We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very safe, very clean, very friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Surf Sanctuary
Ranked #3 of 33 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very safe, very clean, very friendly”
Reviewed March 15, 2012

I spent 5 nights by myself at a bungalow at the Blue Surf Sanctuary. It was a great experience. I learned to surf while staying at BSS. I went surfing with my instructor Toro every day. He was very knowledgeable, helpful and patient. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I was also impressed with how clean the accommodations were. I went during dry season and there was dust absolutely everywhere from the road!! Every morning the cleaning staff (normally just one lady) would clean all 4 bungalows and the shared kitchen. She did a great job. Also, at night there is a security guard on site. I always felt safe. Thanks for the great experience!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris_O_1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    15
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
48
55
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed February 29, 2012

I spent a few nights at the Blue Surf Sanctuary and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The owners and staff were friendly, and it felt like they doted on all of the guests without being suffocating. The location was perfect- close enough to town that you could walk there for a meal or drink and be part of the community, but far enough to have a little privacy.

Driving in Costa Rica can be a bit of a nightmare, and their staff (Toro) gave us very specific and accurate directions, which we very much appreciated. They offered their phone number for help and support throughout our trip, and made a few reservations for us as well. Overall, service was top notch. They even spent time giving me surf pointers after I declined an official lesson.

In terms of location and ammenities offered- the beach is close, the rooms are immaculate and well thought-out, and the AC was a complete luxury. Can't say enough, looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2012

My wife and I visited Blue Surf Sanctuary with the idea of experiencing the Santa Teresa area and improving our surfing. The accommodations were really good and we got comfortable as soon as we arrived. The hotel is nicely appointed, is always very clean and secure and the staff were extremely helpful with everything from helping us check it to making our dinner reservations and arranging any local activities we wanted to try. While we were there the surf instructors had a challenging time finding suitable conditions given what nature was offering but they did an amazing job and on our final day we scored some good rides and definitely learned a lot. We would stay there again and would recommend Blue Surf Sanctuary to anyone looking for accommodation/surf school in the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank therealproctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2012

My family (2 adults, 2 boys, ages 5 & 7) spent a week at Blue Surf over Boxing Day/New Year's. We cannot say enough wonderful things about our time at Blue Surf.

The relaxed and laid-back atmosphere of the hotel was exactly what we desired. The hotel property was beautifully landscaped and was well-maintained. The staff were always attentive to any of our needs and on-hand to address any requests (Hi! Juan, Sofie, Juampi!) If we needed a reservation or a recommendation, they were quick to help and could do so in multiple languages. We were also impressed that there was someone on the property 24 hrs/day to assist.

Surf lessons for the whole family were better than we could have hoped for. Toro, Aaron and Chito were exceptional especially with the children. We always felt safe and now the boys have a real love for surfing and the ocean.

The beach is a very close walk and is stunning -- the white sands, great breaks and incredible sunsets. The attitude is very laid-back and easy going. The local restaurants were amazing and food delicious.

Much appreciation to the staff and all those at Blue Surf!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2manyplaces613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2012

My wife and I just got back from a honeymoon spent mostly at Blue Surf. We were truly impressed with the laid-back atmosphere of the communal area, the attention to detail in the rooms and the amazing north end location near a great beach break. However, it was the incredibly warm and helpful staff that makes this place well worth returning too. Excellent, fun surf instruction from Toro and Aaron. Fun and super helpful staff at the lodge from Sofie, Juan, Juan and Lucas. Even the night watchman was fun and helpful. Thanks everyone and Pura Vida - We are going back asap!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The most beautiful place on earth.
Great surf instructors

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovepaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We rented all four bungalows for a family vacation. This is a unique, botique hotel that is ha ybrid of a hotel and a rental house. The bungalows are very nicely appointed and in good condition. We used the kitchen everyday for family meals. Our group spanned a wide age range so it was nice to have the open kitchen and pool area where everyone could lounge, eat or chat.

The staff was super warm and friendly. They offered great suggestions and advice. Sofi and Toro are great hosts.

The surf out front was good nearly every day. Best on a medium tide while we were there.

Room Tip: Rent the entire place
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotch46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
1.1 mi away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#16 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Surf Vista Villas
Surf Vista Villas
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.7 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#5 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#15 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Surf Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Surf Sanctuary

Property: Blue Surf Sanctuary
Address: Santa Teresa~ Mal Pais, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Surf Sanctuary is a small boutique hotel & upscale surf school located in magical Santa Teresa, Costa Rica, 100 yards from the sand!Gorgeous bungalows with daily housekeeping, A/C, pool and fully equipped kitchen. We pride ourselves on our stellar customer service, our use of organic soaps and consciousness about our beautiful oceanWe offer both accommodations only, surf packages or surf lessons to outside clients! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Blue Surf Sanctuary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Surf Sanctuary Hotel Santa Teresa
Blue Surf Sanctuary Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing