looking to stay in a beautiful location with gracious hosts, Disfrutalo is the best place for your money in Santa Teresa. It seems like a lot of hotels in this area have raised their prices, but Disfrutalo kept very good rates. It was cheaper for the 4 of us to stay here than the hostels in the area. And we had a full kitchen and private bathroom. We loved Disfrutalo!!!

  • Liked — location to beach and surfing
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greatlakesb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2008

This place is a gem in santa teresa.
brand new teak loft style dwellings ideal for 2 people. Super safe. great kitchen, lots of beautiful flora and animals to watch while you hang out.
EXCELLENT value for the dollar!
The owner marco is from italy and built the teak ranchos himself- he is very nice.. and continues to build the place up and add a swimming pool. He is on hand for whatever you need.

Costa rica is roughing it, but the ranchos make you feel right at home, and it was EXACTLY like the pictures. If you need more space, try a villa!

  • Liked — the safe location
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muffytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2008

I lived in CR for a year a couple of years ago and my girlfirend is a tica so we were under no false pretensions when we booked a 10 night stay at a 'cheap' beach side hotel in Santa Theresa, we checked the web for nice looking hotels and came across disfrutalo, which looks and sounds really nice from the website. We booked the only room with A/C for 10 nights 3 months ago, when at the time the hotel had no bookings. So we arrive just before sunset after a long drive from San Jose and there is no-one to be found, we go off to the beach and return about an hour later and still no-one. So we have a little look around and find only 3 of the rooms exist, 1 other in construction and 2 are still rainforest. We are starting to have 2nd thoughts at this stage, but being familiar with costa rica only a little surprised. So as it's now dark we go looking for somewhere to stay and find three really nice places that offer the same facilities at similar cost. So returning one last time to Disfrutalo we find the owners girlfriend who is in charge, an italian girl who explains to us that the villa with a/c that we booked is no longer available to us. But she explains that the other room is and that the a/c room is going to be ready the next day. Well we had had enough by that stage and told her we would stay elsewhere, you get three chances in a hotel and they had used them all up in the first 2 hours!!!
May I recommend a couple of places, Essencia [--] although avoid villa no 1 as the nightclub across the road is noisy some nights, and Griss [--] both places are really similar in price to disfrutalo but are so much nicer.

  • Liked — leaving
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Creative-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2008

We have just returned from a month long honeymoon in Santa Teresa, Costa Rica, and by far our favorite accomodation of the trip was our 10 days/nights at Disfrutalo Resort. We stayed in the 1 bedroom Rancho Delfin, and from our first minute there we felt so at home and relaxed. The pictures on the website hardly do it justice: the ranchos are quite large for 2 people, with great outdoor space for quality hammock time, and being surrounded by lovely palms on all sides it felt very intimate and private. The rates are very cheap for what you get (though no AC if that's an issue for you), and each of the buildings has a full kitchen, bathroom, and outdoor shower.

The location is quite central within S.T., with beach access just 50 meters up the road, and a great surf break a 7 minute walk up the beach. One minute's walk either way on the road and you'll find two great restaurants: Brisas Del Mar, and Tabacon. If you get a chance to stay here, splurge for at least one dinner at Brisas Del Mar (appx. 6,000 Colones or $12 per dish), and if you're lucky they'll have some fresh Loro (the best fish we've ever eaten).

Marco, the owner, is very helpful and easy-going, and was one of the coolest people we met on our entire trip. He helped to make our stay really smooth and memorable, and we will definitely be staying at Disfrutalo again.

For comfort, convenience, and value, we give Disfrutalo a 10 out of 10.

  • Liked — Privacy, garden setting, and location.
  • Disliked — No AC.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank observesensation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.0 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Esencia Hotel & Villas
#22 of 26 in Santa Teresa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.0 mi away
Principe del Pacifico
Principe del Pacifico
#13 of 33 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Selina Santa Teresa
Selina Santa Teresa
#12 of 65 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pacifica Surf Studios
Pacifica Surf Studios
#23 of 33 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ranchos Itauna
Ranchos Itauna
#14 of 33 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disfrutalo Ranchos y Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disfrutalo Ranchos y Villas

Property: Disfrutalo Ranchos y Villas
Address: Metri sur de la Plaza de Deporte 150, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Disfrutalo Ranchos y Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disfrutalo Resort is located 100 meters from the beach in Santa Teresa.We offer air-conditioned houses (villas) and homes without air conditioning (Ranchos) from 2013 also opened a hostel with 11 beds.All our units are safe, wifi, equipped kitchen and hot water.Since 2012 we offer poolWe work every day to provide a high level of attention to our guests so that you passing a perfect holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Disfrutalo Ranchos y Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disfrutalo Ranchos y Villas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing