We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Discount Hotel in Santa Teresa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Excellent location next to beach, great food at the restaurant, fun hammocks me and my college buddies hung out on every night and made new friends. Next door to a surf shop where we rented a board one day. Off the main path so not as dusty as most places in Santa Teresa. We had room 7 upstairs for the three of us and it was perfect, especially on our wallets. Make sure you get the fish and chips from the Israeli guy's stand down the road, delicious! I highly recommend Casa Zen!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Utes85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
There are newer reviews for Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 200 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2011

My friends and I, surfers in our late 20's/early 30's showed up at Casa Zen at about 8PM and were immediately greeted by the most accommodating and friendly host; Tiffany was her name. She took care of us right away and showed us what she had available (we had no reservations) and answered all of our questions. She was careful to let us know about the extra charge for AC which seemed totally reasonable to us because the rates for the Cabina were so affordable anyway. After our first night we moved to the "dorm" style rooms which had a bunk bed, a single bed and a double bed. It was super cheap, and really clean. Just what we needed. The safe in the room was great because it gave us a secure place to stow all our valuables without having to worry. It was really hot, but that's because we deliberately traveled to the tropics to get away from the cold, which seemed fair to us. Staying in the "main house" was way more fun for us. We got to meet/hangout with the amazing staff, and Kelly, the owner. She was super friendly and helpful. All the facilitates were super clean. The place has an awesome atmosphere and is incredibly welcoming. This place is awesome, and the people who work there are even better. The food was super good as well. It's got a Thai theme but you can get really good local dishes also. Overall it's by far the best place I've stayed in Costa Rica. I highly recommend it!
--"NEW YORK"

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

Do not stay here!
Other than the owners' dogs barking pretty much constantly the entire night, this place is great!
It seems contradicting, however, that casa zen prides themselves as offering a serene and peaceful oasis and yet there are dogs Barking incessantly thru the night. The owners must be tucked away in their air conditioned cabin, unaware (or don't care) that their dogs are barking directly outside if the travellers' lodgings.
Bring ear plugs and a maybe some tranquilizers if u intend to get any sleep!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jritch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Thank you Casa Zen, what an amazing experience! Casa Zen is perfectly located in the heart of Santa Theresa, a must see city in Costa Rica. But more importantly there is a sense of family for all who travel through Casa Zen. Whether it be for two days, two weeks, or two months you will feel at home at the Casa. I was in amazement to find out the only thing the only thing that the owner of Casa Zen (Kelly) cares about more than the people staying at the Casa is the community of Santa Theresa as a whole, constantly seeking ways to improve it and make it a safe and fun place to be. I can't say enough good things about Casa Zen...the yoga, the food, the family, the love. I was sad to leave and can't wait to return! Thanks again Casa Zen. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!!
With Love- Quinn

Room Tip: make a reservation online
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank quinn_vanv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

50 yards from the beach, Yoga, Surfing, Great Thai Food, Movie Night, and reading in Hammocks at Night: Life doesn't get better than staying here. Russell was a great surfing instructor - the coves and beaches closest to Casa Zen were the most amazing I've ever been on. I miss you Ghetto Rhoutes.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reaganing07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

Take what you want from this review, but honestly any of the previous 1 star ratings you can probably just ignore. The staff are genuine, and extremely helpful (provided you aren't the Guy who demanded mosquito screens over his windows at a hostel in Costa rica... honestly!). Their generosity and passion is shown in the food they make. Every dish or smoothie I ordered was amazing. Its a great location, right about halfway between Playa Carmen and Playa Santa Teresa, on the beach side of the road. Don't come here looking for a party hostel with teeny hoppers puking out of their hammocks, casa Zen is a chill place with lots of nice people from all over the world. The Rancho is super comfy and is a great place to lounge, read, watch movies (weekly they show a movie on a projector). I stayed for a week and most of the knew me by name and greeted me every morning and evening with a smile.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thewaltrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Great stay at Casa Zen for the 3rd time. 24.00 per night for a private room with 2 beds. Shared bathrooms but more than enough for everyone. NEVER had to wait and very clean. A private kitchen and a lovely thai restaurant. 50 meters from the best beach break on the west coast. The staff are friendly, curteous and go way beyond (thanks Tiff for folding my undies!). A hotel experience in a quiet hostel atmosphere. Thanks Casa Zen! See you in another 2 years!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GWG99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
577 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach Break Surf Hotel
Beach Break Surf Hotel
#20 of 26 in Santa Teresa
67 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa
#22 of 26 in Santa Teresa
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Selina Santa Teresa
Selina Santa Teresa
#3 of 62 in Santa Teresa
76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa del Mar Surf Destiny
Casa del Mar Surf Destiny
#14 of 27 in Santa Teresa
81 reviews
0.5 mi away
Don Jon's Lodge and Restaurante
Don Jon's Lodge and Restaurante
#9 of 62 in Santa Teresa
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center

Address: Casa Zen Beach Acess | 50 mts West from Super Costa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Santa Teresa
Price Range: $21 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Teresa and Mal Pais are rather remote beach towns, and that is what makes them so special! Thankfully, even though we are a little off the beaten path, there are still quite a few services available to visitors. This is a excellent area to relax practicing of Yoga and Surf.On the first floor, we have six private rooms, ideal for single travelers, couples or pairs of friends. The rooms have either a double bed or two single beds. We also have two larger private rooms on the first floor, each with beds for three people. Scroll down for photos and prices for our private rooms. Upstairs you will find the apartment plus three additional rooms with varying capacities, featuring exterior doors as well as interior doors connecting to the apartment. An abundance of shared bathrooms are also located on the first floor (there are many to choose from and they are always clean!).We also have two well-equipped communal kitchens, including our signature chef’s kitchen, complete with a professional quality stove, microwave, blenders, and a giant stainless steel refrigerator. We offer a amazing Yoga deck with every day class. Our helpful, bilingual staff is always ready to help plan other tours and activities in the area, including surf lessons, canopy tours, stand up paddleboarding (SUP), visits to nearby waterfalls, fishing, sailing, snorkeling, horseback riding, ATV rentals and more. We can also assist you with restaurant recommendations, reservations and travel planning, so your trip can be totally relaxing and worry-free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Zen Hotel Santa Teresa
Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing