We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beyond amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa MarBella

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa MarBella
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Geelong, Australia
1 review
“Beyond amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Alex from Australia. Before we came to santa Teresa we were only going to stay 2 nights as we were pushed for time but we just didn't want to leave so stayed 4 nights and still don't want to leave but it's time. The views from Casa Marbella are stunning. Every time I walked out the door it suprised me at how lovely it is. The pool is gorgeous, we just laid by the pool eveyday. Jim and Stephanie are lovely people and make your stay even better. The rooms are nice, clean and the beds are comfy. Would highly recommend this place to anyone coming to Santa Teresa! Just an all round beautiful place and for such a good price..

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandraB3631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    25
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
68
202
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shepparton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I havent even finished my stay at Casa Marbella but i felt compelled to write a review already. This place is an absolute paradise for any type of person, traveller or holidayer. Firstly, Jim and Stephanie are so friendly and welcoming and give you a thorough overview of the place and the area, providing you with everything you want to/need to know for you stay. As soon as you walk up the small hill to Casa Marbella the view just takes your breath away, along with how beautiful the accomodation and a pool looks. The outdoor areas are clean, modern and decorte beautifully to make you feel that 'paradise' feel at all times. The rooms are clean, comfortable and also beautifully decorated. The bathrooms are lovely also. They provide you with a towel to use for the pool/beach too. We had a room with two beds and no kitchen, but in the wardrobe they still provided a basket full of cups, cutlery, bowls, plates and a teatowel. We are backpackers and this was such a treat to stay in such a paradise. There was also two families staying when we did, with little kids, and it was perfect for them also. Its the type of accomodation that will suit anyone. Thank you Jim and Stephanie for providing us with our own paradise. Sarah

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Casa Marbella is like a home away from home for us. I have stayed there several times now and it just gets better every time. Jim, Stephanie, and the rest of the team are amazingly helpful and we are happy to call them friends. If you are planning on traveling to Costa Rica and will be around the Nicoya Peninsula Casa Marbella needs to be at the top of your list!!! The hotel is immaculate, clean, and very welcoming. This is the perfect home base for exploring the surrounding area or just putting your feet up and relaxing and enjoying the sunset from the infinity edge pool. I cant wait to get back!

Room Tip: If your traveling with friends rent the the 3 bedroom villa. Its simply amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevinsculpture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My first time to Costa Rica. Jim and Stephanie made me feel completely welcome. Their guest are all treated like family. The guests have a shared experience which is wonderful. It was really fun and special.

Room Tip: all the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

After reading all of the reviews for Casa Marbella prior to our visit, I was expecting a wonderful experience, but it was even more fantastic that I could have imagined. We rented the 3 bedroom villa which was worth every penny to have more than 1500 ft of living space that included two large bedrooms with great views of the beach, one medium sized bedroom, 2 full bathrooms, and a large kitchen and living room area. There were only four of us in our party, but the villa could have easily accommodated 6 with plenty of room. However, the best part was the huge terrace with a full sized table that included seating for 6, 2 adirondac chairs, and my favorite - a hammock. It was simply amazing to wake up in the morning with a spectacular view from my bedroom and then to walk to the terrace and watch monkeys and listen to the surf while drinking my coffee - which by the way, they serve the VERY best coffee I have ever had. On a couple of evenings, we ordered take out and sat on our terrace and ate dinner because we really had a better view than most restaurants in Santa Teresa.

The location is perfect as a central point for visiting Mal Pais, Manzanilla, Montezuma. Curu, and Cabuya/Cabo Blanca Reserve. I was afraid my three teenage girls would get bored staying in one location for a week, but we ran out ot time to do everything that we originally planned, partly because we enjoyed just hanging out in Santa Teresa and at Casa Marbella. The girls have already begged me to plan a trip to Casa Marbella next year.

Stephanie and Jim were great hosts and arranged for ATV rentals to be delivered, provided suggestions of places to visit, and Jim was so patient when giving us surf lessons. The whole atmosphere of the place was positive and laid back and they were really sweet.

Casa Marbella will definitely be a vacation stop for us in the future.

Room Tip: Rent ATVs and take some back roads and go to Manzanilla. We saw tide pools, beaches, and countrysid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I went on a surf/yoga retreat here with a group from Colorado. We had the most amazing time. The Hotel is immaculate. Jim, Stephanie and the staff are amazingly helpful and friendly. 2 friends went to find another hotel after the main group left and came back because they couldn't find anything even remotely comparable. They will help you by calling cabs, shuttles, book activities for you, etc. The place is so relaxing and was a joy to come back to every day. It's tucked away just off the main road with an incredible view and fantastic pool. DEFINITELY worth the trip!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rydersaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Casa Marbella, is perfect hotel/environment for a journey to Costa Rica. It stays in line with the jungle and beach experience you look for when taking a trip to Santa Teresa. The hotel is located high off the main road secluded from the sound of cars, quads and people. It sits above the trees giving you a wonderful view of the ocean. The hotel is still close enough to town and the street that you can easily walk anywhere quickly and without getting tired. The rooms are very clean and comfortable with working AC and amenities. Casa Marbella has all the qualities you would expect from a high-end beach resort but with the personal touch of staying at a friends house!

The thing that really sets Casa Marbella apart from any other hotel I have stayed at is the owners, Jim and Steph. They give you an all access pass to their lives and what it is truly like to live in paradise. Everyone has fantasized about packing up and moving to live in a island paradise - these two actually did it and they do it well! Jim and Steph taught me the importance of freedom and choosing your own destiny. There are exuded this attitude with how they treated us and carried themselves.

Our trip to Casa Marbella was a memorable experience and I will most definitely be back. If you want to get the most out of your vacation put your trust in Jim and Steph and they will not let you down.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitchell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.4 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#9 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 stars 419 reviews
2.5 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#10 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#12 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
0.5 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#8 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa MarBella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa MarBella

Property: Casa MarBella
Address: 125 meters east and 25 meters north of Super Ronny's, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa MarBella is a boutique hotel situated on a mountain slope in Santa Teresa. The property provides a spectacular panoramic view of the Pacific Ocean and is a five-minute walk to the beach, restaurants, and stores. Being surrounded by rainforest, it offers a unique opportunity to watch wildlife in their natural habitat. The area is renowned for its consistent surf breaks, some of which are walking distance from the property. The Casa consists of eight units with four different typologies of rooms for your different needs and group sizes. It is an ideal venue for those seeking the privacy, services, and comforts of individual hotel rooms, yet the intimacy of a private villa. The décor of the rooms is a minimalist approach with a tropical touch. The amenities of the hotel include free parking area, Wi-Fi in the common areas, infinity pool, ocean view yoga deck, sun terrace, and reception. All of the rooms have ocean view and air conditioning. Services we provide include house keeping, massage, babysitting, and concierge where we can schedule an array of activities for no extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Casa MarBella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marbella Santa Teresa
Casa Marbella Hotel Santa Teresa
Casa MarBella Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing