We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Santa Teresa
Post
Inbox
Search

“Amazingly cool beach bar”

Banana Beach Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 122 Restaurants in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, International
Description: Banana Beach Restaurant is conveniently located in the middle of Santa Teresa, Cosat Rica (about 1km north of the crossroads at the entrance of town), and is open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Enjoy Sunset Cocktails on the Beach. Right by the Banana Beach Surf Break. Seafood, Grill, and International Food. All kinds of drinks and cocktails. Great atmosphere! Live music nightly.
Restaurant details
Description: Banana Beach Restaurant is conveniently located in the middle of Santa Teresa, Cosat Rica (about 1km north of the crossroads at the entrance of town), and is open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Enjoy Sunset Cocktails on the Beach. Right by the Banana Beach Surf Break. Seafood, Grill, and International Food. All kinds of drinks and cocktails. Great atmosphere! Live music nightly.
Reviewed March 2, 2017 via mobile

Alexandro (and all staff) were super nice! The Tuna tartare is yummy. They also have fashion shows some nights. Highly recommended

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank 824ghislainm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilya T, Owner at Banana Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2017

Hi there!
thank you so much for the review. We're glad you liked the food and service in the restaurant.
As you said, we have shows going on every night, from live music, to djs, fashion shows, etc. We like the people that comes to the restaurant to get the good vibes and have fun!

We hope you can come back soon!!
PURA VIDA!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (526)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 239 of 526 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2017

You can get great service here, have drink while they light the bonfire, watch the sunset and if you're lucky they'll have a fire show or a Miss Mal Pais competition which is always fun. There will be a lot of stray or what appear to be stray dogs running around but they're harmless and go away when you motion them to move. The food isn't great but the drinks are decent. prices are reasonsable and the overall vibe of the place is nice, for the young and young at heart. relax on the beach chairs or crowd around tables under the umbrella's. Service could be better as you will be left waiting if you don't make eye contact with someone so don't go here hungry. We enjoyed watching the surfers and the other beach goers tan, bring flip flops as the beach is very rocky even as you get out into the water. We will visit again next time!

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank KDMatthews12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilya T, Owner at Banana Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2017

Hi there!
Thank you so much for your review. We love hearing from our customers to see what things we have to change to get better.
We hope you come back soon and please, let us know if something about the food/drink isn't as expected so that we can help you at the moment! :)
PURA VIDA!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2017

During our week stay in Santa Teresa, Costa Rica you would find us at Banana Beach Bar every single night of the week. It didn't matter what else was going on in the city that night, the party always started and ended at Banana's. This was in part thanks to the excellent location, which was right on the beach and perfect for watching the gorgeous sunsets while sipping on cocktails and checking out surfers - but also because of the amazing staff, especially the bartenders who kept us well hydrated ;) as well as massively entertained the entire evening. If Peter and Oscar were working together, we weren't leaving until they kicked us out! Between the awesome bar flare and their adorable back and forth banter, they had us laughing and clapping all night long! Peter was always helpful in suggesting drinks, never one to shy away from making something more complex to please his guests regardless of how busy the night was getting. Peter would always spice things up with a little flare, which we always enjoyed watching, and he was always interested in chatting with guests and getting everyone to meet each other and make new friends. If you go on certain nights, Oscar will have his famous watermelon at the bar, full of "Oscarito Shots" - delicious!! I could not get enough!! Banana's always had something going on every night of the week, whether it was live music, fire dancing, or even a mechanical bull - you were sure to find something to keep you interested. The bar and restaurant are open all day long and there is great surfing right out front - which is super convenient if you are looking to grab a drink or something to eat after a long day of catching waves. If you are in Santa Teresa and are looking to have a great time and to be surrounded by friendly and wonderful people, Banana's is where you want to be. A+++!! Our time in Santa Teresa wouldn't have been the same without the Banana Boys!!

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank magassc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilya T, Owner at Banana Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2017

Hi Magassc!
It's always a pleasure for us to make our customers happy, and we love people like you guys to come here with those great vibes!

We hope you can come back soon!
PURA VIDA!! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2017 via mobile

Súper chill place . Just in front to the beach . If u go there ask for Óscar . He makes the best drinks Ever !!

Date of visit: March 2017
1  Thank nadia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilya T, Owner at Banana Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2017

Thanks Nadia for your review! We're glad you had a great time at the restaurant.
We're open everyday since 7 serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, and as you might know we have 2x1 in cocktails all day!
We hope to see you around soon again!
PURA VIDA :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2017 via mobile

We came out here to grab a drink on a Saturday eve. The drinks were mehhhh but the beachfront scenery & music were just right.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank Yevgenia Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilya T, Owner at Banana Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2017

Hi Yevgenia!
We're sorry if you the drinks you had we're not good enough! We would love you to come back and give us a second chance, we'll be happy to do our best to make you enjoy your time here!
PURA VIDA :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Beach Restaurant also viewed

Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Banana Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing