We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“One night not enough!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa MarBella

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa MarBella
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury Park
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One night not enough!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Took a one day trip up to Santa Teresa & got lucky to stay in this beautiful hotel!! So clean & wonderful!! Beautiful views, away from the dust, safe, & a friendly awesome welcome by staff! I would totally only recommend staying at this hotel!!

Room Tip: stayed in 2 bedroom loft with 2 baths! perfect for 2 families or large family!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scottsuemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    25
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
68
202
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My friend and I stayed here 3/15-3/21. I will start by saying this- I don't like Santa Teresa as a whole (which is why this is 4-star vs. 5-star) - overrated as a travel destination in Costa Rica IMHO. However, this hotel is lovely and made even lovelier by their welcoming staff - Jim and Stephanie (owners) are beyond helpful and that alone is worth staying here - we found Santa Teresa in general to be full of rude people (with attitude) so we were glad for the staff here. Their hotel is well-kept, clean, reasonable and has a variety of rooms to cater to families, friends traveling together, and couples. We loved the infinity pool and energy from the other guests. The restaurant next door, Brisas del Mar, is by far one of the best in town (seafood and views are highlight). Note that this location is at Playa Carmen vs. Playa Santa Teresa, which is a 20 minute walk on a dustry/high-traffic road or on the beach (nicer walk obviously but by no means walkable at night), - luckily there are several great restaurants right by Casa Marbella. I would recommend taking a cab to Koji Sushi in Playa Hermosa- best sushi I've ever had.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed like they're great options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My girlfriend and I are from the outskirts of New Orleans and we stayed here 6 or 7 nights in late Feb-early May. It was our first time to this part of Costa Rica and we loved it. This hotel is unique, well maintained, tastefully decorated and exceeded our expectations. The entire staff and owners are friendly people who make you feel welcome and comfortable. Everyone is eager to help if you happen to need anything. It has amazing views, is centrally located to the town, and offers access to a great restaurant(also nice people). If you are wondering if you should stay here....you should. I hope to return soon. Thanks for a wonderful time.

Room Tip: standard room was fine for us, but if you plan on staying in your room...upgrade to balcony for grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoLa73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
127 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My second effort to get a review posted! Come on tripadvisor!!

We enjoyed our five night stay in suite #1. The deck provides a lovely view of sunsets as does the pool. The pool itself is a cool respite from the heat with enough room to do some paddling around. The suite's kitchen is big and has all one would need to prepare meals.

Best of all is the hospitality offered by Jim. He is a top-notch manager with skills to take care of any problem.

One suggestion is to provide shampoo or at least to sell it.

Room Tip: If you go for a suite ask for #6. It is better located than #1 in that it is not next to the parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cvalent9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

It's beautiful, run by a very welcoming American couple and stunningly located on a hillside. The rooms are spacious and nicely designed. There is an infinity pool to cool down and the end of the day and one of the best restaurants in Santa Teresa right next door. What more do you want?
Unfortunately we did not book long enough in advance and could therefore only stay for one night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CH_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Three of my sisters, my young daughter and I stayed at Casa Marbella for 4 wonderful nights/days. Set on a hillside above Sta Teresa, it was an oasis from a town bustling with surfers and full of dust during the dry season.
The infinity pool was just what the doctor ordered after being out and about all day and was such a great spot to socialize with the others staying in this boutique hotel. With just 8 rooms (we had 2 of them), we quickly made friends with others at the pool swimming or watching the glorious sunset (or while marveling at the fact a howler monkey had taken up temporary residence in the trees on the property).

Jim and Stephanie were so helpful and their daughter Naia provided a great playmate for my daughter.

Drinks on the honor system and free, delicious Costa Rican coffee were some of the perks of this wonderful hotel.

Would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We loved the room with 2 bedrooms and a wee kitchen. Fridge was great to house cold beverages and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scd65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate, NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We are a New York family of five (three teenage kids), and we stayed at Casa Marbella from February 16-23, 2013. We arrived around lunchtime on a Saturday, and were greeted by Amaline (spelling?), our wonderful Austrian concierge, who walked us through the beautiful hotel property nestled in the hills less than 0.5 km above the main drag in Santa Theresa. The hotel was built by the New Smyrna, Florida-native husband and wife team, Jim and Stephanie, back around 2006, and every inch of it is a Zen-inspired gem of design, comfort and beauty. The ocean views from every window are breath-taking, and the blue-tiled infinity pool set in the center court-yard was absolutely blissful. We stayed in the front villa (#8), which is a duplex suite with a large balcony, full kitchen, a master bedroom and one guest room with a full-size bed with a shared bathroom on the first floor, and another bedroom with twin beds, and another full bathroom on the second floor. The balcony was equipped with adirondack chairs, a full dining table which sat 6 easily, and a hammock. We had three "pet" iguanas who came to visit the roof below our balcony every day for fruit scraps, which made our kids laugh. Much of the furniture and the fixtures were designed by the owners using local materials. Stephanie is a certified Vinyasa flow Yoga instructor, and you can see her goal to create a calm sense of oneness with the surrounding, natural environment is present in every detail. The hotel provides arrangements for every activity you could dream of participating in, and we took advantage of a wonderful private Yoga session with Stephanie right on the hotel's gorgeous yoga deck, and a private surf lesson with Jim (who's been surfing for almost 30 years, and was - gratefully - very patient with us newbies). Our friendly hosts also arranged excursions to nearby destinations for zip-lining, horseback riding, and deep sea fishing. They also set up our day-trip to snorkle near Tortuga Island. The hotel is right in the middle of town, so you really don't even need a car if you want to veg out by the pool, walk to restaurants and the Playa Santa Theresa or Carmen surf sites. However, many people rent ATVs (which we did for one day) to get around. Tip: if you go by ATV or motorcycle, expect to wear goggles and surgical masks - the unpaved roads are very dusty. I can't say enough great things about the hotel, it's owners, or the location in Santa Theresa. We had the trip of a lifetime, and having seen the other lodgings around the town, we absolutly know we picked the best place!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Srchn4Sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.4 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#9 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 stars 419 reviews
2.5 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#10 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#12 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
0.5 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#8 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa MarBella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa MarBella

Property: Casa MarBella
Address: 125 meters east and 25 meters north of Super Ronny's, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa MarBella is a boutique hotel situated on a mountain slope in Santa Teresa. The property provides a spectacular panoramic view of the Pacific Ocean and is a five-minute walk to the beach, restaurants, and stores. Being surrounded by rainforest, it offers a unique opportunity to watch wildlife in their natural habitat. The area is renowned for its consistent surf breaks, some of which are walking distance from the property. The Casa consists of eight units with four different typologies of rooms for your different needs and group sizes. It is an ideal venue for those seeking the privacy, services, and comforts of individual hotel rooms, yet the intimacy of a private villa. The décor of the rooms is a minimalist approach with a tropical touch. The amenities of the hotel include free parking area, Wi-Fi in the common areas, infinity pool, ocean view yoga deck, sun terrace, and reception. All of the rooms have ocean view and air conditioning. Services we provide include house keeping, massage, babysitting, and concierge where we can schedule an array of activities for no extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Casa MarBella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marbella Santa Teresa
Casa Marbella Hotel Santa Teresa
Casa MarBella Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing