We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be aware”
Review of Casa MarBella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa MarBella
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
new york, new york
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Be aware”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel is rustic. You will encounter ants, musty sheets, barely functioning showers and other items in less than pristine shape. We stayed here for a few days in spring and decided to leave early for many reason but the one that cinched the decision for us was dealing with the owner's daughter, who took over the pool and proceeded to scream at guests periodically. She was often unattended and looking for attention from guests. Overall Casa Marbella is a decent, by no means great, B&B or Inn. I don't consider it a Boutique Hotel. If you want to interact with other guests, don't mind unattended kids jumping around and screaming with excitement - this may be perfect for you. A relaxing, quiet stay it did not make.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank engelfeuer_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    27
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
89
249
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We got home a few weeks ago from our stay at Casa Marbella, and we cannot stop thinking about how wonderful a trip it was and how great a place Casa Marbella is to stay.
There are many places to stay in Santa Teresa, but Casa Marbella is really your only choice. Up on a hill, it has beautiful views and a delightful ocean breeze to keep you cool, while also being easily accessible to the beach and everything in town. The hotel itself is beautiful and charming - not in a chandelier and wall-to-wall carpet kind of way - but in a rustic and open, you're-staying-in-a-rainforest-right-on-the-beach kind of way without sacrificing beautiful decor and impeccable cleanliness.
The owners, Jim and Stephanie, couldn't be better hosts. Whether it be making suggestions of places to go, arranging for a masseuse to come to the hotel for you, setting you up with ATV's to buzz around on, or giving you surf lessons, they make staying in a new place feel like an old familiar haunt.
Whether you want to spend your entire trip relaxing by the pool and enjoying the views or going out to explore Santa Teresa and the surrounding towns, Casa Marbella is the perfect choice for a fantastic vacation. During our stay at Casa Marbella, we met several people who have made Casa Marbella their annual summer vacation spot. And, it's no wonder. We will be back soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We loved Casa MarBella - really, really loved it. We stayed here on our honeymoon. It just feels like home away from home. Jim and Stephanie really make you feel welcome, and, even better, they will help you instantly learn Santa Teresa. When you first get there, your room comes with their personal guide book, which recommends local restaurants and attractions.

What's cooler is that Jim and Stephanie offer their own services at the hotel. My wife and I signed up for surfing lessons with Jim, and we had a blast! He's an -excellent- teacher, and he will help you catch your first wave (it's challenging to surf at first, but once you get that first wave, you're hooked).

Keep in mind that this is Costa Rica, so the rooms are bare-bones, and water access is limited. That being said, Jim and Stephanie make the most of it. They have fresh coffee and a drink bar (sodas, alcohol, etc.) that you can take on an honor system (you just write your name down to mark when you grabbed something). The rooms have a fridge, so you can grab stuff at the local store (directly in front of the hotel), and store it there.

Also, there's a cool restaurant right next to the hotel. We really enjoyed our coffee and breakfast there, so definitely go there when you stay here.

Santa Teresa itself is a really cool place. It's basically an ex-pat surfer town. People drive ATVs around the whole town, so make sure you rent one in advance (though, we didn't have one and we were fine).

Overall, we totally loved the hotel. Definitely stay here if you're going to Santa Teresa!

Room Tip: When we go back, we're going to ask for one of the suites that have a deck with a lookout view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justincroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Hi! I stayed in Casa Marbella two summers ago and I'm behind on my review! This place was absolutely BEAUTIFUL. We stayed in a two bedroom suite right off of the gorgeous infinity pool and close to the yoga pavillion. I loved it, we were close to the beach and most importantly close to brisas del mar...an amazing restaurant that everyone in Santa Teresa should try.

GREAT STAY!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prutoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Perfect for couples, for recently married, for families, for friends journey, for a wanna-be-alone : it is just the perfect place to stay in Santa Teresa.
Rooms are perfect (you don't have tv), house is perfect, mini pool and jacuzzi are awesome with spectacular views, and really enjoyable when starts ths rainy hour at the end of the day :).

And "cerise sur le gateau", you have which is probably the best restaurant in town at 47 meters upstairs (believe me, you want to take your breakfast there ...).

Stephanie and Jim are really kind and helpfull, and the house keeper also (but cannot remember his name)

You will need a good 4*4 -i am not a 4*4 driver : everybody can do it- to reach Sta Teresa but it's absolutely worth of it : great beaches, nice people and slower timeline ... Believe me, if this place has availiablity, dont think about it and stay there for a while, Pura Vida!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaniElFrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Many friends questioned a Costa RIcan vacation during the green season. It rained almost only at night and was delightful by morning when we enjoyed delicious coffee and a beautiful view of the ocean. My husband and I travelled with our two teenage children and spent our first four nights at Casa Marbella. Each child was delighted to have his/her own spacious room in our condo. I had travelled internationally a few times before but only with an experienced traveller to guide me. SInce I don't speak Spanish, I was initially intimidated about travelling to CR. When I read CM reviews and saw that we didn't have to book activities in advance, I felt much more at ease. Jim arranged our snorkeling tour, horseback riding, and waterfall canopy tour. He gave us helpful advice and detailed directions to reach our destinations. He also proved to be an excellent teacher for our first time surfers. Our time spent at Casa Marbella was a wonderful mix of activities, relaxation on and off the beach, (I think we all napped on our hammock at on time or another.), and exploration of the many wonderful restaurants within walking distance. I usually only look to where we can go next but have often found myself already wondering when we might be able to get back to Casa Marbella!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelsaver12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2012

The hotel was beautiful, inside and out. Jim and Stephanie were excellent hosts - after meeting and interacting with them their "excellent" Trip Advisor rating comes as no surprise. My wife and I are not surfers and don't do yoga, but we thoroughly enjoyed Casa Marbella, and Santa Teresa. We had several stops during our trip to Nicoya Penninsula - Casa Marbella and Santa Teresa gave us a very unique experience. Next time, we will take surf and yoga lessons, and bring the kids. The view of the Pacific and surrounding town from our room, was priceless. Thank you, Jim and Stephanie!

Room Tip: Request a room with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
557 reviews
2.5 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
195 reviews
1.4 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
155 reviews
1.4 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#12 of 26 in Santa Teresa
336 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#13 of 26 in Santa Teresa
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa MarBella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa MarBella

Property: Casa MarBella
Address: | 125 meters east and 25 meters north of Super Ronny's, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Teresa
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa MarBella 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa MarBella is a boutique hotel situated on a mountain slope in Santa Teresa. The property provides a spectacular panoramic view of the Pacific Ocean and is a five-minute walk to the beach, restaurants, and stores. Being surrounded by rainforest, it offers a unique opportunity to watch wildlife in their natural habitat. The area is renowned for its consistent surf breaks, some of which are walking distance from the property. The Casa consists of eight units with four different typologies of rooms for your different needs and group sizes. It is an ideal venue for those seeking the privacy, services, and comforts of individual hotel rooms, yet the intimacy of a private villa. The décor of the rooms is a minimalist approach with a tropical touch. The amenities of the hotel include free parking area, Wi-Fi in the common areas, infinity pool, ocean view yoga deck, sun terrace, and reception. All of the rooms have ocean view and air conditioning. Services we provide include house keeping, massage, babysitting, and concierge where we can schedule an array of activities for no extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Casa MarBella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marbella Santa Teresa
Casa Marbella Hotel Santa Teresa
Casa MarBella Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing