We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Could not have asked for a better place to stay...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Chad B
Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Could not have asked for a better place to stay during our honeymoon”
Reviewed June 13, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The Simsalabim Jungelow was the perfect getaway for us. This was our first trip out of the United States ever, and thankfully we booked an amazing place. Mike and Nicole were the best. I was nervous about how I was going to get to the Jungelow from the airport in Tambor. Mike took care of everything. He had a taxi waiting for us with a great driver. Mike helped arrange a quad for the week so we had transportation, where to go to book our snorkeling adventure and even where to go for some of the best authentic food in the area. Mike and Nicole made our stay completely stress free.

Mike was so patient with me as I sent him what seemed like a hundred messages asking about different things before and after I booked. He was always very polite and got back with me very promptly.

The Simsalabim itself was great. Wifi was excellent, great A/C, and the outside bath/shower was my favorite part of the jungelow. It was clean and comfortable. Very quiet during our stay and we felt perfectly safe our entire trip. We had a group of monkeys right outside the deck during our second day of our stay. It was so relaxing laying in the hammocks in the evening after a day out and about. I would recommend this rental to anyone. We will definitely be back again. Thank you so much Mike and Nicole for making our honeymoon fantastic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the outside shower
Liked least: No spatula to flip our pancakes....haha
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natsge
Fernandina Beach, Florida
1 review
“Magical”
Reviewed March 15, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed at the magical Simsalabim for four nights and enjoyed our stay tremendously. If you are looking for a tranquil and peaceful vacation where you can let go of the daily hustle and truly dive into another world then you found the right place to be!!! We hope to go back soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sasa Gabr...
1 review
“A perfect stay”
Reviewed March 1, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

it's the perfect place to chill out!! Wonderfully located up the hill, just a 5 minute walk to the beach with a lovely host family we did spent one entire week in this excellent junglelow with everything the heart desires! We will go back there as soon as possible and we would like to thank the family once again for having hosted us there in sucg a tremendous way!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gugus24
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“Some call it St. Teresa – I call it paradise”
Reviewed March 1, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This place is beyond expectation and perfectly located; surrounded by the jungle and only a 3 minute walk to a beautiful beach and perfect surf spot. Whether you are looking for a surf adventure, yoga holiday, exploring the area or pure relaxation - this is the place to stay.

The jungalow is lovely decorated and fully equipped - there is even a toaster to heat up some delicious bagels, which you can buy at Supermercado Ronny’s #1 as well as a blender to prepare mouth-watering fruit smoothies. The spacious terrace with great view of the jungle invites you to relax in the hammock.

Nicole and Mike are perfect hosts. They make you feel welcome and at home from the first moment you meet them. If you need any recommendations (where to hire surf board, good restaurants, trips, yoga classes, and so on), they are more than happy to help you. Nicole and Mike made my stay even more amazing.

To sum up, I wish I could have stayed longer ;).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing to complain about
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martin z
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“love it”
Reviewed February 4, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Nice cozy Place 2 bedrooms and best outside shower :-)
5min walk to a great surfspot and a nice soda to get fresh food, what ist not to like. Paradise in a lovly Jungle Bungalow in santa teresa

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian...
Düsseldorf, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pura Vida @ Simsalabim”
Reviewed January 30, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We can definitely recommend this accomondation to everybody. Mike and his family are the perfect hosts. We have absolutely nothing to complain about!
The small house is very nicely decorated and has everything you need for a perfect holiday. It is beautifully located in the countryside on their large property. From the large terrace you have a beautiful view in the jungle and you can very well observe the wildlife. The photos do not promise too much!
We saw families of monkeys in the trees, humming birds, iguanas and many other animals! You can hear the ocean waves all day and night. The beach is only a short distance away (3 minutes by foot).
The beach is just amazing! Lonely, rarely other people, very natural and just beautiful. Just look for a place among the palm trees, go swimming or surfing and enjoy one oft the most perfect places on earth.
Mike and his family always take some time for your questions and can give information about the region, the kind of living in Costa Rica, and for trips to the countryside.
We recommend all travelers in Costa Rica, which want to rent a car, an SUV with 4 wheel drive, because the roads are sometimes very bumpy an have hugh road holes, especially in this region of Costa Rica.
We can say for sure: We will definitely come back and recommend your place to our friends and family!
Many thanks to Mike and his family. You should know that you have made our honeymoon unforgettable! Pura vida!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: friendly and relaxing atmosphere in the wildlife
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel H
Schweiz
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing