We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a great place to stay!”
Review of Casa MarBella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa MarBella
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 14, 2008

A great spot! This was our second time to MalPais, and we were not disappointed by Casa MarBella. It is a beautiful hotel, and a great central location. Just a short walk down the drive (which is really steep!!! If you're driving up there, don't be afraid. Just gun it!) to the Super Ronny (the local market), restaurants, and most importantly the beach.

Their neighbor hotel (a slightly scary climb up some stairs built into a hill) is Buenos Ares, which provided for a great spot to grab a quick and delicious bite - try the empanadas - they are delicious. It was especially perfect because Casa MarBella doesn't have a restaraunt itself.

We stayed for 6 nights during the rainy season (august 2008) in one of the two bedroom suites. The room was very comfortable and clean. It had a very comfy, firm king bed in main room, queen in second room, small kitchen (two burners, fridge, very limited cooking utensils) and a table. It had a nice, clean bathroom, a terrific balcony with a hammock, and a very nice ocean view. The trip to Mal Pais / Santa Teresa is extremely bumpy (supposedly the road is one of the worst in Costa Rica), but that is the price to pay to sneak away to a little slice of paradise.

Stephanie and Jim (the owners) are really nice (a young couple from Florida with a super cute toddler). Take a surf lesson with Jim. He's a great teacher! I had never touched a board before and he had me up on the board in just a few minutes.

The crowd when we were at the hotel was pretty diverse. There was a family with a young boy, some other rooms with youngish couples, and some surfers. Everyone was quiet and respectful and friendly while at the pool/courtyard (very important as the hotel was built around an open courtyard - which could get loud). We made friends with two of the rooms of people, even going on a tour to Isla Tourtuga (a must do) with some of them.

Overall, the place has a great feeling to it. A great place for a little R&R. We were sad to leave, and can't wait to go back to MalPais. When we come back, we definitely plan on staying here again!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlatcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

465 - 471 of 508 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2008

My daughter and I recently stayed in a 2 bedroom suite for 9 days (we enjoyed it so much we extended our stay). The rooms are tastefully decorated with a kitchen. The highlights were relaxing in the hammock on the deck listening to the ocean. Another favorite was fixing breakfast and eating it poolside overlooking the ocean.

Casa Marbella has the intimacy of a B&B, while feeling like a full service resort. Jim was the best surf instructor I've ever met - he had me stunned at the progress I made on the waves. Stephanie was able to find us fun things to do, amazing restaurants on the beach and take care of every strange request we had (there were a few)

Malpais is was incredible. It's a perfect spot for surfing and enjoying the beach. After spending time in Monteverde and Arenal, I really appreciate the unspoiled nature of Malpais and Santa Teresa. It's not overrun with American tourists. I completely understand it being ranked as one of the top 10 beaches in the world.

I tend to want to try new destinations in future vacations. That said Casa Marbella will be the exception, as I hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank elemond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2008

We recently stayed in the luxury condo at the Casa Marbella, and it was fantastic! My husband and I went with another couple and had a great time, thanks in a large part to Jim and Stephanie, the owners of the hotel. It is a small property that is very personal and lovely, The luxury condo was huge, with a large great room and three bedrooms. We spent a lot of time on the porch, swinging in the hammock and sipping pina coladas and beer and looking out over the incredible view. The condo itself is beautifully decorated and the perfect space to relax in after a fun day spent at the beach or hiking. We also loved the pool, where you can gaze out to the ocean. Jim and Stephanie provided a huge notebook full of excursions and activities in the area and called to book massages and day trips for us, as well as cab rides. They were invaluable in advising us on where to eat and how to get around. I hope that we can go back next year!!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgratz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2008

A lovely 8 (?) room botique hotel. Opened in Nov 07. Very clean, nicely decorated. Great view! Jim and Stephanie live on premises, so pretty much always there and always available.

Also loved the location. It was just off the main road, which gave it a very secluded feeling, but a close walk to beach and town. Jim and Stephanie were great!

We were there in the off season, so we had the pool pretty much all to ourselves.

We'll definitely stay there on our next trip to Mal Pais/Santa Teresa.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2008

I traveled to Mal Pais and came across Casa MarBella. It has an outstanding view of the ocean from the hill while overlooking the infinity pool. Each room is modern and laid back. This place is always kept up and looking A+ with security at night for peice of mind. Very short walk down the hill to the beach. Approx 2-3 mins. The owner, Jim, took care of our every need including surfboard rentals and restaurant recomendations. I was blown away!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank egator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2008

We stayed 10 nights and we enjoyed every minute. The hotel is brand new and has a really cool and chic design (nice detailes), we stayed in a standard room which was enough, altough the rooms on the ends have balconies with hammocks and beatiful ocean view. In the center there is an infinity pool which overlooks the ocean. The view is spectacular, we aslo enjoyed it when coming home late in the evening watching the stars ;-)
Stefanie and Jim, the owners, are more like friends, they help you with everything and we were lucky to be invited twice for dinner. You should rent a quad, go deep sea fishing (you can bring your catch back to the hotel what we did, and Jim grilled our yellow-fin-tuna - fantastic!) or take a surf lesson. By the way, the beach which is just a 5 min walk down from the hotel is one of the nicest I have seen worldwide - you will start to surf, for sure!
ANd there was not only one situation where we felt unsecure!
So we can highly recooment the place. Remeber, it is still an insider- tipp, not a lot of tourismn! For more pictures check out http://lex-worldwide.blogspot.com/

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank vienna_people
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2008

I was referred to Casa Marbella from another hotel in the area that was sold out at that time. I was so impressed with the cleanliness, artistic decor, and high level of comfort and service provided. Stephanie and Jim just opened this hotel and there commitment to their guests is apparent. I was traveling by myself and the intimacy of this beautiful hotel made it easy for me to meet and join other guests for meals and activities if I wished. It is a hotel with 7 different rooms some with kitchens, some with multiple bedrooms. Each room ( because I was curious I looked) has its own personality and charm. All the rooms look onto an infinity pool which overlooks the ocean. The view is spectacular and the atmosphere is tranquil. I also loved floating in the pool at night looking up at the stars. I also recommend hiring Jim to teach you a surfing lesson his confident and calm manner is just what you need when trying to surf. I am not easily impressed but I was so pleased with this experience that I am sharing it!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Fitness1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Teresa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
580 reviews
2.5 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#11 of 27 in Santa Teresa
200 reviews
1.4 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 27 in Santa Teresa
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 27 in Santa Teresa
237 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#12 of 27 in Santa Teresa
293 reviews
10.0 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa MarBella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa MarBella

Address: | 125 meters east and 25 meters north of Super Ronny's, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Teresa
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range: $122 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa MarBella 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa MarBella is a boutique hotel situated on a mountain slope in Santa Teresa. The property provides a spectacular panoramic view of the Pacific Ocean and is a five-minute walk to the beach, restaurants, and stores. Being surrounded by rainforest, it offers a unique opportunity to watch wildlife in their natural habitat. The area is renowned for its consistent surf breaks, some of which are walking distance from the property. The Casa consists of eight units with four different typologies of rooms for your different needs and group sizes. It is an ideal venue for those seeking the privacy, services, and comforts of individual hotel rooms, yet the intimacy of a private villa. The décor of the rooms is a minimalist approach with a tropical touch. The amenities of the hotel include free parking area, Wi-Fi in the common areas, infinity pool, ocean view yoga deck, sun terrace, and reception. All of the rooms have ocean view and air conditioning. Services we provide include house keeping, massage, babysitting, and concierge where we can schedule an array of activities for no extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Casa MarBella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marbella Santa Teresa
Casa Marbella Hotel Santa Teresa
Casa MarBella Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing