We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Awesome honeymoon at Blue Surf” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Surf Sanctuary

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Surf Sanctuary
Ranked #2 of 32 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, CO
1 review
“Awesome honeymoon at Blue Surf”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Blue Surf Sanctuary for two weeks in March. The rooms are beautiful with lovely decorations and comfy beds. The pool and landscaping were immaculate and added to the ambiance. The best part of the hotel is the staff and surfing instructors. We did not do a surfing package because we wanted to relax and spread things out over our two week stay. We are beginner surfers and found the surf lessons very helpful and fun - I would imagine that even experienced surfers would enjoy surf lessons here, as the instructors are top-notch and teach you about local surf spots, conditions, etc. The location of the hotel is perfect - just a short walk to the beach and a lovely beach-front restaurant. There is also yoga within walking distance, but it's worth it to rent a car or atv for a few days to explore a bit (Montezuma Falls were awesome, as well as some restaurants in Santa Teresa that you need a car/atv/taxi to get to). In sum, I would recommend the Blue Surf Sanctuary to friends and hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    14
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
42
52
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

Thanks to Kelly and Aaron we were able to take a sort of last minute honeymoon! :) We spent 4 days at Blue Surf and it was absolutely wonderful! Learning to surf was so much fun, the instructors are very good! The entire staff makes you feel like you are at home. The bungalows are so peaceful and quaint and the property as a whole is so beautiful. After surfing you can enjoy a nice swim in the small pool that is on the grounds. The beach is only a minute away and the sunsets are like anything we have ever seen. The best part is you can sit at a beach bar and watch it! Food in the area is delicious! We didn't have near enough time to spend at Blue Surf, but we will be back soon...hopefully with a group!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJM_DRM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal, Qc
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

I spend 10 days in blue Surf, and I had an amazing time.
Everybody is nice, friendly and helpfull.
The place is really nice, the bungalow are really comfortable.
It's located just a little walk from the amazing beach and restaurants (really good food).
My friends and I took surf lessons and the instructors were great!!
One of my best trip!
Hope to go back!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whippet_158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

I just spent 5 days in a beautiful bungalow at the Blue Surf Sanctuary! What a wonderful and incredible staff and experience. I have traveled all over Asia and parts of the world and this is one of the finest staffs and a beautifully landscaped and comfortable place to stay. Great to wake up to monkeys and see squirrels, birds, lizards, and mountain crabs! I was impressed with how the bungalows were tastefully done and the ability to use the communal kitchen was a plus! Thank you very much for your smiling faces and warm hearts!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loveit5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

No doubt about it. Great place to stay. Rooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable. Balcony provides perfect place to watch the birds, iguanas and resident squirrel. Great pool to float around in. Quiet and peaceful though the sound of the howler monkeys can be a bit unsettling the first night. Smiling faces everywhere. The staff at Blue Surf Sanctuary adopt you the second you set foot on the property. Friendly, helpful, great food and adventure suggestions, perfect directions. Excellent English is spoken but they are more than willing to help with Spanish practice. Domingo, the night watchman, very pleasantly and patiently helped me out there. Kelly and Aaron were most helpful in all aspects of the trip. Answered all questions immediately and even helped me figure out flights and airports. Two minute walk to the most beautiful beach in Central America. The perfect beach bar and restaurant is a great place to sit and watch the sunset and sip a cocktail. Food is excellent as well. We rented an ATV for the week and that was a perfect way to see a lot of the surrounding area and venture out. It was dusty but well worth doing. The ride to Montezuma was quite entertaining with amazing views. The canopy tour at Montezuma makes a fun but exhausting day trip. This was a great place to stay. We will definitely be back as soon as possible. Thanks to everyone for the best vacation EVER!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeQi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

Just spent 10 days at Blue Surf and had a wonderful time. The owners happened to be there and were super nice, as were the staff. It is a 30 second walk to the north end of the beach where it is less crowded both on the beach and in the waves. Overall, we had a wonderful time lounging around the pool and relaxing.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mackenzie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

I spent 5 nights by myself at a bungalow at the Blue Surf Sanctuary. It was a great experience. I learned to surf while staying at BSS. I went surfing with my instructor Toro every day. He was very knowledgeable, helpful and patient. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I was also impressed with how clean the accommodations were. I went during dry season and there was dust absolutely everywhere from the road!! Every morning the cleaning staff (normally just one lady) would clean all 4 bungalows and the shared kitchen. She did a great job. Also, at night there is a security guard on site. I always felt safe. Thanks for the great experience!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris_O_1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#4 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.7 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#5 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.4 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#11 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#16 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.7 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#14 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#12 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Surf Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Surf Sanctuary

Property: Blue Surf Sanctuary
Address: Santa Teresa~ Mal Pais, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Surf Sanctuary is a small boutique hotel & upscale surf school located in magical Santa Teresa, Costa Rica, 100 yards from the sand!Gorgeous bungalows with daily housekeeping, A/C, pool and fully equipped kitchen. We pride ourselves on our stellar customer service, our use of organic soaps and consciousness about our beautiful oceanWe offer both accommodations only, surf packages or surf lessons to outside clients! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Blue Surf Sanctuary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Surf Sanctuary Hotel Santa Teresa
Blue Surf Sanctuary Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing