We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The staff is the best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
York, Ne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The staff is the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2011

We just returned from an amazing stay in Costa Rica. Latitude 10 was one of the resorts we visited. The hotel and grounds are amazing and beautiful but the staff is what makes this an incredible place to visit. All of the staff are very nice. Maricela is the best. She is so kind and knowledgeable about the resort as well as available day trips. She goes out of her way to make sure your stay is a great one. Ivette makes sure that your meals are delicious. There was another young man doing an internship who was also terrific. (Sorry, I'm not good with names). We enjoyed our time with you a great deal and will refer you without hesitation. Thanks for a memorable time!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jharcrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    14
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
138
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

No service or apparent manager of this hotel which has been taken over by the next door hotel which we only found out on arrival. It is neither luxurious or elegant and rooms are gloomy with minimal views of the ocean. Drinks, massage and dining are all encouraged at the hotel next door which is no surprise as they now own Latitude 10. They really need to pick up their game and for the price they charge it is very disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexandl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latitude10, General Manager at Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2011
Dear Alexandl,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Latitude 10. We are sorry to hear that we have not completely fulfilled your expectations. This is quite unusual as almost all of our guests really like the exclusive luxury experience at Latitude 10. But of course we are very open to your feedback and will make sure that we improve in the areas you mentioned. We would just like to make sure that there is no misunderstanding on the hotel next door. We were not taken over by another hotel and offer our own services at Latitude 10. Maybe your disappointment with your stay might have also to do with the fact that we did not allow your 20 friends to enter the hotel premises one day. The exclusive feel of Latitude 10 is very important for us and our guests. Maybe we were not clear enough in the moment of your reservation confirmation. We are sorry about that, but we are very confident that we currently deliver the service and room experience that matches our rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2010

My girlfriend and I arrived at Latitude 10 after a seven hour drive from the Monte Verde area. I can not think of a better place to land for pure relaxation. The property is magnificent, small, personable and private. The website does not do Latitude 10 justice. I wasn't sure what to expect but when we were shown to our Junior Suite I was stunned by the unique setting and thrilled to know this would be our home for the remainder of our trip. We had dinner prepared by the chef at Latitude every night. The fish dishes were the best and the tuna and sea bass were so fresh I will be forever spoiled. The staff were extremely kind and responsive to every request we had all the while managing to create an experience as if this was our private home. We had massages next door at the Flora Blanca (a quick 10 minute walk) and they were tremendous. We also rented an ATV for a day trip to Montezuma. This was VERY fun and quite the adventure. Our last day came quick and it was very hard to leave however our drive back to San Jose was shorter as we caught a ferry at Paquero (2 hour drive from Latitude) and enjoy a nice boat ride across the water.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louie612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2010

I stayed at the hotel for two nights. The hotel is simply out of this world, the houses are great outdoor baths incredible, in general all over the place makes a wonderful combination to relax and enjoy.
It's like being in a tropical paradise.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirocko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2010

We stayed at Latitude 10 for 4 nights and enjoyed every minute of it. The staff was extremely helpful in giving us directions to hiking in the Cabo Blanco reserve, arranging awesome beach-side massages, making dinner reservations, setting up surf lessons, going with us to a yoga class, and in general answering our questions. It felt much more like being in a home than staying at a resort.

The breakfast and appetizers included in the rate were excellent! We enjoyed all the menu items on the breakfast menu, especially the breakfast burrito and fruit and yogurt!

Other guests upon our arrival suggested that we get a net for our bed which was a good suggestion. Although the bugs weren't terrible, if you don't like the outdoors (which we do), Latitude 10 isn't for you. The outdoor bathrooms are another unique part of the experience.

Santa Teresa is a great little surf town full of interesting people. We enjoyed some excellent dinners at nearby restaurants recommended to us by the staff (Mila Repa, Moana Lodge, and Alma).

We'd recommend Latitude 10 to anyone in a heartbeat! We've stayed at some amazing hotels all over the world and definitely include Latitude 10 right up there as one of our most favorite experiences.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SVmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Cabos, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2010

My wife and I were lucky to stumble upon Latitude 10 when looking for a place to stay while driving through the Nicoya peninsula. What a find, this place is heaven on earth, if you want to lose yourself from the outside world this is the place to stay. Latitude 10 is not really a hotel, it was built as a private family retreat so you feel like you are in the house of a rich and eccentric friend. It only has 4 or 5 Balinese style villas separated far enough from each other so that you have complete privacy while in your vila. They are mostly open to the outside and the bathrooms are completely open. The vegetation is very lush and there are dozens of howling monkeys on the property, you just have to look up while showering and you will count at least a half dozen monkeys in the branches above your head. although the staff is very attentive (specially Johnny !) and there is a beautiful lounge/restaurant area they only serve breakfast , soft drinks, wine and beer. They will bring you food from nearby restaurants or you can walk 5 minutes down the beach to the Flor Blanca hotel which has some excellent dinning.
I would stay there again in a hart beat although I think that they could improve the services a bit and offer a full bar and maybe room service (specially for the price paid). We looked into most hotels in the area and I think that this is number 1 and Flor Blanca number 2.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Akrut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2009

Latitude 10 is the most amazing place ever ! You want to vacation, you want to relax, you want to be in nature, you want to melt into you bed at night. Well there you go...Latitude 10 is the place to go. I went in November 2009 for 6 nights and i loved every minute. It is the most beautiful and comfortable place I have ever been. When you are in your Casita you are in heaven, your own place in the middle of the jungle. You cannot see any other Casita's or people.....only the beautiful foliage, monkeys, lizards.....just nature. The staff is ready to assist you in anything that you need at all times. Food that is prepared with loving attention and delicious to eat. Grounds staff that is always cleaning, sweeping, triming "your slice of heaven". Johnny , the manager, is always available to make any arrangements you would like from taxis to reserving you a place on the Mal Pais zip line. Which by the way is an absolute "must do"!
It is only a few steps to the beach whether you go directly to the tide pools or down the beach to the swimming area or just sit on the lounge chairs in the shade and relax. I highly recommend taking a trip to Latitude 10, you will not regret it. I just returned a week or so and am already planning when I can return.
Thank you to Johnny, Carol, Yvette and the rest of the staff for making my first visit amazing!
DeeDee Olson

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lat10cr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#13 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#5 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
1.0 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
2.2 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort

Property: Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Address: 4 kilometers past Santa Teresa, left hand side, Santa Teresa 1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Teresa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Latitude 10 Resort was built as a private resort and is now available to the public. The resort consists of five spacious free standing, individually decorated and private casitas. Each casita has its own tropical decor, situated on over seven acres of private beachfront property located near the bustling beach town of Santa Teresa on the Southern tip of the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica. Staying at Latitude 10 is like staying with good friends at their luxury beach house. You will experience personalized service and attention to detail in a relaxed yet classy atmosphere. Latitude 10 is part of the Cayuga Collection of Sustainable Luxury Hotels and Lodges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa Hotel Santa Teresa
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing