We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa MarBella delivers perfection”
Review of Casa MarBella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa MarBella
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Casa MarBella delivers perfection”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

My husband and I just returned from Casa MarBella. We had a fabulous week there, truly not enough time. We are already planning a return.
We flew into San Jose, rented a car, drove to the Puntarenas ferry, then drove 1.5 hours to Santa Teresa. Next time we will fly to Tambor and rent a car there or not. You really do not need a car in Santa Teresa so if you arrange a taxi to Casa MarBella as other reviews have mentioned, I think that is a better strategy.
First, Casa MarBella is an absolutely first tier hotel destination in every category: location, cleanliness, vibe, amenities, staff. We arrived at 8:00 pm after all day of travel and were greeted by Wilfredo, the night staff. He is charming and helpful and always smiling. We could hear the ocean as we got out of our car.
We were in room 2, which was spacious and well planned. The bathroom is shower, sink and toilet all together but also spacious. The rock wall shower was great after a long day of travel.
We awoke our first day to the sight of the ocean and delicious coffee, ready to pour at 5:00 a.m. thanks to Wilfredo. Coffee and the ocean belong together. They surfers in our group walked to the ocean and had a great session; the ladies walked the beach (which is beautiful...walk north for a stunning white sand beach) or did yoga on the fantastic elevated yoga pavilion. We enjoyed great breakfasts at the neighbor restaurant, Brisas del Mar. Great french press coffee, eggs, fruit, everything. Dinner is also fantastic, get the seafood grill and I am still thinking about the sangria.
You can easily walk to other great restaurants -try the soda at the bottom of the hill for a great local experience, the fantastic Super Ronny market (the cashier will look you right in the eye, smile and say "gracias",) and of course the ocean. I came home with lots of agates and shells. The proprietors were very accommodating and provided lots of helpful tips. I highly recommend Casa MarBella.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are great, it just depends on what you want. There is a king bed, Kitchenette roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovehawaii50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    27
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
89
250
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alajuela
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We were over in Santa Teresa for just a short break but wish we'd stayed longer. This is the end of the road in Costa Rica and a perfect spot for down time and taking it easy. Mal Pais and Santa Teresa are essentially one long dusty beach trail combining fabulous surfing waves with cool innkeepers like Jim and Stephanie and good food. There is no place like it in Costa Rica and a great destination point for a trip.

Jim welcomed us and showed us around. Our "suite" had a couple of bedrooms, bathroom and equipped kitchen - you could easily spend a week of solid down time here with a lovely pool just next to the front door. Everything is hand built with care and attention to detail - just the kind of setup we liked. Spotless and spacious too and everything has a view. Now there are 2 special benefits to staying here off site . . . you are steps to a very nice restaurant and just down the hill is possibly (no actually) the best bakery in Costa Rica (and we have VERY few) with Belgian owners and an Israeli baker.

We do recommend this place and we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alajuelanorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

When we were looking for a place to stay during our recent trip to Costa Rica we were deciding between Montezuma and Santa Teresa. We quickly decided on Santa Teresa because of the proximity to so many awesome beaches, restaurants, and adventure activities. We then decided on staying at Casa Marbella because of it's location within Santa Teresa - it is walking distance to town and the beach. However it is secluded up on the hill slightly, so you feel like you are in your own little world.

We worked with Stephanie to set up a taxi from Tambor, which was about a 45 minute trip. Once we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted by Jim and given a grand tour of the hotel. The hotel is relatively small (8 rooms), but it is beautiful! You can tell Jim and Stephanie made sure the layout and set up was done perfectly. I loved the honor fridge - you can grab water, powerade, soda, beer, or wine any time of the day and simply write down your name and room number to add it to the bill. Definitely check out Brisas del Mar for breakfast AND dinner - next door restaurant.

As soon as we got into our room, we were amazed. We did not expect the amount of space we had. The master room had ample space and a large closet area to unpack. The view from our bedroom was marvelous! The unit was clean, and beautiful. We loved sitting on the hammock enjoying our coffee every morning or reading a book in the afternoons. The front desk staff was very knowledgeable of all the things to do in the area - their favorite places to eat and activities to do. We set up everything through Casa Marbella.

If you love dogs, you will fall in love with Kona. He is Jim and Stephanie's dog that loves laying around the hotel. If he plops down at your feet rub his belly!

I HIGHLY recommend this hotel. We will definitely go back, and when we do we will stay at Casa Marbella again! Thank you to Jim and Stephanie for a great week in Santa Teresa!

Room Tip: It was just my wife and I traveling, but we heard the rooms around the pool area can get a little no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carby17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

We just loved the quiet atmosphere, the view and the spacious rooms. The waves at the nearby beach are awesome and so is the food in the restaurant right next to the hotel (baristas del mar). We will definitely come back....

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jessica_Hannover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Brought our family to Santa Teresa , kids first trip . Been to costa on a budget before and wanted a better experience but still wanted the pura vida feel. Rustic costa town and the hotel is up the hill so we feel safe. The pool and deck over look the town and ocean. Quiet and clean. Pool is a life saver for us with the kids. Already trying to figure out how to come back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kai1211808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

If you are looking for a quiet place with a perfect view in Santa Teresa, stay here! We stayed in one of the suites with a deck that had an amazing view. I would definitely recommend one of those rooms! We loved sitting on the deck and laying in the hammock reading during mornings and sunsets.

The walk to the beach was quick, coming back it is all uphill just a heads up. The restaurant right next door we regretted not doing more than once had an amazing view and was very good!

The pool was perfect and a lot of the time we felt we were the only ones there. The rooms were clean, the kitchens were great if you want to have your own food, and there is a Super Market very close.

The owners were great and so nice! The beaches here are memorable and worth traveling to! I will be recommending this place to all of my friends and family. I hope to return and will definitely stay here!

Room Tip: Pick a Suite or Condo if you want a private deck. We had room 6 and it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Everything is about perfect!!! We had a really warm welcome from a German lady. The owners were away for a family meeting 1 week.

The view is stunning, the bed is huge!

There is a really nice small boutique hotel atmosphere since there are only 8 units. So we had some nice contacts with the other guests!

Waking up, seeing the ocean, jumping in the infinity pool, hugging their cute dog, making you own breakfast in your perfectly equipped kitchen... It is just super!!!

The location is 3 min walk from
The main road with all the bars, shops, atms and restaurants. But because it is up in the hill, it is quiet and clean (dusty roads!)

The large conods thats sleep 6 are amazing!!! 3 good sized bedrooms and 2 bathroom, a huge living with open kitchen and the view from the private terrace....

Look no further, this is where you want to stay!!!!!

We hope to be back one day!!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aap86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
557 reviews
2.5 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
196 reviews
1.4 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
155 reviews
1.4 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#14 of 26 in Santa Teresa
336 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#13 of 26 in Santa Teresa
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa MarBella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa MarBella

Property: Casa MarBella
Address: | 125 meters east and 25 meters north of Super Ronny's, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Teresa
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa MarBella 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa MarBella is a boutique hotel situated on a mountain slope in Santa Teresa. The property provides a spectacular panoramic view of the Pacific Ocean and is a five-minute walk to the beach, restaurants, and stores. Being surrounded by rainforest, it offers a unique opportunity to watch wildlife in their natural habitat. The area is renowned for its consistent surf breaks, some of which are walking distance from the property. The Casa consists of eight units with four different typologies of rooms for your different needs and group sizes. It is an ideal venue for those seeking the privacy, services, and comforts of individual hotel rooms, yet the intimacy of a private villa. The décor of the rooms is a minimalist approach with a tropical touch. The amenities of the hotel include free parking area, Wi-Fi in the common areas, infinity pool, ocean view yoga deck, sun terrace, and reception. All of the rooms have ocean view and air conditioning. Services we provide include house keeping, massage, babysitting, and concierge where we can schedule an array of activities for no extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Casa MarBella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marbella Santa Teresa
Casa Marbella Hotel Santa Teresa
Casa MarBella Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing