We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa MarBella Rocks”
Review of Casa MarBella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa MarBella
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 13, 2008

Stayed at Casa MarBella in Dec '07 and loved every min. of it.
we kinda fell @ss backwards into Casa MarBella and couldn't have been happier. Due to it being Christmas time we were unable to find anywhere to stay in Mal pais that wouldn't break the bank. But while searching for a place to say we found one of the other hotels in Mal pais that while full had a "friend" who had a place that could be rented. It was cheap and available so we booked it. Once I arrived in Mal Pais the owner of the other hotel informed me that while the place we had booked was still available the neighbors had shown up and were parting till all hours and he could promise the place would be quite. He suggested that his Friends at Casa MarBella had a spare room and for only $5 more a night we should check it out. He took me up to see the hotel and meet Jim and Steph . One look at the immaculate rooms and the infinity pool and I was sold. We got lucky...the hotel was sold out but one of there rooms that they had just finished furnishing/outfitting was available since they had literally just finished getting it ready (door frame paint was till tacky when I arrived).
The hotel is laid out with 5 standard rooms (1 double 1 single bed), 2 two bedroom rooms with full kitchens and 2 three bedroom apartments.
The Standard rooms have bar fridges while the bigger rooms have full kitchens as well as balconies with hammocks.
There hotel courtyard is taken up by an infinity pool over looking the tree's and the ocean and an outdoor shower for de-sanding after the beach.
Jim and Steph live in one of the three bedrooms but I believe will move around if the space is required by a big family or group.
The only complaint that we had about the hotel was that it was at the top quite a big hill, not really a big problem but after a long day of surfing or hiking it was a bit of a chore :)
Jim and Stephanie were great and made sure we were enjoying our stay....they arranged any taxi's we needed as well as renting Quads and restaurant recommendations. Jim also does surf lessons and even though we went out on probably the worst day for surfing ever...a fun time was still had by all.

The hotel is near to everything in Mal Pais including the beach, supermarket, yoga and restaurants. The Hotel Buenos Ares is 50 feet away at the top of the hill and has a great restaurant over looking the ocean.

Over all this hotel was a great place and I can't wait to go back and stay with Jim and Stephanie again.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaguar8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (514)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

479 - 485 of 514 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2008

I stayed at the Casa MarBella for four days (end of Jan - Feb 08) and it was incredible from beginning to end. The owners, Jim and Stephanie, are warm and welcoming and have created the perfect oasis in Santa Teresa. The hotel is a great break from all the cabinas and wooden structures you'll find all over Costa Rica. The rooms are immaculate, modern, spacious - perfect. All rooms have a refrigerator and safe (though you don't really need the safe - the hotel is quite secure). There are also units with two bedrooms and full kitchens if you're traveling with family or a group. The pool and lounge chair area is perfect and relaxing.

Casa MarBella is located up a hill off the main street. It is within walking distance to everything - the beach, many restaurants, the market. One restaurant in particular - Brisas Del Mar - is amazing. The freshest seafood I've ever had and perfectly prepared. Word is getting around so it's best to make a reservation. Another spot is the Hotel Buenos Aires, located right above MarBella. It's a convenient spot to have drinks or dinner with an amazing view of the sunset.

My stay was perfect and I'm already thinking about my next trip back. I cannot say enough great things about this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nn02140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2008

Casa Marbella is a new property built just above the heart of Santa Theresa. We found it through a friend who knows one of the owners, and were thrilled that we choose to stay here. There are eight rooms, both one and two bedrooms. All have kitchenettes, fridges, and other basic amenities. The property is in a u-shape with a gorgeous infinity edge pool and hot tub in the center. The two rooms on the ends have balconies with hammocks where you can relax with a drink and gaze out at the ocean and wildlife in the trees. The two couples who own Casa Marbella, occupy the space above the rooms. They are youthful, warm, and welcoming. One couple is from Florida and the other from Germany. They were extremely helpful in arranging for our quads, suggesting things to do, and Jim even gives surfing lessons to brave guests. The decor and architecture is chic.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ulrike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre A, Owner at Casa MarBella, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Moser O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
André F, Owner at Casa MarBella, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Arnaud D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
André F, Owner at Casa MarBella, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Thank Dom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
André F, Owner at Casa MarBella, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
588 reviews
2.5 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#11 of 27 in Santa Teresa
202 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#19 of 27 in Santa Teresa
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 27 in Santa Teresa
335 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#15 of 27 in Santa Teresa
294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buenos Aires
Hotel Buenos Aires
#4 of 27 in Santa Teresa
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa MarBella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa MarBella

Address: | 125 meters east and 25 meters north of Super Ronny's, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Teresa
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Teresa
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range: $90 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa MarBella 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa MarBella is a boutique hotel situated on a mountain slope in Santa Teresa. The property provides a spectacular panoramic view of the Pacific Ocean and is a five-minute walk to the beach, restaurants, and stores. Being surrounded by rainforest, it offers a unique opportunity to watch wildlife in their natural habitat. The area is renowned for its consistent surf breaks, some of which are walking distance from the property. The Casa consists of eight units with four different typologies of rooms for your different needs and group sizes. It is an ideal venue for those seeking the privacy, services, and comforts of individual hotel rooms, yet the intimacy of a private villa. The décor of the rooms is a minimalist approach with a tropical touch. The amenities of the hotel include free parking area, Wi-Fi in the common areas, infinity pool, ocean view yoga deck, sun terrace, and reception. All of the rooms have ocean view and air conditioning. Services we provide include house keeping, massage, babysitting, and concierge where we can schedule an array of activities for no extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Casa MarBella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marbella Santa Teresa
Casa Marbella Hotel Santa Teresa
Casa MarBella Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing