We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Just the right spot for your Costa Rican beach break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa MarBella

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa MarBella
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Alajuela
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just the right spot for your Costa Rican beach break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

We were over in Santa Teresa for just a short break but wish we'd stayed longer. This is the end of the road in Costa Rica and a perfect spot for down time and taking it easy. Mal Pais and Santa Teresa are essentially one long dusty beach trail combining fabulous surfing waves with cool innkeepers like Jim and Stephanie and good food. There is no place like it in Costa Rica and a great destination point for a trip.

Jim welcomed us and showed us around. Our "suite" had a couple of bedrooms, bathroom and equipped kitchen - you could easily spend a week of solid down time here with a lovely pool just next to the front door. Everything is hand built with care and attention to detail - just the kind of setup we liked. Spotless and spacious too and everything has a view. Now there are 2 special benefits to staying here off site . . . you are steps to a very nice restaurant and just down the hill is possibly (no actually) the best bakery in Costa Rica (and we have VERY few) with Belgian owners and an Israeli baker.

We do recommend this place and we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alajuelanorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    25
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
70
205
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

When we were looking for a place to stay during our recent trip to Costa Rica we were deciding between Montezuma and Santa Teresa. We quickly decided on Santa Teresa because of the proximity to so many awesome beaches, restaurants, and adventure activities. We then decided on staying at Casa Marbella because of it's location within Santa Teresa - it is walking distance to town and the beach. However it is secluded up on the hill slightly, so you feel like you are in your own little world.

We worked with Stephanie to set up a taxi from Tambor, which was about a 45 minute trip. Once we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted by Jim and given a grand tour of the hotel. The hotel is relatively small (8 rooms), but it is beautiful! You can tell Jim and Stephanie made sure the layout and set up was done perfectly. I loved the honor fridge - you can grab water, powerade, soda, beer, or wine any time of the day and simply write down your name and room number to add it to the bill. Definitely check out Brisas del Mar for breakfast AND dinner - next door restaurant.

As soon as we got into our room, we were amazed. We did not expect the amount of space we had. The master room had ample space and a large closet area to unpack. The view from our bedroom was marvelous! The unit was clean, and beautiful. We loved sitting on the hammock enjoying our coffee every morning or reading a book in the afternoons. The front desk staff was very knowledgeable of all the things to do in the area - their favorite places to eat and activities to do. We set up everything through Casa Marbella.

If you love dogs, you will fall in love with Kona. He is Jim and Stephanie's dog that loves laying around the hotel. If he plops down at your feet rub his belly!

I HIGHLY recommend this hotel. We will definitely go back, and when we do we will stay at Casa Marbella again! Thank you to Jim and Stephanie for a great week in Santa Teresa!

Room Tip: It was just my wife and I traveling, but we heard the rooms around the pool area can get a little no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carby17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

We just loved the quiet atmosphere, the view and the spacious rooms. The waves at the nearby beach are awesome and so is the food in the restaurant right next to the hotel (baristas del mar). We will definitely come back....

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jessica_Hannover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Brought our family to Santa Teresa , kids first trip . Been to costa on a budget before and wanted a better experience but still wanted the pura vida feel. Rustic costa town and the hotel is up the hill so we feel safe. The pool and deck over look the town and ocean. Quiet and clean. Pool is a life saver for us with the kids. Already trying to figure out how to come back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kai1211808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

If you are looking for a quiet place with a perfect view in Santa Teresa, stay here! We stayed in one of the suites with a deck that had an amazing view. I would definitely recommend one of those rooms! We loved sitting on the deck and laying in the hammock reading during mornings and sunsets.

The walk to the beach was quick, coming back it is all uphill just a heads up. The restaurant right next door we regretted not doing more than once had an amazing view and was very good!

The pool was perfect and a lot of the time we felt we were the only ones there. The rooms were clean, the kitchens were great if you want to have your own food, and there is a Super Market very close.

The owners were great and so nice! The beaches here are memorable and worth traveling to! I will be recommending this place to all of my friends and family. I hope to return and will definitely stay here!

Room Tip: Pick a Suite or Condo if you want a private deck. We had room 6 and it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Everything is about perfect!!! We had a really warm welcome from a German lady. The owners were away for a family meeting 1 week.

The view is stunning, the bed is huge!

There is a really nice small boutique hotel atmosphere since there are only 8 units. So we had some nice contacts with the other guests!

Waking up, seeing the ocean, jumping in the infinity pool, hugging their cute dog, making you own breakfast in your perfectly equipped kitchen... It is just super!!!

The location is 3 min walk from
The main road with all the bars, shops, atms and restaurants. But because it is up in the hill, it is quiet and clean (dusty roads!)

The large conods thats sleep 6 are amazing!!! 3 good sized bedrooms and 2 bathroom, a huge living with open kitchen and the view from the private terrace....

Look no further, this is where you want to stay!!!!!

We hope to be back one day!!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aap86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

I almost don't want to write a review, because we want to keep this place to ourselves - but the the owners are such wonderful people that I just want so much success for their dream business.

I don't even know if I have enough words to say how awesome this place is. I booked Casa Marbella for a group of 17 friends, which is quite a lot to handle for a hotel of any size, but Stephanie and Jim were absolutely wonderful and beyond accommodating to us and Casa Marbella truly felt like our own home. If only my every day life could be like our life at Casa MarBella -- We used the yoga room a few times for our own yoga sessions, the hammocks by our rooms were perfect for lazing around in the morning while the early birds went to surf, Jim is the most concise surf instructor ever, their daughter Naia is the raddest kid alive, and the beach is a short walk that even though the walk back was a steep hike, we went several times a day.

Brisas del Mar, the restaurant connected to the hotel serves the most amazing dinners around and is quite convenient for breakfast. We took a cab at night to downtown Santa Teresa to go dancing and had the best time ever. Sunsets from the hotel are absolutely magical. I truly did not want to leave this place.

Thank you Casa MarBella for the most magical time.

Room Tip: BOOK EARLY! Also if you book the condo - the very top room with the twin beds have the best view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmbalcos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.4 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#4 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
2.5 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#11 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#9 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.4 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#14 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa MarBella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa MarBella

Property: Casa MarBella
Address: 125 meters east and 25 meters north of Super Ronny's, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Teresa
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa MarBella is a boutique hotel situated on a mountain slope in Santa Teresa. The property provides a spectacular panoramic view of the Pacific Ocean and is a five-minute walk to the beach, restaurants, and stores. Being surrounded by rainforest, it offers a unique opportunity to watch wildlife in their natural habitat. The area is renowned for its consistent surf breaks, some of which are walking distance from the property. The Casa consists of eight units with four different typologies of rooms for your different needs and group sizes. It is an ideal venue for those seeking the privacy, services, and comforts of individual hotel rooms, yet the intimacy of a private villa. The décor of the rooms is a minimalist approach with a tropical touch. The amenities of the hotel include free parking area, Wi-Fi in the common areas, infinity pool, ocean view yoga deck, sun terrace, and reception. All of the rooms have ocean view and air conditioning. Services we provide include house keeping, massage, babysitting, and concierge where we can schedule an array of activities for no extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Casa MarBella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marbella Santa Teresa
Casa Marbella Hotel Santa Teresa
Casa MarBella Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing