We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa MarBella

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa MarBella
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was our last stop in Central America and we decided to splurge. So happy we did. The hotel is gorgeous, the owners are amazing and the view is spectacular. We spent the days swimming in the pool and lounging in the shade. The honour system for drinks was appreciated. The Hotel is on a hill and although the store is not far, it's a hike getting back up. Also loved that we cold rent surfboards right on site as well as atv's which you need in this town. Loved the list of restaurants that they had in he room. Noticed in our last night that there was no tv in the room, but we didn't miss it. We were in a queen/single room with just a fridge, but to complimentary coffee was a nice touch. This is one hotel that I would go back to any time. Loved the intimate feel with the guests hanging around drinking wine in the pool before dinner. The wifi is a little sketchy in the rooms, but that is because its a concrete building and they are in the process of trying to get it working better. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    25
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
70
205
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We recently stayed for 5 nights and had an amazing time. We originally had a regular room which was great. A comfortable king bed, fully equipped mini kitchen and beautiful bathroom. Loved the stone shower. We chose to upgrade to the two bedroom suite for our last two nights mainly to get a private balcony so we could have a place to hang out any time of morning or night. The suite was just as beautiful and perfect for one or two couples. The hotel is clean, always maintained and some nice touches. You can rent quads right from the doorstep which is nice. There is always coffee made and an onour bar when you're thirsty. We also got the honeymoon package and thanks to Jim, we both had a successful surf lesson and our massage therapists were amazing! Highly recommend staying here. One thing to note is that if you are in the regular rooms, the pool area is right outside of your room meaning you can't really keep your curtains open to enjoy the view when you want privacy.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RicaToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I were travelling with friends and stayed in the condo suite at Casa Marbella. The space was gorgeous and perfect for 2-3 couples or a family. The balcony overlooking the ocean was our favorite place to sit and have coffee in the morning and cocktails at night and the infinity pool was a great place to cool off and look at the monkeys, iguanas, and exotic birds that hang out in the trees. The yoga deck was a great place for self practice or to just sit, relax, and take in the gorgeous view. Jim, Stephanie, and their staff were so helpful when we wanted to go on some adventures-they arranged for ATV's to be delivered to the hotel and even gave us a little driving lesson! They also helped our friends make plans for the rest of their trip-arranging travel and hotel accommodations in a completely different part of the country. Casa Marbella is a gem!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mab3728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

The local massuse told me, "The dusty roads of summer ruin your lungs and the rains turn the main street into a mud hole." So why, you might ask, anyone go to Santa Teresa? The answer would be Casa Marbella.

Custom-built by a couple originally from Florida, the comfortable rooms all have gas burners, a frig, and a microwave. Coffee is available in a nook of the main patio where there is a Frigg stocked with drinks, and a library where you can borrow books. The beds are comfortable. The rooms are clean and the maid will help keep you organized.

The deck/pool area overlooks a forested area where you might catch a glimpse of a monkey, and can bird and butterfly-spot. There is also a yoga deck, which doubles as the massage "room."

Jim and Stephanie couldn't be nicer. Everywhere you go in town, people know them and will tell you what good people they are. They live on the premises so there is always someone around during the day. At night, there is a local guard who waters the plants and keeps track of who is on the grounds. Jim also teaches surf lessons, and Stephanie is happy to teach private yoga classes. Both will be happy to arrange any service you want, and make local reservations for you.

There is a binder of recommendations in the room but one of the best perks of the location is being within steps of one of the best local restaurants, Brisas del Mar, and a yoga retreat, Horizon, where you can drop-in to yoga classes.

We enjoyed our time at Casa Marbella, partly because it is just plain wonderful, but also because of the wonderful people we meet there. Travelers from all over the world sat around the pool, shared stories, restaurant recommendations and enjoyed each others' company. The tone, set by Jim and Stephanie, carried out by their architectural design, just rubs off on their guests making this a wonderful spot for a wind-down vacation. Which might be one reason the internet connection was sketchy while we were there - could that forced unplugging also have been by design?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryFran L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Beautiful place perched up on a hill overlooking the pacific ocean. Only a 5 min walk to the beach and located in a prime location in Santa Teresa. Stephanie and Jim make this place an amazing stay. My girlfriend and I stayed with them from March 15th to the 23rd. Between the two of them, they are extremely friendly and accommodating to their all of their customers. They made some excellent recommendations while we stayed with them and it was really appreciated. They went above and beyond in our stay with them and I cant wait for them to come visit us in NYC so we can reciprocate. Watching the iguanas and monkeys from our porch along with swimming in the infinity pool, driving our quad and relaxing in our hammock are among the many things we did everyday. Jim also taught me how to surf so I tried it two more times with him. He was very patient and informative in the way he taught as well. I would recommend this place to anyone who stays in this area. The views are amazing, the people who run it are amazing and its a great deal for the area. Thanks for everything. Need I say more?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimBubaloni, Owner at Casa MarBella, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hi Jason,

It was truly a pleasure meeting and getting to know you. I feel very happy that you really had a great vacation here with us. Being an Inn keeper obviously puts us in a position to meet people from all over the world. As a consequence, we are fortunate enough to have made lots of friends with our clients. We feel very blessed for this. It's one of the best parts of this job. So, it's great to be able to include you in our network of friends. Hope to see you guys back here soon!


Take care and thanks for the kind words.

Jim Bubaloni
Casa Marbella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed 4 nights and it was really nice. Owners are very friendly and the hotel atmosphere is all about relaxing and enjoying your stay. Very clean. Nice pool.
The owner is also a yoga instructor, we took a class in the beautiful ocean view deck and was magnificent. She is a great instructor.
Guys, the hotel sign is not visible and in consequence the hotel is a bit hard to find.

Room Tip: More expensive rooms have a really nice ocean view, standard rooms in the first floor only look at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilioBlanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimBubaloni, Owner at Casa MarBella, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hello snorfs,

Just wanted to thank you for your kind words. They are much appreciated. We hope to see you back at Casa Marbella again one day.
And I also wanted to inform you that as of 2 weeks ago we now provide shampoo and conditioner in all the rooms at no additional cost.

Thanks for the support!

Jim Bubaloni
Casa Marbella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Took a one day trip up to Santa Teresa & got lucky to stay in this beautiful hotel!! So clean & wonderful!! Beautiful views, away from the dust, safe, & a friendly awesome welcome by staff! I would totally only recommend staying at this hotel!!

Room Tip: stayed in 2 bedroom loft with 2 baths! perfect for 2 families or large family!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scottsuemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.4 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#4 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
2.5 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#9 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
1.4 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#14 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa MarBella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa MarBella

Property: Casa MarBella
Address: 125 meters east and 25 meters north of Super Ronny's, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Teresa
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa MarBella is a boutique hotel situated on a mountain slope in Santa Teresa. The property provides a spectacular panoramic view of the Pacific Ocean and is a five-minute walk to the beach, restaurants, and stores. Being surrounded by rainforest, it offers a unique opportunity to watch wildlife in their natural habitat. The area is renowned for its consistent surf breaks, some of which are walking distance from the property. The Casa consists of eight units with four different typologies of rooms for your different needs and group sizes. It is an ideal venue for those seeking the privacy, services, and comforts of individual hotel rooms, yet the intimacy of a private villa. The décor of the rooms is a minimalist approach with a tropical touch. The amenities of the hotel include free parking area, Wi-Fi in the common areas, infinity pool, ocean view yoga deck, sun terrace, and reception. All of the rooms have ocean view and air conditioning. Services we provide include house keeping, massage, babysitting, and concierge where we can schedule an array of activities for no extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Casa MarBella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marbella Santa Teresa
Casa Marbella Hotel Santa Teresa
Casa MarBella Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing