We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 6:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Perfect!

I can't recommend Believe enough. This was my first time traveling alone and I couldn't have picked... read more

Reviewed June 29, 2020
D4558BHlaurenk
Perfect stay

Wonderful stay here! The staff was warm and welcoming and great options to join the group! Loved... read more

Reviewed June 20, 2020
Kbird14
via mobile
Read all 254 reviews
  
Google
Recommended experiences in and around Santa Teresa
from $1,005.13
More Info
from $15.39
More Info
from $41.03
More Info
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveler rating
239
12
1
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
239
12
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews funky monkey surf and yoga solo trip pura vida private room sushi night new friends costa rica shared kitchen rooms are clean perfect place to stay make you feel at home other guests interesting people making sure great stay group activities
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 254 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2018

My experience at Believe was exactly what I needed. What I foremost want to say is that all the reviews about the staff were exactly right. I booked Believe reading the reviews about how welcoming all the staff were, and how they created such a special experience. Right off the bat, once we arrived they created a group chat on WhatsApp for everyone who is apart of Believe for the duration of our stay. I found that this allowed me to immediately feel connected and as if I belonged to the community - especially because I was travelling solo for a big chunk of my stay.

I first stayed in the Ohana Villas with a friend, which was incredibly nice - ideal for families and couples. Once my friend left, however, I did feel somewhat lonely :( It was way too quiet in the villas. With the help of Cristina and Uky, I was able to book a private room in the Funky Monkey Lodge (FYI the private room with AC had a looot of stairs lol) which had more than enough for my stay. I found the lodge definitely more lively, perfect for solo travelers or for those who want to meet more people. If you are on a budget, you also have a wide range of choices in terms of accommodation at the lodge.

In terms of the staff again, they went out of their way to completely make us comfortable and was with us every step of the way (Uky, I'm so sorry for bombarding you :'D - but thank you for absolutely everything!). Special thanks to the staff at the lodge, Uky, Angie, Cristina and Martin for making us feel so welcome, hanging out with us, and hosting a BBQ just for us.

Thank you to Jhon and Danny for the surfing lessons - I only wished that the lessons could have been longer! Both of their teaching styles were different but both so patient, fun and such gentleman-like : ) I managed to reach my goal of catching my own waves - which Jhon pushed me to. Danny helped me to catch a huge green wave which I will never forget. Thank you both so much! I found the surfing so much more enjoyable without a wet suit and much warmer waters ; ) [I'm not big on yoga but tried a few lessons but I couldn't keep my mind off the mosquitoes xD]

I miss everything about this place, the people, the dogs and the incredible sunsets in Santa T - what a magical place.

I'll be back that's for sure... sooooo I shall see you all soon ; )

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank Journey03449464864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martin_avola, Owner at Believe Surf and Yoga, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2020

Hello Rira,

Thank you so much for your review. Our clients opinions and feedback is always very important to us.

We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us, the vibes, the yoga, the surf, our lovely staff and everything around it.

Hopefully we will have the pleasure of hosting you once again in the near future.

Pura Vida!

The Believe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2018

Thanks to everyone who works in Believe Surf and Yoga and the Funky Monkey! They have such an amazing energy and make you feel welcome right from the beggining.
This trip was just what I needed and more, I literally cannot wai to go back! =)

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank dani1918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martin_avola, Owner at Believe Surf and Yoga, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2020

Hola Dani,

Thanks for your review. We are happy to know you enjoyed your vacation with us.

Hopefully we will have the pleasure of hosting you once again in the near future.

Pura Vida!

The Believe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2018 via mobile

I will never forget the experience I had with Believe Surf&Yoga in Santa Teresa! This was my first solo trip and I was very nervous about traveling alone but the Believe staff was so helpful with setting up transportation and keeping in contact with me throughout my travels. The yoga and surf instructors were so great and took their time to really go through everything. Staying at the Funky Monkey lodge was so fun! I met the most amazing people and everyone was so friendly. I already cannot wait to go back, pura vida!

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank gabgalluzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martin_avola, Owner at Believe Surf and Yoga, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2020

Hello Gab,

Thank you so much for your review. Our clients opinions and feedback is always very important to us.

We are happy to know you enjoyed your vacations with us.

Hopefully we will have the pleasure of hosting you once again in the near future.

Pura Vida!

The Believe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2018 via mobile

Yeah Funky and Believe! Perfect balance of amazing people, waves, and food. I felt at home from the very beginning. It was such a wonderful vacation. :):):)

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Sekita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martin_avola, Owner at Believe Surf and Yoga, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2020

Hey Sekita,

Thanks so much for your review. We are happy to know you felt at home with us. :)

Hopefully you will be back to join us once again in the near future.

Pura Vida!

The Believe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2018 via mobile

Going to Santa Teresa through Believe was hands down the highlight of my Costa Rica...from the amazing people to the yoga, surf, food, sunsets, days on the beach, nights sipping on cerveza...I wanted to stay longer. Had I not booked a flight out of Costa Rica prior, I would have extended my stay.

Believe is an amazing program to go through and you can feel it the minute you meet Uky. He’s nothing but good vibes and does an amazing job helping you coordinate everything in a promptly manner. I had some issues with my airline getting to Santa Teresa and Uky came up with a back up plan so fast, it wasn’t even an issue (and gave me a ride discount even though it wasn’t even their fault)! From that point in, it was nothing but smooth surfing and hanging with an awesome group of people from around the world. Surf instructors and yoga teachers are all top notch and provide a memorable experience beyond Santa Teresa itself.

Treat yourself and make this a stop during your Costa Rica trip!!

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Ruben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martin_avola, Owner at Believe Surf and Yoga, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2020

Hola Ruben,

Thanks sooo much for your lovely review. We are pleased to know you had a great vacation with us.

Hopefully we will have the pleasure of hosting you once again in the near future.

Pura Vida!

The Believe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews