We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center
Reviewed March 27, 2014

The location is fantastic and the owners are so lovely. I really enjoyed taking Jen's yoga classes, and my husband was able to hire a surf board through the guest house. Our room was clean, the bathrooms were clean, and it felt very safe and secure.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 201 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014

I stayed at Casa Zen for a whole week and it has been my favorite place of all.
Clean rooms, bathroom and kitchen, amazing people and they are really helpful. The yoga classes are also amazing. I would recommended at 100%

I had a wonderful time there and will definitely go back. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Véronique P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giuliostcr, Gerente at Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Véronique,

Thank you very much for you review, thank for choose Casa Zen. Hope see you around doing a lot of yoga.

Pura vida
Julio Concepcion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Casa Zen was our favorite stay in Costa Rica. Very relaxed vibe and the staff went out of their way to help us plan the rest of our trip. It's in a nice quiet location near the beach and is close to good places to eat and a supermarket. Outstanding value for being so close to the beach. We felt very welcome, secure, and serene. Would have liked to stay longer - maybe next time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wade N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giuliostcr, Gerente at Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Dear Wade
Im just want to say thank you for this amazing review, thanks again for this positive energy make us know that you had nice time with us, that is our goal.

Hope to see you again in Casa Zen

Julio Concepcion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This place was my favourite out of all the places we stayed in CR after backpacking for three weeks.

- It was clean, staff was helpful, it was peaceful, had movie night, breakfast is great (bread, jam, fruit) and yoga services are great!
- Stayed in two bed room with a friend and it had great space, fan and good beds.
- Lounge area is very comfortable and clean - read there lots (careful with the iguanas).
- Wifi could be stronger but power supply is great and safe in rooms are good too.
- Lights from outside hallway are outside and sometimes people leave them on so can be very bright.
- Was quiet at night - not many people stay up late since surfing is best in AM!
- I did 4 days of yoga on the beach and it was fantastic. The beach is so close and feels safe to walk at night in the dark.
- It is close to restaurants and shops, you can walk everywhere.
- Did not rent surfboards here but bought a boogie board. Shop in front of hostel has cheaper prices if you are looking for boogie boards.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tasharobitaille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giuliostcr, Gerente at Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Tasha
We are really happy that you stay was wonderful, you really get the things that we are try to work on.
Thanks for all the details and some things that we can fixed, is part of the place growing up every day.

Hope to see you around very soon
Kind regards
Julio Concepcion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Casa Zen and its staff are an absolute treat.
Great location by the beach, right across from a super market and close to a great surf shop. What more could you ask.

A real atmosphere of peace, relaxation and community that jives perfectly with the yoga classes that are offered regularly. You'll be hard pressed to find somewhere so clean and enjoyable to spend your days in St. Teresa.

Definitely check it out.

Thanks Jenny and Julio!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hyuma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giuliostcr, Gerente at Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Dear Hyuma,
Thank you so much for your review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your time here with us and that you felt connected with the community energy that we are building here at Casa Zen. We hope to see you again soon!

Best wishes,
Julio Concepcion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

At first we dident like it, The room was small and had nothing extra and it was hot and you could hear everything. But when we got use to that we really liked it! And we got use to it fast. The rooms on the second floor looked a lot nicer. we had room 5.
Its a great chilling place with a nice yogashala. We did our own yoga dident take any class. Bad houres for us. Nice little breakfast and close to The beach.
Overall you get what you pay for and its a relaxed nice place. Santa Teresa is nice but mostley for surfers when it is big waves

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SofStockholm_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giuliostcr, Manager at Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your review, that happens many times, our more amazing thing is the people, sorry for the sound and heat, this is the peak of the hottest month, we had since Nov no rain, and for some people the fan is just not enough, but like you say, be positive and see the other part of Casa Zen, is not only room and building, its wonderful people who visit us and spend days, weeks and even months.
Sorry that our 3 daily yoga classes did not work with your itinerary.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience hope to see you again.
Saludos
Julio Concepcion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Imagine this tropical little town with bars, lots of places to eat and party at night, surf during the day, relax in tropical pools on low tide.....now you may be thinking...What if I don't want to party and surf...well, Casa Zen offers you the tranquillity you want, yoga for a very reasonable price, closeness to the beach...literally 50 steps and you are close enough to bars on the beach if one night you decide to go for a mojito but far enough to sleep tight an night.

We are a couple, surfer, yogi, sometimes a few beers at night but nothing crazy, we love company and we LOVED Casa Zen.

Julio is the best manager ever and he really makes sure that EVERONE is happy......young, old, surfers, hippies, business people etc....he can make all of them happy!!!

Highly recommended

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JennyeMarco23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giuliostcr, Manager at Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Jenny e Marco

Thank you very much for this amazing review, you guys are wonderful, we really enjoy your stay in Casa Zen, guest like you is that we are looking for. with this amazing energy, enjoy every much of your holidays.

Thank you, hope can go to visit on the north some day, hope see you again.

Pura vida
Julio Concepcion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.5 mi away
Beach Break Surf Hotel
Beach Break Surf Hotel
#21 of 27 in Santa Teresa
68 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
588 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa
#22 of 27 in Santa Teresa
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#19 of 27 in Santa Teresa
238 reviews
2.6 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#14 of 27 in Santa Teresa
294 reviews
0.5 mi away
Selina Santa Teresa
Selina Santa Teresa
#3 of 61 in Santa Teresa
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center

Address: Casa Zen Beach Acess | 50 mts West from Super Costa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Santa Teresa
Price Range: $20 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Teresa and Mal Pais are rather remote beach towns, and that is what makes them so special! Thankfully, even though we are a little off the beaten path, there are still quite a few services available to visitors. This is a excellent area to relax practicing of Yoga and Surf.On the first floor, we have six private rooms, ideal for single travelers, couples or pairs of friends. The rooms have either a double bed or two single beds. We also have two larger private rooms on the first floor, each with beds for three people. Scroll down for photos and prices for our private rooms. Upstairs you will find the apartment plus three additional rooms with varying capacities, featuring exterior doors as well as interior doors connecting to the apartment. An abundance of shared bathrooms are also located on the first floor (there are many to choose from and they are always clean!).We also have two well-equipped communal kitchens, including our signature chef’s kitchen, complete with a professional quality stove, microwave, blenders, and a giant stainless steel refrigerator. We offer a amazing Yoga deck with every day class. Our helpful, bilingual staff is always ready to help plan other tours and activities in the area, including surf lessons, canopy tours, stand up paddleboarding (SUP), visits to nearby waterfalls, fishing, sailing, snorkeling, horseback riding, ATV rentals and more. We can also assist you with restaurant recommendations, reservations and travel planning, so your trip can be totally relaxing and worry-free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Zen Hotel Santa Teresa
Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing