We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“STUNNING and feels like home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa MarBella

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa MarBella
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“STUNNING and feels like home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

This place is amazing! I wish we had found it earlier! The staff is super friendly and helpful, the hotel is gorgeous, clean, and has an amazing view of the beach in the distance. It is a small walk down the hill to great restaurants and the grocery store. We had a gorgeous evening making dinner in our Santa Teresa home, did yoga on their yoga deck, and lounged in the pool! Definitely go here over any other places near it!

Room Tip: They are all gorgeous! If you have 6 people then room 8 is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HickokPhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    25
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
70
205
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

I took my wife, three children, and my parents to Costa Rica for the first time this summer. My wife and I have enjoyed the country many times but this was the first time for the kids and my parents. We stayed in the 3 bedroom villa and my parents in the two bedroom below. It was perfect accommodations for all of us. Clean, AC, Spacious, Unbelievable and Breathtaking views. The friendly hotel staff did a great job helping us feel welcome providing us with all the great outdoor activities. We stayed active enjoying all the great outdoor activities during the day while coming back to the hotel to enjoy the pool and the beautiful sunsets. There is a fun and consistent beach break within walking distance that we took advantage of each morning for the surfers while the others enjoyed beach combing or yoga on the yoga deck. Our best day was making the trip to Montezuma to hike to the waterfalls and enjoying lunch on the water. Great fun for the whole family. There is one of the best restaurants in the area just steps from the hotel with the best view. We highly recommend this hotel for a family vacation, surf trip, yoga trip, or just a relaxing vacation to shampoo your mind. It has something to offer for everybody! Make sure you rent a quad for at least a day to see the area. Great adventure!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great just depends on what size you need
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mforness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

I spent four nights at Casa Marbella in July 2014. Great property. Views from pool and yoga deck were fantastic. Room was large and clean. Staff were excellent. I am a beginner surfer and took lessons from Mikey each day. He picked different beaches and switched up times to take advantage of best conditions for me. Very centrally located as I did not have a car or rent a quad and was able to get everywhere I wanted to be on foot or renting bicycle from the surf shop at the bottom of the hill. Overall a great spot.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Casa MarBella is a great little boutique hotel. Like other reviewers have said it's not perfect, but the pros far outweigh the cons in our opinion. It's location and views make it a prime spot. The service is excellent. Mikey and Ameline both helped us with whatever we needed, from surf lessons to excursion ideas and restaurant recommendations. The rooms we're nice and clean. We had a 2 bedroom suite with a kitchen and a nice deck looking out over the ocean. The beds were a little hard, but we found this to be the case for the Marriott we stayed in San Jose as well. One great part about it being small is that you get to know the people who are staying there. We met nice couples from all over the world. I would recommend this hotel and definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The 2BR suites and the large family suites are the best rooms, they have decks with hammocks and lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
222 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

This is a very conveniently located hotel, that's almost a b&b, without any serious reception attendance at all. I would suspect that if there was a problem one day, its system would not be sufficient. Interestingly it seems to function well. You have the small infinity pool and somehow find drinks that you need and although there is no breakfast the coffee is there and at night you have only the night guard available but he does his best to help. The rooms are so close to one another that "soundproofness" is at their mercy - and somehow even that works.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Feyzi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimBubaloni, Owner at Casa MarBella, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
We would like to thank you for choosing Casa MarBella for your stay in Santa Teresa. As you stated, we are not perfect, but then again who is? We are a small boutique hotel specializing in individualized customer attention. Unlike many larger or chain hotels, we do not offer 24 hour reception. Our reception is open from 8AM until 5 or 6 PM, and often times even later. When the reception closes we have a night attendant/guard on the premises until the following morning. Therefore, there are approximately 22 hours in the day where there is someone on site and available to our clients. During your one night stay at Casa MarBella, our staff spoke to you several times to make sure that your needs were being met. There were no complaints mentioned by you, in fact, you seemed happy and content. If there was a problem, which you did not seem to have while you were here, we can assure you that we would do everything in our power to resolve it in as timely a manner possible.

Safe travels,
The Casa MarBella Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
128 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Casa Marbella was absolutely perfect. We stayed in a 2BR suite with a full kitchen, one bathroom and a balcony. It was perfect for our group of 3. The shared pool area is gorgeous. The staff is excellent - we had a clogged drain and they fixed it asap, they were happy to set up a private driver to and from the hotel and they were always ready with recommendations! The location is perfect. You can certainly walk anywhere you need to go, though I would recommend renting a quad for at least a day for the fun of it. We will be back :)

Thank you Jim and Stephanie for creating an excellent spot to relax and enjoy Costa Rica!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eleeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Casa MarBella is walking distance to everything you need, yet still seems secluded and tranquil as it is up on hill over looking the tree canopies and ocean. The place is extremely well taken care of by a staff that is happy to help advise you on everything from good surf breaks to delicious restaurants. You can tell the owners really care about the quality of your experience. The beds are comfy, the rooms are super clean, the hot water is hot and the a/c is cold. Do yourself a favor and treat yourself to a relaxing stay at Casa MarBella.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KindLoveFarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.4 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#5 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#4 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
2.5 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#11 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#9 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.4 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#14 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa MarBella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa MarBella

Property: Casa MarBella
Address: 125 meters east and 25 meters north of Super Ronny's, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Teresa
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa MarBella is a boutique hotel situated on a mountain slope in Santa Teresa. The property provides a spectacular panoramic view of the Pacific Ocean and is a five-minute walk to the beach, restaurants, and stores. Being surrounded by rainforest, it offers a unique opportunity to watch wildlife in their natural habitat. The area is renowned for its consistent surf breaks, some of which are walking distance from the property. The Casa consists of eight units with four different typologies of rooms for your different needs and group sizes. It is an ideal venue for those seeking the privacy, services, and comforts of individual hotel rooms, yet the intimacy of a private villa. The décor of the rooms is a minimalist approach with a tropical touch. The amenities of the hotel include free parking area, Wi-Fi in the common areas, infinity pool, ocean view yoga deck, sun terrace, and reception. All of the rooms have ocean view and air conditioning. Services we provide include house keeping, massage, babysitting, and concierge where we can schedule an array of activities for no extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Casa MarBella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marbella Santa Teresa
Casa Marbella Hotel Santa Teresa
Casa MarBella Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing