We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa MarBella
Nearby Hotels
$900
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tropico Latino(Santa Teresa)
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Santa Teresa(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
$86
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Buenos Aires(Santa Teresa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manala Hotel(Santa Teresa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (559)
Filter reviews
559 results
Traveler rating
519
31
6
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
519
31
6
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolyoga deckhonor barcosta ricabeautiful hotelthree bedroombeautiful ocean viewshort walk down the hillsurf lessonsprivate balconythe main roadyoga retreatdelicious coffeewonderful hostsmal paisour honeymoonboutique hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
451 - 456 of 559 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2010

To finally arrive at Casa Marbella after a long flight was heaven in itself but we had yet to know how great it really was. We spent two weeks in the hotel and used it as our base of operation for ziplining, sailing, snorkeling, fishing, 4-wheeling, and just playing on the beach! Many thanks to Jim & Stephanie for helping us every step of the way to having the vacation of our lives! Everything from having our ATV delivered to helping us find the best dining Santa Teresa has to offer (which is a lot!) was all graciously provided. The rooms are clean and cozy, the decks offer breathtaking views of the Pacific from above the jungle canopy, and we can't forget the awesome infinity pool! Melissa and I fell in love with Costa Rica from Jim and Stephanie's hotel with the romantic view and fabulous sunsets. It will always be a special place for us, especially because I proposed one quiet evening in that pool and watched my girl accept with tears in her eyes. We will be happily married the next time we visit Casa Marbella, and that will be our honeymoon in one year!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnnyinSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2010

Casa MarBella is, hands down, the best place I have ever stayed on vacation. It is not one of those generic sprawling, "five-star-luxury" complexes where you become lost and anonymous along with all the other "guests"; It is a magical, intimate place that exudes charm and grace and a real sense of connection. It is run by a real family (Stephanie, Jim and their daughter Lia) that lives on the premises and makes you feel as if you are part of the family. People talk with each other, become friends--connect. Hazy, the housekeeper, is an absolute gem--always willing to help in any way that she can, always a smile on her face, a genuinely sweet human being. The grounds, the views, the physical appointments are all incredible, but the thing that makes this place is the intangible heart and magic and sense of connection that fills every corner of Casa MarBella. I will be back. And soon I hope.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaeljharrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2010

We loved our time at Casa MarBella! When we arrived and saw was a fantastic view the hotel had and how comfortable to room were and how relaxing and enjoyable the town of Malpais is, we were sorry we didn't have more time to stay! The pool is fantastic and just the thing to beat the heat while still soaking in the sun while admiring the Pacific. Our room was comfortable and had a fun innovative decorative style which added to it. The town of Malpais is a fantastic low-key surfer town. While we don't surf and usually don't really fit in with the "surfer crowd", we were so relaxed that we really enjoyed ourselves in this small, off the beaten path locale. Only caveat to Casa MarBella - in order to have such wonderful views and thus such a great small hotel, they are located up on a hill that requires you have 4-wheel drive or at least a pretty heavy car to get you up the steep gravel/sand road. If we were to return (as we hope to!), we would come by bus from the ferry and just rent an ATV when going anywhere outside town. That being said, parking our car on the road was safe and we weren't very stressed about it considering our surroundings. Highly Recommend Casa MarBella

Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank nyc2world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2010

We have stayed at Casa Marbella twice in the past two years. This is an excellent place for vacationing couples, and the suites would be very appropriate for families. The hotel is located on a hillside, and the view overlooks jungle and the Pacific Ocean. There is a large deck that is great for yoga. We have recommended this hotel to friends, and all reviews have come back very positive. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KyleGandKimB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2009

Casa Marbella is a beautiful hotel. It is small and personal and in a great location. The view overlooking the ocean is breathtaking and their infinity pool is the perfect place to end an evening. The town is friendly, safe and fun. We rented a four-wheeler for the week as our mode of transportation, which is perfect for the area's terrain! Stephanie is great with restaurant suggestions as well as helping to plan day trips. The rooms are well appointed and very comfortable. This is the perfect place to relax, but, be sure to bring books, there's no t.v.!

I will definitely return!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingnurse07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews