We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villas Hermosas
Nearby Hotels
Manala Hotel(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $114/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tropico Latino(Santa Teresa)
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
$68
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canaima Chill House(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Surf Sanctuary(Santa Teresa)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fuego Lodge(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas Solar(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
$110
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$295
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Florblanca Resort(Santa Teresa)
$388
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (339)
Filter reviews
339 results
Traveler rating
329
7
2
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
329
7
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsatv tourhoneymoon suiteevery morningeggs to orderother guestshowler monkeyssan josevacation spotlittle piece of paradisetide poolspura vidabeautiful poolsurf lessonsboogie boardshome away from homehanging bedfull kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
186 - 191 of 339 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Loved it. 2 bedroom / 2 bath house w kitchen would be great for families. I was there with a buddy, and that worked well too. Cooked to order breakfast. Friendly people. Place is in the jungle (listen to howler monkeys!), but it's also right on the beach. Good surf and we took some lessons with Chris at Shaka nearby. Would go back and hope to bring my family. This place is on the north end of town, no traffic, but you have to drive except for the beach and two nearby resorts and restaurants.

Room Tip: All the rooms open into a jungle/yard with a pool in the middle and the breakfast area to one side.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This counts as our 4th trip to Villas Hermosas. Each time we come we bring more of our friends and family. It has truly become our home away from home.

We've now stayed in every villas, have had every planned adventure and have gone to every restaurant in town. Villas Hermosas and Santa Teresa never disappoint.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CanukDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed here for a week recently, and had a great time. We stayed in the Honeymoon suite which was fantastic - looks exactly like the pictures on their website, with a clear view of the beach out front.

There's not much I can say that hasnt already been said by other people - beach is great, pool is great, Brad & Tara can arrange anything you want, lots of monkeys and iguanas on the property, breakfast is good and plentiful, etc.

The only slight issue was that the dogs sometimes barked for quite a long time at night. I know they were just being dogs and chasing things or whatever they do, but it was the worst on the first night we were there after traveling for 14 hours and just wanting to go to sleep.

Be sure to rent a car - we hardly saw any cabs while we were in town, and the roads are ROUGH.

Do yourself a favour and just stay here - Im fairly sure we'll be back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank firefly6682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

My husband and I went to Villas Hermosas for our honeymoon from June 1-13. We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite the entire trip. It was a lovely slice of paradise, and exactly what we needed after the hectic time leading up to our wedding. We loved that it was so small and private, and we had our own path to the beach. There were iguanas everywhere, and you could hear them crawling on the roof. The ocean was beautiful, and even though we were there during the rainy season the beach wasn't too rocky to enjoy.

The town is very small and full of really fun little restaurants. The Bakery was our favorite place to visit, with the best sandwiches ever, made with fresh ingredients. Restaurante Ambrosia was another great restaurant. Most of the restaurants are open air, which is wonderful since the temperature outside is pretty much perfect. The roads are kind of scary though. Let's just say that a vehicle with 4-wheel-drive is a necessity!

There were a fair amount of encounters with wildlife during our stay. A candy wrapper left on the table in our room for no more than 10 minutes had aquired a swarm of small red ants. We would often find large spiders on the floor, and even a couple small crabs. There was a tiny gecko in the shower one day, and a larger one seemed to live above the air conditioning unit inside the room. The worst was the large bat that appeared in our room on the first night. We were informed that it was a vampire bat. That was a little nightmarish, but it somehow got out on its own and there were no problems after that. The staff was great at helping us make sure it was no longer in the room. I think both owners and a groundskeeper looked for us, which was reassuring. I would no longer go outside at night though, after being swooped upon by an even larger vampire bat by the pool. I'm a total city girl and terrified of flying things though, so take this with a grain of salt.

Brad and Tara are fabulous hosts, and they will make your stay as pleasant and carefree as possible. They will book excursions for you and order food to be delivered for you. A fabulous breakfast is served every morning by lovely people in the rancho, which is its own little piece of paradise. The rancho is an open-air thatched hut that has a breakfast bar and tables and chairs. It's right by the pool, and very nice to relax in. If you are lucky you will get to hang out with Samsona or Reef, the sweet dogs that live on the property.

We had an amazing time at Villas Hermosas, and will definitely come back if we are fortunate enough to return to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We were so relaxed during our 5 day stay here - the kids loved the pool, the owners' dogs (one of which adopted us for a few days!), and surfing. The villas are great for families - we had enough room for 3 kids with a huge master for ourselves. The owners are super friendly and helpful (recommended great restaurants and arranged a great surfing lesson). The beautiful beach was just a few steps away, and the kids had so much fun surfing that we rented a board (for a very reasonable price) the next day.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
Thank nats-md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews