We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveler rating
212
18
6
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
212
18
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsopen airhowler monkeysoutdoor bathroomour honeymoonno glass in the windowstiger heroncosta ricamain buildingresort groundsbamboo strawsfavorite memoriesfree bicyclesmosquito netcevichespent days nightslaid backcomfort zone
Filter
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 238 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife and I were looking for an exclusive getaway for our honeymoon, and after consulting with a Danish travel-agency specialized in Costa Rica, we settled on Latitude 10. Man, was that the right choice!
After a 6 hour journey from San José cross the Gulf of Nicoya and by car through the jungle, we were greeted by a very friendly member of the staff, who showed us to our cabin and offered us each a complimentary ginger-smoothie. We explored our cabin and the surrounding jungle (yes, they are IN the jungle!), and settled back in our comfy wooden chairs on our porch with our smoothies. We were in a completely different world, and the constant, dwelling sound of the waves crept up through the jungle and made us feel in heaven.
We were there in the Green Season. We thought it to be merely a marketing-word for the rainy season, and indeed it rained a lot (though mostly in the afternoon and at night), but Costa Rica was just so incredibly green and lush everywhere, and both in rainy weather, and when it was sunny and blue sky (we had that every day as well) exploring the area was wonderful. On top of that, the area was almost completely tourist-free. We walked the incredible beaches, and for as far as our eyes could see, we were completely alone. Really amazing. This also meant that on all the tours we were on (canopy, horseback-riding, wildlife-guide, snorkeling), we were alone with the guides. Should we return, we would without a doubt choose the green season once again.

We can only repeat what others have already said:
The food was absolutely great, from the (included) breakfast with freshly pressed orange juice, to the delicious lunch selection, to the wonderful dinners prepared by the in-house chef. While dinner prices were a tad higher than the restaurants in the surrounding area, they were definitely worth the money, since it was a 3-course meal with fresh, organic ingredients and the highest degree of service.
In general, the service was really top-notch. When one of our prepaid trips were cancelled due to bad weather, the staff was fast and efficient in finding a replacement tour. And when my wife got injured on a coral reef by snorkeling, Juan (the manager) and his lovely wife expressed sincere concern, and were very helpful - they even called a doctor just to see if our medication was the right one.
The premises were very intimate, and since our cabin was surrounded by jungle (small stone steps lead to the main house), we had complete privacy - if not for the leguanas and howler monkeys in the trees above! :-)

All in all: We had our dream-honeymoon come true, and we will recommend the resort in a heartbeat. But as they say themselves, it is not for everyone, since you're practically in the jungle, and you have to bring an umbrella if you have to use the toilet at night in the rain. That just made it even more magic in our opinion. We sincerely hope we will return one day.

- Kristine & Daniel

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traun-Terkelsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Latitude 10 Exclusive Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear Kristine and Daniel,

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review of your honeymoon at Latitude 10 in Santa Teresa. We are thrilled to hear that you had a dream honeymoon and all of your expectations were fulfilled or exceeded. Your analysis of the green season is really “right on” and we hope that a lot of other guests will take this advice from you and visit us between May and November.

Thanks for all the praise on our management team, the service, food and experience in general. This is a great motivation for all of us. Thanks for your great advice on the topic of “Latitude 10 is not for everybody”. You are totally right and we are happy that you pointed this out. If you are looking for a cookie cutter, air-conditioned, standard hotel or honeymoon experience, this is not for you. But if you are looking for a once in a lifetime natural lodging experience in the jungle right next to the Pacific Ocean, our resort is your dream come true. Oh, and by the way, for future guests, the only time you will need an umbrella to go to the bathroom if it rains with strong winds. There is a roof over the toilet and sink area, but yes, the rest of the bathroom and shower area are open air in the jungle with monkeys watching you while you shower. Not for everybody. But it was a dream honeymoon for you. We hope to have you back with us in Costa Rica for an anniversary soon.

Saludos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Latitude 10 is a great place - not actually a hotel, but more of a private resort with 5 separate little houses, and a big house with a lounge/dining area.

The bungalows are nicely decorated and are almost "lost" in the jungle - you hardly see other people. This is very unique, especially given the fact that most of the hotels in Santa Teresa seemed quite crowded. If you have any phobias (insects, etc.), I would not advise going there, as there are no glass windows in the house - you are basically living in the jungle! This was very exciting, but a bit hard for us (especially because everything gets quite damp, including bed sheets, so at the end it is not very comfortable). Other drawback - since you are in an "open" house, the light attracts all the insects at night - so no reading, no TV (there is no TV actually), you have dinner at 6:30PM-7PM and then go to bed. Lighting is very poor in the room, but if you do want to read, they have little reading lamps. The open bathroom was amazing (a family of monkeys was in the trees above our bathroom almost every morning).

The cook is amazing - we ended up eating there almost every time except one, and everything we tasted (lunch and dinner) was way better than almost any meal we had in Costa Rica.

Latitude 10 is managed by a firm specialized in ecological management. They only use local products (amazing shower gel, shampoo, etc.).

We would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fiorilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This was our second hotel in a 10 day trip for our honeymoon. After spending 8 hours on the road (and ferry) to get there from Tenorio, Latitude 10 was a welcome site! The staff were not expecting us to be so late and did not have any dinner available for us. Nino quickly apologized and ordered us pizza delivery - quite funny! The room was prepared with candles and flower petals - they did this all 5 nights of our stay. The staff were all wonderful - the manager Jose spent alot of time with us and even came up to fix a flat tire on one of the hotel bicycles (those might need a little more maintenance - they were in pretty rough shape). The chefs, Anthony and Yvette were great and can really cook! All of the staff were friendly and although they spoke English very well, challenged us to practice our Spanish :-).

Santa Teresa in the off season is quiet and about 50% of the stores/restaurants are closed. However, there are still several open and the people were all very nice. I think they were amused by our broken Spanish!

The beaches are beautiful and we had them nearly all to ourselves. We spent hours beachcombing and walking, looking at shells, rocks and the beautifully colored puffer fish that swim in the tide pools. As other reviewers have noted, there is quite a bit of trash that washes up each day with the high tide - very sad. The resorts do clean up their beaches every day, but it is still a reminder to all of us to be responsible with our recycling and trash.

We rented an ATV and spent the day running around Montezuma. FYI, in the rainy season the Montezuma waterfalls are very difficult to get to. The river is too high and fast to wade through and the "trail" is a one step from certain death straight down (about 8-9 stories)! We went as far as we could and got pictures through the trees, but with no safety line it was not possible to descend to the base of the falls.

We booked the horseback riding tour and it was phenomenal. Our guides Casey,an ex-pat from California, and Roberto, the cowboy were wonderful and happy to share their love of the land. I love to ride, my husband not so much. We both had a great time riding through the forest, farmland and on the beach, although he required a dose of ibuprofen when we got back!

The one thing that I would remark on are the rooms. Although beautiful, some are quite close to the road - in the off season this was not a problem since the traffic volume was low, but in the high season I can imagine it would be noisy. As previously noted, the rooms are completely open to the outside which was never an issue except when trying to get clothing to dry - it just won't! The rooms are quite humid in the rainy season and even with fans it is a bit difficult to sleep. Also, bring a flashlight. There are several corners of the room that are not well lit and it is hard to see in your suitcase, etc.

FYI this place is definitely for couples and not children. We had a great time and hope to get back to visit Latitude 10 again on our next trip!

Room Tip: Ask for one furthest from the road.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smanzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

After finishing two weeks in Costa Rica, we ended our trip at beautiful Latitude 10. Having read the other reviews, we could not agree more about the quality and friendliness of the Latitude 10 family. We always said that our five days spent there felt as if we were staying at our friends house with excellent food, beautiful location, and personalized service. Our best memories are of our times spent with Jose, Pablo's cocktails (get the Mojito - he loves making them:), Yvettes plantains and cooking lessons, and everyones general friendliness. We connected with other guests while enjoying our own private time. Our casita was not only beautiful but extremely comfortable - highlight being the hammock on our deck. Falling asleep to the sound of the ocean and the surrounding nature provided some of the best sleep of our trip. The candle lit room in the evenings was incredible. We absolutely love this place and highly recommend it to those looking for a unique experience with one of a kind service!

Room Tip: you would be foolish to miss out on the Master Suite -- it is located in the front by the beach with everything behind you -- beautiful, private, lovely :)
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MollyandTom0714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Everything was simply perfect. This is really a dream vacation for anyone! The hotel is actually inside the jungle. Our casita was completely surrounded by nature always full of amazing wildlife right outside our frontstep! The bathroom was very unique with an outdoor shower that you share with the monkeys and beautifully scented locally produced lotions. The staff was awesome, always willing to comply with our requests. They recommended us great dinning places and tours. The restaurant at the hotel was also great, specially the breakfast burrito! The pool had an amazing ocean view and a unique feel with it's salty water treatment. Had an awesome stay and I recommend it to everyone! It's an experience like no other, easily the best I had!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sfiguls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews