We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunningly beautiful 'Sunset' bar/restaurant with direct beach access”

Banana Beach Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 110 Restaurants in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, International
Description: Banana Beach Restaurant is conveniently located in the middle of Santa Teresa, Cosat Rica (about 1km north of the crossroads at the entrance of town), and is open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Enjoy Sunset Cocktails on the Beach. Right by the Banana Beach Surf Break. Seafood, Grill, and International Food. All kinds of drinks and cocktails. Great atmosphere! Live music nightly.
Restaurant details
Description: Banana Beach Restaurant is conveniently located in the middle of Santa Teresa, Cosat Rica (about 1km north of the crossroads at the entrance of town), and is open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Enjoy Sunset Cocktails on the Beach. Right by the Banana Beach Surf Break. Seafood, Grill, and International Food. All kinds of drinks and cocktails. Great atmosphere! Live music nightly.
Reviewed November 18, 2018

Where do I start. This bar and restaurant is superb. It's location is exquisite, directly on the beach front and positioned perfectly for the awesome sunsets.The staff are friendly, professional and helpful. The atmosphere is very relaxed with live music and entertainment. Soft lighting enhances the bar by nightfall and the sunset is amazing.

Our meals were delicious and cooked fresh in the open air kitchen area to the rear. I had a mild vegetable curry which was perfect as I am vegetarian and my partner had a mixed fish dish which was thoroughly enjoyed. The prices are moderate to high depending upon your choice and the drinks are reasonable considering the location and what is offered.

There are some comments on previous reviews concerning Credit Cards. We did notice that Credit Cards are not accepted, we noticed this on the menu. However if we hadn't got cash, then this would have been disappointing I'm sure. Best to travel with CC and cash always, just in case. If you pay in Dollars US$ then you inevitably have to pay the exchange fees! We're from Europe where it seems odd that Dollars are even accepted. I suggest at all times - pay in local currency - better for your pocket!

The restaurant is a MUST visit in Santa Theresa, especially for sunset and we would have loved to have stayed for longer than one evening. We will come back to this area and certainly visit again. Thanks for an amazing experience and fond memories.
Pura Vida to all. Terry & Val.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Voyage803067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilya T, Owner at Banana Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2018

Hi Terry and Val! It is very informative, thank you for your insights. ☺

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 397 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2018 via mobile

Unfortunately, I feel like this place really ripped me off.

They don't take credit card (I'm sure by choice to avoid the cc fees) and are not upfront about it.

Worst part is the exchange rate they charged me. The rate was a 15% discount from the rate the grocery store around the corner charges.

So for a $100 dinner, I paid an additional $15 for currency exchange. I'm fine with a small premium but this is ridiculous.

Poor leadership to take advantage of customers.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Solo_Traveler_Chicag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilya T, Owner at Banana Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2018

I'm sorry you had a bad experience at Banana Beach Restaurant. This is not our intention,

With regards to not taking credit card, it is written on the menu that it is cash only. We are working on getting a credit card machine, but it will take some time.

With regards to the currency exchange. For a long time the exchange rate between USD and CRC was very stable. In the last couple weeks, the colon has been devalued, and we had not taken that into account when doing the exchange rate. We will try to be more on top of it in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2018

Cash only but the views and entertainment make it all worth it. Definitely the best beach bar/restaurant setup in Santa Teresa. Ceviche is always super fresh and the cocktails are never too sweet.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank barefootninjatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilya T, Owner at Banana Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2018

We are glad you liked it ☺ Will keep the entertainment going and the drinks cold for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2018

Came here for lunch and for a sunset dinner on our last night. Beachfront resturant with good food and good drinks. They have a 2 for 1 cocktail which is awesome.

Lunch or dinner, you enjoy the waves crashing and the view. Seems like they have resident dogs who roam around, play and entertain.

I'd recommend coming here at least once for dinner.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank rahbertmykul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilya T, Owner at Banana Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2018

Thanks Rob, come back any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile

The food is good, there is live music at night time, really nice to sit and enjoy the chill atmosphere & breeze.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Curious747323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilya T, Owner at Banana Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2018

Thanks, we appreciate your comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Beach Restaurant also viewed

Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Banana Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing