We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From now on,, we only stay here!”
Review of Casa MarBella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa MarBella
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Jim and Stephanie (the owners) have created the perfect gem in Santa Teresa. If it is your first time visiting the area, you must understand that their is no Marriott or Hilton. All accommodations are fairly quaint. That being said, this boutique hotel offers the very best I have ever seen in my 7 years of travel to Mal Pais/ Santa Teresa. We stayed in the 3 bedroom condo and the pictures on the website do not do it justice. We had an extremely spacious apartment which was designed beautifully and very well maintained. The pool was immaculate and offered a beautiful view with incredible sunsets. The price was very reasonable and the condo can sleep up to 6 people. To top it all off, Jim and Stephanie are friendly and attentive hosts. Any time we needed something they were quick to help. Our AC broke one day and Jim had it fixed within the hour. We would highly recommend staying here if you have the opportunity.

Room Tip: If you have at least 4 people, the luxury condo is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 508 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

Pros
- Beautiful ocean view
- Nice infinity pool
- Rooms are clean, nicely decorated, with hot showers
- Complimentary coffee and honour bar on site
- Friendly helpful staff
- Excellent restaurant adjacent to the property - one of the best meals we had in Costa Rica
- Yoga deck, lounging deck
- Beach towels
Cons
- Have to walk up a steep hill to get there

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the interior rooms that did not include a kitchen. Most of the rooms did. I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Truly the center of our vacation, this amazing place was everything we wanted and more. From start to finish, Stephanie and Jim were wonderful hosts. The room was beautiful, but the views from the deck and pool were unparalleled. It was a pleasure to stay with them, and their hospitality will be remembered as a highlight of our vacation. We will most certainly return, hopefully soon!

Room Tip: All the rooms face the pool~
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had an excellent stay at Casa Marbella. The pool was perfect, the room beautiful and stylish and our minor issues were taken care of at once. Great cleaning, good coffee, even a small library where guest can exchange books. Friendly and service-oriented owners. Because we have kids, it was practical that we could fix our own meals in the kitchen. We stayed in one of the suites. The hill is steep, but it's worth it to get the stunning view over the ocean. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Casa Marbella was everything we read it would be and much more. What the photos don't show you is how awesome the owners Stephanie and Jim are at taking care of their guests. They really took the time to get to know us and give expert advice on anything from tours and activities, to restaurant recommendations (loved the book filled with personal snippets about each place they recommended in town). Jim taught us both how to surf in an hour and a half- we both got up the very first try in fact! We were able to plan and coordinate our entire weeks stay right there at the front desk: taxis, atv rental with recommended day trip routes, snorkeling tour, everything.

Casa Marbella is absolutely beautiful, from the architectural design that is truly luxurious, to the hand crafted details in our room.

We chose to stay here after reading every single review and were still blown away. Needless to say, we highly recommend Casa Marbella! Thank you for everything Jim and Stephanie!

Val and Kelly

Room Tip: They're all good. For real.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Casa Marbella. Stephanie and Jim were terrific hosts and directed us to great beaches, yoga and restaurants. The 3 BR condo was clean and spacious and every evening we enjoyed the most spectacular sunsets on the balcony.

The beaches just down the hill from Casa Marbella were always filled with surfers and the waves are the reason surfers are drawn to Santa Teresa/Mal Pais. But just a few minutes drive north in Santa Teresa is Playa Hermosa which is a wonderful beach for swimming.

My family loved the local restaurants as well as the ability to cook for ourselves.

Room Tip: The 3 BR condos were wonderful for groups of 4 or more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnM0817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I just got back from a week at Casa Marbella. I can not say enough nice things about the town, the hotel and the owners Jim and Stephanie. Every day trip and meal was set up for us and they suggested places that they knew we would like. Everyone is so laid back in town and it truly is a place to get away from " real life". The hotel had a mix of singles, couples and families and is perfect for everyone. I miss it already!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Teresa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
579 reviews
2.5 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#11 of 27 in Santa Teresa
199 reviews
1.4 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 27 in Santa Teresa
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#19 of 27 in Santa Teresa
237 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#12 of 27 in Santa Teresa
293 reviews
10.0 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa MarBella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa MarBella

Address: | 125 meters east and 25 meters north of Super Ronny's, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Teresa
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range: $122 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa MarBella 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa MarBella is a boutique hotel situated on a mountain slope in Santa Teresa. The property provides a spectacular panoramic view of the Pacific Ocean and is a five-minute walk to the beach, restaurants, and stores. Being surrounded by rainforest, it offers a unique opportunity to watch wildlife in their natural habitat. The area is renowned for its consistent surf breaks, some of which are walking distance from the property. The Casa consists of eight units with four different typologies of rooms for your different needs and group sizes. It is an ideal venue for those seeking the privacy, services, and comforts of individual hotel rooms, yet the intimacy of a private villa. The décor of the rooms is a minimalist approach with a tropical touch. The amenities of the hotel include free parking area, Wi-Fi in the common areas, infinity pool, ocean view yoga deck, sun terrace, and reception. All of the rooms have ocean view and air conditioning. Services we provide include house keeping, massage, babysitting, and concierge where we can schedule an array of activities for no extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Casa MarBella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marbella Santa Teresa
Casa Marbella Hotel Santa Teresa
Casa MarBella Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing