We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Family Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villas Hermosas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villas Hermosas
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Family Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Villas Hermosas is a magical place for a family vacation. Actually, anyone can enjoy it, with or without kids. But, we loved that our kids had playmates in Brad and Tara's kids (our daughters have already emailed each other since our return to the states), that there were the sweetest dogs that took care of us while we were there (We miss Reefy, Oz and Ossa!) and that every night at 6pm, most people staying at Villa Hermosa (including Brad and Tara and the family) and the friends next door, came together to enjoy sunset on the beach.

The setting is unbeatable, with the gorgeous beach at your back door, beautiful landscaping and a fantastic pool to cool off in after a "tough" day of snorkeling, surfing, tide pooling and eating. The villas are simply appointed, with everything you could need. I loved that we had air conditioning in each room so that we didn't waste resources cooling the whole place since we were barely in the villa at all except at night to sleep.

We all loved the community refrigerator, which made getting a snack or a drink easy for all of us.

Most of all, we loved that Villa Hermosas provided us with the perfect place for a true family vacation. We were happy, our kids were happy, and we spent 6 days/nights just hanging out together. Thanks, Brad and Tara! We will see all of you next year!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heidi g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
132
143
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Traveled to CR for first time visit for Andy & Jodi's wedding at Villas Hermosas and was overwhelmed by the beauty of the Pacific as our beloved children wed on the beach! The most spectacular backdrop for cherished vows!! Brad and Tara are the most gracious hosts of Villas Hermosas and made our stay the most perfect place to be for such an occasion!! Dinner and dancing under the stars around the rancho...heaven on earth!! The sheer beauty of the flora and fauna on the Villas Hermosas estate was breathtaking!! The villas were huge and so accommodating especially for our large party staying together! Breakfast at the rancho was delicious and the perfect start for the day whether taking an excursion or enjoying our time away from the rat race relaxing around the pool! The family setting of Villas Hermosas made our stay so comfortable we felt right at home! Villas Hermosas is the perfect place to slow the clock to beach time and we already are talking about our return! Thanks to Brad and Tara for helping our whole party plan the most perfect wedding/honeymoon/vacation!! Pura Vida!!

Room Tip: Book your villa as early as possible!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

I cannot express how much I LOVE Villas Hermosas! This place is truly paradise. The owners (Brad and Tara) are so wonderful and extremely accommodating. The included breakfast is delicious and fresh, the staff is so friendly and helpful, villas are clean, location is great, lots of great restaurants to walk to, spas and yoga nearby, and the pool is awesome. No other place in Santa Teresa can compare after staying at Villas Hermosas. We will be returning!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

What a great place to stay! We stayed for a week with two young children and it was fantastic. The villas are very large and luxurious with lots of space so the kids can play in their room while parents have a little sleep in. I loved walking out to the rancho (where breakfast is served) to grab my morning coffee and then go back to swing in my own hammock. I can not wait to go back again! Thanks so much to Tara and Brad for making our trip memorable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Our stay at Villas Hermosas was perfection. We had a group of 16 book the entire resort and it was wonderful. Tara was great at setting up excursions for the entire group. The excursions included ATV Tour to another beach where we had the most amazing lunch on the beach, a zip line tour to waterfall where we all jumped in for a refreshing break from the sun, and the best massage I have ever had on the beach. Hot breakfast was included each morning which was delicious. This trip was just what we all needed as young professionals. It was perfect for big groups, couples & families. I would most defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMAE314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

My wife Paula and I spent five glorious days and nights at Villas Hermosas just before Christmas last year. We last stayed there seven years ago and in that time the carefully tended gardens have evolved into a thing of beauty and pleasure populated with interesting flora and fauna including the extremely interesting and definitely prehistoric "Jesus Lizard" so named for its ability to walk on water. Every day Pelicans fly in line astern sweeping down over the surf in their constant hunt for food, a wonderful sight to behold.
Brad and Tara are excellent hosts and the quiet two bedroomed two bathroom secluded villas are beautifully appointed in the North American-style with air conditioning throughout, real value for money. Whilst the beach is only a matter of approximately 75m away there is a beautiful swimming pool and waterfall with a smaller pool for toddlers.
Thank you so much Brad and Tara for your hospitality and generosity. We had a truly wonderful time.
As Gen MacArthur and, indeed, Arnold Schwarzenegger once said, "I'll be back" but of course I meant "we".

Room Tip: All three villas are identical and secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gusmack6yd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

I wanted to find a perfect spot to take my girlfriend for a birthday surprise vacation. I wanted to go to a beautiful, tropical place the was "off the beaten path" ......but also a place that had the amenities that could still provide us with a level of comfort that one would expect on a pleasure holiday................oh yes, and we also wanted to have some fun adventures along the way!!! :)

After many countless hours of research on the Net and asking anyone who I knew that had been to Costa Rica, I came across Villas Hermosas. After reading reviews and learning about the lovely owners, Brad and Tara, and their story of how Villlas Hermosas came to be, it was a no brainer.

We arrived at Villas Hermosas on a beautiful Sunday evening just a few hours before sunset, which is a ritualistic sort of time down there...:) Brad and Tara welcomed us with open arms and we quickly settled into our gorgeous 2 bedroom villa and hit the beach for "sunset TV" , as Brad called it! .............Oh and before I go any further, it is necessary to note that the pictures of this spot do NOT do it justice.......you will know when you see it for yourself.

From there, our week was nothing short of amazing! From the exhilarating quad tour Brad took us on, to the oh so relaxing couples massage that Tara booked for us. Things could not have gone any better. We walked the beach every morning ,sipping our delicious coffee with Reef and Co. (The Villas Hermosa's lovely pups) joining us, chasing beach crabs along the way. Then we would enjoy a delicious breakfast in the fun Rancho hut by the pool, before we headed out on our quad for our daily adventure......(we had a quad rented as our mode of transportation for the week........This I recommend as its the easiest and best way to get around down there).

A quick overview of our adventures and activities included; a zip line tour out of Montezuma....where there were waterfalls and pools to swim and jump in. We explored the Nature Reserve and saw loads of howlers and capuchins. We enjoyed several amazing restaurants, just down the road, all recommended by Tara and Brad.

Mixed in amongst our adventures, we were happy to enjoy a few days of relaxation , lying by the beautiful pool and enjoying delicious snacks and drinks out of the "community fridge", that Brad and Tara kept stocked for their guests when in a pinch!;)

Like I said, our trip was nothing short of perfect!! Brad and Tara are the most gracious and down to earth hosts. We will definitely be returning for another stay at the Villas Hermosas in the very near future!:)

Steve & Kristen
Canada

Room Tip: We originally wanted to stay in the honeymoon suite on the beach, but ended up in one of the 3 villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blantan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
3.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#3 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.9 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#11 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#13 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
2.9 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#5 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Hermosas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Hermosas

Property: Villas Hermosas
Address: 400 mts sur de la escuela Hermosa Valley | Playa Hermosa de Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinctive beachfront hotel, Villas Hermosas, is located in Playa Hermosa of Mal Pais on the Pacific Ocean in Costa Rica. Please come and share with them their playful surf, thriving jungle, empty beaches, tropical gardens, and inviting swimming pool, while enjoying all the comforts of home! With only four villas, they offer a uniquely intimate experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villas Hermosas Hotel Santa Teresa
Hermosas Hotel Santa Teresa
Villas Hermosas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing