We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved It!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa MarBella

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Casa MarBella
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington, D.C.
1 review
“Loved It!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2008

I cannot say enough good things about Casa Marbella and the wonderful hosts Jim and Stephanie. They were extremely helpful in helping to arrange tours and atvs, and were readily available whenever we had questions. The property is gorgeous and convenient to everything you might need. We had the 3 bedroom condo for a week with friends and it was perfect for us. There is a full kitchen so you can cook, and the balcony was wonderful for food and drinks after you spend the day enjoying the beach. We loved it and would highly recommend that anyone take the time to travel to Santa Teresa and explore all it has to offer.
Don't be weirded out by the request to make a deposit for half your stay in cash before you go. The whole town is basically cash only so be prepared and definitely bring your ATM card- there is a cash machine in town.
Also, the food we ate in the restaurants in Santa Teresa was by far the best of our trip. I can't recall the names of all the places, but Cameleon was great.
Thank you Jim and Stephanie, we will definitely be back sometime soon!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MelissaMarieDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    27
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
81
233
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Allenhurst, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2008

The property is beautiful, well maintained, good location. The owners/managers are very warm, friendly and willing to make any arrangements/suggestions to make your stay more enjoyable. We felt very comfortable and decided it was one of our best vacations yet. Our family likes to surf and this was an ideal location. We would certainly return to this property and would highly recommend it for families.

  • Liked — setting, staff, proximity to surfing beach, pool
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sjbNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Area
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Casa Marbella in November 2008 and can't wait to go back! The owners, Stephanie and Jim, were great hosts and gave us recommendations of fun things to do and places to eat. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms for 4 days. The atmosphere is very private, safe and relaxing. The pool and amazing sunset view were just what we needed after long days at the beach. The hotel is in a great location, walking distance to the grocery store, several bars/restaurants and the beach. My husband and I both tried surfing for the first time and appreciated Jim's tips-he gives lessons. Definately try surfing, the canopy zip line-tour and Mary's for mojitos and shrimp pizza. Thanks for the memorable stay!

  • Liked — beautiful ocean views, location to beach, adventurous things to do
  • Disliked — rough road conditions (SUV was great), steep rocky driveway to hotel
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Badgerfan08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fla
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2008

We reacently visited Casa MarBella in Mal pais and wanted to remark on the beauty of this boutique hotel.The property is wonderfully kept with a nice selection of clean,roomy,accomodations.A lovely pool and breathtaking views of the Pacific make Casa MarBella a place you hardly want to leave.When we did feel like some activities,the owners were wonderfully knowledgeable and accomodating in booking excursions for us. Be sure and try the 4 wheelers and canopy tour...Awesome...We'll be back to Casa MarBella very soon.
.

  • Liked — clean, beautiful views , ac and the pool
  • Disliked — walking up the driveway
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cinbadfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2008

We loved our stay at the Casa Marbella! This is a newer property that could be charging a lot more. It is kept very clean and has various amenities like the beautiful ocean view infinity pool, comfortable beds, air conditioners in each room, kitchenettes and safes. Rooms are very spacious with private ocean view balconies, hammocks, and chairs. We loved the sound of the ocean at night. The hotel sets on the side of the mountain about 100 meters from the main road. The grocery store is down on the corner along with some great open air restaurants. The owners were great hosts and helped us book our 4-wheelers and horses. We rode horses on the beach, did some snorkeling, went over to Montezuma on 4-wheelers, stopping in little towns to eat and shop. Mal Pais also has some great places to shop for souvenirs, jewelry, clothes etc…

  • Liked — Very clean, beautiful, scenic, great location, excellent hosts.
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank luvbeachmtns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2008

My husband and I recently brought our 2 year old with us to Mal Pais for a 9 day vacation. This was our second visit to Mal Pais, but our first with a toddler! Casa Marbella is a BEAUTIFUL hotel with breathtaking views of the ocean. It is located close to Ronny's supermarket and several wonderful restaurants. Follow the steps from the parking lot up to Buenos Aires for wonderful food....we ate there twice!

We stayed in the luxury condo which is huge! On the first floor there is a huge patio with a table that easily seats 6 and a hammock. Inside there is more seating and a huge kitchen. There are two bedrooms downstairs and a bathroom and another bedroom upstairs. If you are traveling with another family or friends the condo is ideal.

The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable and the hotel is quiet. The owners, Jim and Stephanie, live at the hotel and are super nice and helpful. Stephanie booked massages for my husband and I, gave us directions to the waterfall in Montezuma, rented a 4-wheeler for us and helped us plan our trip to Tortuga.

Casa Marbella is a beautiful hotel. We won't stay anywhere else when we come back to Mal Pais!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Having to go home
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3shindolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2008

A great spot! This was our second time to MalPais, and we were not disappointed by Casa MarBella. It is a beautiful hotel, and a great central location. Just a short walk down the drive (which is really steep!!! If you're driving up there, don't be afraid. Just gun it!) to the Super Ronny (the local market), restaurants, and most importantly the beach.

Their neighbor hotel (a slightly scary climb up some stairs built into a hill) is Buenos Ares, which provided for a great spot to grab a quick and delicious bite - try the empanadas - they are delicious. It was especially perfect because Casa MarBella doesn't have a restaraunt itself.

We stayed for 6 nights during the rainy season (august 2008) in one of the two bedroom suites. The room was very comfortable and clean. It had a very comfy, firm king bed in main room, queen in second room, small kitchen (two burners, fridge, very limited cooking utensils) and a table. It had a nice, clean bathroom, a terrific balcony with a hammock, and a very nice ocean view. The trip to Mal Pais / Santa Teresa is extremely bumpy (supposedly the road is one of the worst in Costa Rica), but that is the price to pay to sneak away to a little slice of paradise.

Stephanie and Jim (the owners) are really nice (a young couple from Florida with a super cute toddler). Take a surf lesson with Jim. He's a great teacher! I had never touched a board before and he had me up on the board in just a few minutes.

The crowd when we were at the hotel was pretty diverse. There was a family with a young boy, some other rooms with youngish couples, and some surfers. Everyone was quiet and respectful and friendly while at the pool/courtyard (very important as the hotel was built around an open courtyard - which could get loud). We made friends with two of the rooms of people, even going on a tour to Isla Tourtuga (a must do) with some of them.

Overall, the place has a great feeling to it. A great place for a little R&R. We were sad to leave, and can't wait to go back to MalPais. When we come back, we definitely plan on staying here again!

  • Liked — the central location, the great (and clean rooms), the price, the pool... i could go on.
  • Disliked — i got nothing...
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlatcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
1.4 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
2.5 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
1.8 mi away
Surf Vista Villas
Surf Vista Villas
#12 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa MarBella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa MarBella

Property: Casa MarBella
Address: 125 meters east and 25 meters north of Super Ronny's, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Teresa
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa MarBella is a boutique hotel situated on a mountain slope in Santa Teresa. The property provides a spectacular panoramic view of the Pacific Ocean and is a five-minute walk to the beach, restaurants, and stores. Being surrounded by rainforest, it offers a unique opportunity to watch wildlife in their natural habitat. The area is renowned for its consistent surf breaks, some of which are walking distance from the property. The Casa consists of eight units with four different typologies of rooms for your different needs and group sizes. It is an ideal venue for those seeking the privacy, services, and comforts of individual hotel rooms, yet the intimacy of a private villa. The décor of the rooms is a minimalist approach with a tropical touch. The amenities of the hotel include free parking area, Wi-Fi in the common areas, infinity pool, ocean view yoga deck, sun terrace, and reception. All of the rooms have ocean view and air conditioning. Services we provide include house keeping, massage, babysitting, and concierge where we can schedule an array of activities for no extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Casa MarBella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marbella Santa Teresa
Casa Marbella Hotel Santa Teresa
Casa MarBella Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing