We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center
Nearby Hotels
Manala Hotel(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
$109
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$900
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tropico Latino(Santa Teresa)
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Santa Teresa(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
$86
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa MarBella(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
$85
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Surf Sanctuary(Santa Teresa)
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Break Surf Hotel(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Florblanca Resort(Santa Teresa)
$400
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (455)
Filter reviews
455 results
Traveler rating
424
27
3
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
424
27
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstea housetagineprivate poolshakshukacosta ricaorganic foodbedroom villasteep hillevery morningi highly recommend this hotelpiece of paradisesurf lessonsbeautiful placetree housesmall kitchennatural beautygracious hosts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
231 - 236 of 455 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Having traveled to many places near and far, Horizon is just the best. Yoav and Gali have created a very, very special place. From the location that they have selected for Horizon, to every plant and stone that they have built to create Horizon, to the graciousness with which they greet you and make you feel welcome is unsurpassed. As a single female traveler, I could not have felt safer. Morning yoga with Yoav or Gali is very special. In addition, there are opportunities to surf, horseback ride, walk the beach, massage...Whatever you want to do, They just makes it happen effortlessly. I changed plans a number of times, and it was just made to happen. Oh, and did I mention the food....I am am currently going through withdrawal from their incredible food. Trying to figure out how soon I can return to just the best ever!!!

Room Tip: ASk for an ocean view room
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We loved our stay at Horizon. We have never written a review for Trip Advisor before but in this case we feel it's worth it. We searched Costa Rican websites high and low and were having problems finding something beautiful for our family of four that was also affordable, but this fit the bill. It's much more lovely than we had anticipated from the Horizon website. There is a strong aesthetic with care and thought lavished throughout the grounds. We stayed in the oceanside cabin with 2 rooms and a kitchen, so although the rooms are small by American standards we were very comfortable. There were stunning views from all the rooms, and we especially enjoyed hanging out in the hammocks on the porches. With few other guests there during August, it was quiet and peaceful - they even ran the yoga class just for our two daughters. We appreciated the powerful air conditioners in the bedrooms as the heat and humidity were sweltering at that time of the year. The kitchen was beautifully designed with everything needed to prepare your own meals if we chose. The food at the bar was wonderfully fresh, although we usually went out to dinner for larger meals. Using their laundry service was expensive but necessary if you want anything to dry - or you could get it done in town probably for less. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Yoga sessions witg unbelievable views, bungalows in immaculate condition with everything you can think of. Stunning views, hosts are uber friendly. Stay extended from 1 night to 3 nights to end of trip. Best place I have stayed in costa rica by a mile. Surroundings are beautiful too!!!! Excellent job Yoav and family!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hsuggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

When my partner, eight year-old son and I arrived at Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center, we were all blown away by the view and how enchanting and calm the space and vibe were when greeted by Gali, one of the owners. When we arrived at our One Bedroom Villa, our excitement became giddiness and pure pleasure; I will always remember that feeling we all shared of sheer delight and gratitude at the perfectness of the Villa for our vacation as we ran around our Villa. We had traveled in Monteverde the previous week, but this is what we had been waiting for--Horizon Hotel.

We LOVED the pool (my son has never swam so much in his life), with its guitar shape, bench on the deep end and night lights that allowed for nonstop swimming and hanging out. My son did laps, we played games and just hung out. Having our own well-stocked kitchen was super, as we wanted to cook for most meals. Everything was comfortable and beautiful, from the hammock on the upstairs porch, to the chairs by the pool, to the hanging bed on the first floor deck, which felt like our own special outdoor living room. The decor, including masks, paintings, Buddhas and seashell garlands hanging all over the place were sweet. My son also had fun on the playground set and swings just outside of the villa. Having the tv/dvd player, with the arsenal of movies Gali and Yoav provided, proved a treat, as we weren't partying with a child in tow in Santa Teresa at night. The villa felt super spacious for the three of us and having two bathrooms and two floors was great.

The hotel is also in the perfect location in Santa Teresa, across the street from the beach and just up the hill from the main strip of groceries, restaurants, cafes, etc. Everything was super clean, quiet and comfortable. Wifi and ACs in every part of our Villa--wow!!!

The yoga classes, which I was able to take every one of our six days there, were perfect--and now I've returned home, motivated and inspired to continue my practice! All of the teachers were spot-on, super helpful and the classes were challenging. The food and shakes (tahini and papaya=yum!) Yoav and Gali serve in the cafe are also healthy and delicious.

Gali and Yoav were beyond helpful with every question we had, recommending the farmer's market, restaurants, a nearby bay-like part of the ocean perfect for low-tide swimming for families, the best paths for ATVing and more. Yoav gave us a cd for the road that he made for us for our return to the airport in San Jose, which was fabulous! All the cleaning and grounds staff were great too and we especially appreciated getting our laundry done fast upon arrival, with a load of wet clothes from getting soaked in the mountains.

Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center is now one of my favorite relaxation places on Earth! We especially felt the hotel was a great value in, 'Green Season', but the prices at all times of the year are worth every penny. We hope to go back, but will sure to send friends and families in the meantime!

Room Tip: The One Bedroom Villa, of which there are two, is perfect for a small family!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MollyD-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had the greatest time here. We had one of the villas for our family of 5, with a private pool, and it was really great. The combination of the pool, the hammocks, the deck chairs, was simply gorgeous. The villa has a small kitchen in which we could prepare some of our meals. We divided our time mostly between the beach and the pool, and enjoyed every minute.
There are very good sandwiches and shakes in the tea house. We also had meals in 3 of the closest restaurants, and all 3 were very good - Pasta Basta, in the main road, a restaurant just above Horizon (can't remember the name, but don't miss the chocolate cake for desert), and also the soda just below (if you have time - service is very slow there).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MirM63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews