We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villas Hermosas
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Tropico Latino(Santa Teresa)
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$295
$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manala Hotel(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Villas Solar(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Surf Sanctuary(Santa Teresa)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fuego Lodge(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Florblanca Resort(Santa Teresa)
$388
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (339)
Filter reviews
339 results
Traveler rating
329
7
2
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
329
7
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsatv tourhoneymoon suiteevery morningeggs to orderother guestshowler monkeyssan josevacation spotlittle piece of paradisetide poolspura vidabeautiful poolsurf lessonsboogie boardshome away from homehanging bedfull kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 339 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed here over a year ago and forgot to write a review. This place is the perfect place for those that want adventure or just want to relax. Villas Hermosas has the perfect location for family fun or romance. We stayed here at the end of our stay in Costa Rica and wanted to go to a place with a romantic setting. Quiet beaches (best sand in the area), a beautiful pool (one of the best pools), entertaining iguanas, beautiful and very clean large villas. Wonderful service, Brad and Tara provide above and beyond service! The breakfasts are amazing! I love the monkeys that come to visit. Santa Teresa is just a short taxi ride away for nice evening suppers. They also provide brochures with delivery service which was great for those days that you just could not pull yourself away from this hidden paradise. I am still dreaming of this place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenn3031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is the second time I've been to Villas Hermosas, and I plan on going back many more! We rented out the resort with a group of 16 friends and had the most amazing trip. The resort is perfectly located on the best beach in Santa Teresa - you walk right out of the villas on to a gorgeous beach, perfect for watching the unbelievable sunset every night! The villas are so clean and comfortable and spacious, too, and all are located around a fantastic pool.
The best part about Villas Hermosas are the owners Tara and Brad - they made the trip easy from start to finish! They take such good care of their guests and help schedule activities, travel, anything at all!
No one wanted to leave after our week there, and I'm positive that we will all be back again!

Note: I've stayed at other resorts in the Santa Teresa area, and none even come closer to comparison with Villas Hermosas!!

Room Tip: All the villas are great! There's a honeymoon suite with great views of the ocean, but the rest are bigger villas around the pool - not a bad option there!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courtney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

My husband and I first stayed at Villas Hermosas in January 2011 for our honeymoon. We have been back every year since for a week of sun, surf, fun and good people! In February 2014 we took 11 of our friends with us to celebrate my birthday which meant that we were able to rent the entire place out which was AMAZING! I think that the trip was a success considering that everyone has confirmed for the same trip next year! If you are looking for a great beach vacation, it truly is one of the best places that you can visit. We like to fly into San Jose and drive over (via the ferry) as it always sets the tone for a fun adventure.
The Villas: Our favorite villa to stay in is the Honeymoon Suite, but we have stayed in the other villas as well. They are all extremely clean, comfortable and have everything that you need. You can choose to cook and stay in as they have full kitchens which is a nice option. The staff at Villas Hermosas are extremely friendly and helpful and truly make your stay that much more amazing.
Food: One of the things I look forward to is the breakfast served every morning at Villas. Kristi makes absolutely delicious food to start your morning. She even baked a loaf of coconut bread for us for our last day to take with us since we were leaving super early and would miss the regularly scheduled breakfast (great service!). For lunch and dinner, the towns of Malpais and Santa Teresa offer some truly fine dining experiences. The fanciest dinner that we do every trip is at Brisas del Mar which is still extremely affordable for a meal that includes drinks, appetizers, main course and dessert! This little town really has some amazing food options!
Activities: My husband and I focus mainly on surfing when we are visiting. The beginner break just steps from the property draws people from all other areas for it's friendly and fun waves. Since we went with a new group of friends this year, we also went on the zipline tour, Brad's quad tour (highly recommended for an AWESOME day!), horseback riding on the beach and a few of our group also went on a fishing adventure and brought back their catch and fired it up on the grill at the Villas. You can do as much or as little as you prefer. Most of our days were spent on the beach and around the pool soaking up as much sun as possible, but there is never a shortage of other fun activities to try if you want less relaxing and more adventure. One of the most important activities of the day is "sunset TV" every evening when it seems that everyone gathers at the edge of the almond grove to hang out and watch as the sun goes down on yet another perfect tropical day :)
Staff: Since we have returned 4 times to the same place to vacation, I have to admit that a big part of that reason is the people at Villas Hermosas. Brad and Tara have always taken such great care of us as guests and truly make the experience more special than if we stayed at just a random place. I'm certain there are several fantastic places to stay in Malpais, Santa Teresa and Hermosa Beach, but the vibe that they have provided at Villas Hermosas is the reason that we keep coming back. My husband and I really like to travel and this is the only place that we have ever returned as a repeat visit. It really says a lot about the place that we keep coming back to! It really is the absolute best beach/surf vacation spot that we have found!!
I highly recommend that if you are looking for an awesome beach vacation a little off the beaten path...Villas Hermosas is a fantastic option! It is one of my favorite places in the entire world!

Room Tip: choose the honeymoon villa as you are right next to the water and can hear the waves crashing from your super awesome front porch!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtngirl303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Great location, right on the beach, had the feeling of being totally secluded, but part of the action. Felt like part of the family once we arrived until the day we left. Brad and Tara made the whole trip very easy by being able to charge all types of tours directly to your villas. I highly recommend Villas Hermosas for all types of vacations!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjones2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Villas Hermosas is a magical place for a family vacation. Actually, anyone can enjoy it, with or without kids. But, we loved that our kids had playmates in Brad and Tara's kids (our daughters have already emailed each other since our return to the states), that there were the sweetest dogs that took care of us while we were there (We miss Reefy, Oz and Ossa!) and that every night at 6pm, most people staying at Villa Hermosa (including Brad and Tara and the family) and the friends next door, came together to enjoy sunset on the beach.

The setting is unbeatable, with the gorgeous beach at your back door, beautiful landscaping and a fantastic pool to cool off in after a "tough" day of snorkeling, surfing, tide pooling and eating. The villas are simply appointed, with everything you could need. I loved that we had air conditioning in each room so that we didn't waste resources cooling the whole place since we were barely in the villa at all except at night to sleep.

We all loved the community refrigerator, which made getting a snack or a drink easy for all of us.

Most of all, we loved that Villa Hermosas provided us with the perfect place for a true family vacation. We were happy, our kids were happy, and we spent 6 days/nights just hanging out together. Thanks, Brad and Tara! We will see all of you next year!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heidi g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews