We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Surf Sanctuary
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

A year ago we had our first experience at BSS and I wrote a glowing review. We decided to return this summer, but this time my oldest son and his wife were bringing their 6 month old daughter. Daunting, I know. So my wife and I were in one bungalow, two of our grown sons in another and the new family in a third.

I am happy to report that our week was as wonderful as the last time. The staff is as warm and friendly and helpful as ever. The location is just right. The baby deal worked out fine (interesting how 6 adults tend to fall into the same schedule as a 6 month old).

A few thoughts -

Both years we have been there in June, the "Green Season". It did rain most days and several days we didn't see the sun. My oldest is a serious surfer. A year ago the swell and surf were great the whole week. This year it never really came together. Apparently, this time of year tends to be a bit more hit or miss. Still better than all but the best days at his home in St. Augustine, Florida. The crowds are down, the beaches all but deserted and some of the restaurants are closed or open partial hours. We actually like this better and it is fairly cool in June.

We rented (with BSS's help) two ATV's this year and it was great to have the independent mobility without having to take our rented SUV everywhere. They are easy to operate and a lot of fun. We had them for five days and the cost was $250 each. The ride on the roads is not nearly as bumpy as in the SUV.

For the second year we had dinner one night at Koji (sp?). They specialize in sushi-mi and sushi. Both meals were amazing.

We booked a fishing trip again this year. This is really old-man-and-the-sea stuff, not your big cabin cruiser, deep sea deal. Maybe a 15' open hull with a bimini cover. The guide spoke little English, but with our broken Spanish we communicated just fine. We tried trolling with no luck. Hand-fished for a while and brought in a snapper, but the only thing that was hitting was casting for Jack. We caught maybe twenty of these, but they aren't great to eat so we through them back. A lot of fun though and work to bring those in. So two fishing trips down there and not much to show for it (just one honkin' Rooster Fish last year), but we will go again. It is beautiful out there.

Probably the main attraction for us is the chance to spend a week together as a family in a beautiful, tropical location without a busy agenda, drink fruity rum drinks, play cards, stroll down to the beach and laugh. As I said a year ago, BSS feels like home, just in one of creations more amazing locations.

God-willing, we will be back.

Murphy
Houston, Texas

Room Tip: All four bungalows are great. I don't remember the names, but the one on the far end is over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Murphy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 195 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

My wife, our 14 year old and I are on our last day at Blue Surf Sanctuary before moving on to a more exclusive property up the road. We weren't able to get a full week at our next property and chose Blue Surf as an alternative for the first 4 days.... glad we did.

Blue Surf has 5 similar bungalows, all very nicely done with patios overlooking the pool and common areas, super clean and well done. The beds are comfortable, A/C is a treat, and staff (Crystal and Julie) is always there to help. We had a king and a single bed in the corner which was a little cramped for us but worked just fine. There is a common area at the entrance with cooking facilities and fridge for guests and a nicely maintained pool that is open 24 hours a day. Like most things in CR, there aren't a lot of rules...... just be nice and enjoy.

Blue Surf is a 5 minute cab ride ($10) to the north from town. The walk is probably 20-25 minutes but the dust at this time of year is quite a problem if you are walking, cycling, quading (most popular form of transport) along the road. The property is a 1-block walk to the beach and to one of our favourite restaurants, RocaMar, located at the entrance to the beach. There are swings, comfortable chairs, a canopy bed and lots of other things in front of RocaMar that are used by everyone in the area.

Blue Surf is great, Playa Santa Teresa is absolutely unique and amazing.

Room Tip: 'Armonia' is probably the best of the 5 bungalows, located furthest from the entrance and di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EconomistGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We went to visit Blue Surf at the end of August for my 30th birthday. It was the most fun, relaxing, enjoyable trip I've had. I will go back every chance I get. Crystal, Julia, Facu, Domingo, Jude, Sarah, everyone at Blue Surf made our trip unforgettable, from the advice on dinner, calling cabs/restaurants/tour guides, to fresh cut fruit in the morning! Wonderful stay! Would recommend to families, groups of friends, or couples wanting to get away!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Lindsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

You want to surf? learn or improve? just go!thanks a lot at all the team of Blue Surf!We got the best surf ever in Santa Teresa!! Chito Aaron Toro are the best to make you ride your best waves!!Take it easy!Take care! Melanie and Ludo lm/

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ludosevaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had the best time ever and your place is simply beautiful! Congratulations, the vibe of the place its just perfect, just steps away from the beach. The staff is amazing, specially Julia that made us feel at home all the time. Can't wait to go back! :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlejandrinaCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just left Blue Surf after a week stay and had a wonderful time. The staff were great with all questions and inquiries. Took 2 lessons from Toro and they were great learning experiences. He gave a great lesson as well as describing the science "how's and why's" of the wave. Thumbs up from the whole family!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were looking for a nice play to stay near the beach...and in addition, we asked for air-conditioning and wifi. Blue Surf offers all of that. There are 4 individual bungalows on the property, all relatively new. Ours is a second-floor very large airy room with high ceilings and a balcony overlooking the small swimming pool. The bathroom is off the bedroom to the rear; it is fully tiled, with stone sink basin, modern hardware, toilet and large walk-in shower with rainforest showerhead. Hot & cold running water. Very attractive woodwork and white stucco walls throughout.

The staff is lovely - friendly, accommodating and generally very helpful. The surf instructors are excellent. Daily room service. No food handling possibilities in the rooms, but there is a large common area with complete kitchen, refrigerator with bins for the individual units, and a large table and benches for eating or chatting.

The cons? one is our own fault - we thought we were getting beachfront, and the property is not even beach view. This is one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, I believe, but it's a good 3-minute walk away. The other was major for us: there are no tables or chairs in the units, which makes it difficult to work from them, although the wifi extends throughout the property, so we worked in the common area sans a/c. There is also no really comfortable place at all to sit and read.

In fairness, the current owners (in the US) have not owned the property for long, and are attempting to correct problems as they are identified. Just ask ahead to make sure your needs can be met...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NSKramer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
598 reviews
0.4 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#10 of 27 in Santa Teresa
207 reviews
1 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#14 of 27 in Santa Teresa
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#19 of 27 in Santa Teresa
238 reviews
0.5 mi away
Surf Vista Villas
Surf Vista Villas
#17 of 27 in Santa Teresa
156 reviews
1.8 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#18 of 27 in Santa Teresa
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Surf Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Surf Sanctuary

Address: Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Teresa
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range: $142 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Surf Sanctuary is a small boutique hotel & upscale surf school located in magical Santa Teresa, Costa Rica, 100 yards from the sand!Gorgeous bungalows with daily housekeeping, A/C, pool and fully equipped kitchen. We pride ourselves on our stellar customer service, our use of organic soaps and consciousness about our beautiful oceanWe offer both accommodations only, surf packages or surf lessons to outside clients! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Blue Surf Sanctuary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Surf Sanctuary Hotel Santa Teresa
Blue Surf Sanctuary Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing